Skip to content

The World’s Longest Candy Counter

October 2, 2010

I have a sweet tooth.  It’s not terrible, but sometimes it does rear it’s ugly head.  For the most part, I’m happy with a little bit of sweet, but there really is something to be said about feeling like a kid in a candy store!

The other week, Solomon and I went away for a night to Littleton, NH.  It was a ridiculously low key trip.  We wanted to just RELAX, enjoy some nature and spend some quality time together.  We didn’t really do a whole lot (except climb Mt. Washington…on a tram), and just kind of checked out some local places. 

It was highly recommended to us that we stop at Chutters, which boasts the world’s longest candy counter…112’ of candy to be exact!

Picture 005 Picture 011 Picture 006 
Surprisingly, neither Solomon nor I went overboard with our candy.  We each just picked a few things we loved.

I can’t say no to Jelly Belly jelly beans, especially pink grapefruit and sizzling cinnamon.  I also just had to try French vanilla!

Picture 013 I also have a soft spot in my heart for red rope licorice.

Picture 016 And malt balls…including pumpkin flavored ones!

Picture 029 Solomon just couldn’t say no to his absolute favorite candy.

Picture 018 We passed on all of the fun vintage candies.
 Picture 028 Picture 032 Picture 033Passed on giant candy dots,

Picture 044 And passed on neon colored sugar.

Picture 043 We said no to cigarettes…

Picture 035 And of course avoided the circus peanuts like the plague (right mom?)

Picture 031 After staring at all of the beautiful handmade chocolate,

Picture 037 And incredible flavors of fudge,

Picture 038 Picture 039 Picture 040 Picture 041 Picture 042

We settled on a little bit of Moose Tracks to enjoy at home! 

Picture 008
Truthfully, I haven’t met very many fudges I haven’t liked, but hot damn, this was amazing!  There’s something so special and perfect about homemade fudge, and this one topped the charts!

After all of this, we both passed out into a blissful candy coma on our little balcony.  It was wonderful.  And so worth the drive!

What’s your favorite kind of candy?  Sour?  Chocolate?  Gummy? 

What’s a candy you can never say no to?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 8:49 am

    Yum…I’m a huge candy lover too- thankfully more controlled now then when I was little :) I’d love to visit that place.
    I’m glad you guys are relaxing and having fun these last few weeks!

  2. October 2, 2010 9:24 am

    Yum! My favorite candy is anything dark chocolate. You just can’t go wrong there. Although I used to be a HUGE swedish fish fan

  3. October 2, 2010 9:39 am

    Oh holy goodness that place would be my death! So much of that looks good. I love candy I’m usually a chewy candy fan, unless its a high quality chocolate or good fudge. Then I’m all over the chocolate.

  4. October 2, 2010 10:42 am

    I have a big sweet tooth too. My favorite candy is probably Jelly Bellies. Love those – although not the buttered popcorn flavor. Bleh.

    I’m not a huge chocolate fan.

  5. October 2, 2010 4:27 pm

    I would probably go into some kind of sugar shock in a place like that!! YUMMMMMMMM!! :) I’d have a very hard time not buying a little of everything. There’s a fudge shop in the little town I went to college in and they have the BEST fudge! Oh my goodness… I love the fudge they have with toffee in it… amazing!! :)

  6. Rachel permalink
    October 3, 2010 12:15 pm

    But where are the $0.59 bags of candy corn pumpkins???

  7. October 3, 2010 3:31 pm

    Oh my gosh, what a fun place to visit! I love old school candy shots like that and it makes me happy to see that some are still striving!

    I am equal opportunity with pretty much all candy, the only thing I dont like is black licorice. Swedish Fish are the one thing I will never turn down!

  8. greensandjeans permalink
    October 4, 2010 12:08 pm

    I can never say no to Runts! Specifically, the banana ones…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

