Skip to content

Saving at the Market

September 8, 2009

I adore going to the grocery store.  Don’t ask me why, I just love it.  I love seeing all of the options, choosing my produce, hunting for bargains.  I even go with my mom to Wegmans whenever I am in NJ, because this store rocks, and I enjoy it.  Weird, I know.

Anyway, Solomon and I are not big on meal planning.  We are constantly changing our mind on what we want, and don’t like to plan too much, since things go to waste if we do.  We have even been known to go to the store and decide on a menu while there, and pick up what we need accordingly.  We did try to roughly plan for this week, since it is a short week and we are going away Friday night.  I went to the store armed with a list of some specific items, and some general items (fruit and veggies for snacking…I always pick based on season, price and what looks good).  I do sometimes have the habit of going off of the list, and buying things we don’t necessarily need.  We are trying to be more aware of our spending, since I don’t have a job here yet, and want to eat what we buy, and limit any waste.

This time at the market, every time I picked up something that was not on the list, I put it in the front basket of the shopping cart, instead of in the cart itself.  This way, when I checked out, I was able to see  my impulse buys, and decide whether or not I really needed them.  Of 4 impulse buys, I ended up with one thing (frozen okra, I love it suddenly).  Doing this didn’t save us a ton of money, but thinking of all of my impulse buys, this can really add up in a year.  Try this next time you go to the grocery store, and tell me what you think.  Did you buy the impulse purchase anyway, or stop and think over whether you really needed it?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 5:20 pm

    I love this idea, and will totally try it next time I’m grocery shopping. I also love grocery stores and always end up with unplanned purchases, especially at Trader Joe’s or Wegman’s.

    • solomomo permalink
      September 8, 2009 8:30 pm

      Hi Gwen!

      Seriously, I get into so much trouble grocery shopping, it’s the only thing to keep me from spending a fortune! I hope you are doing well!

      Morgan

      • September 9, 2009 10:40 pm

        Hi! I found your blog randomly clicking around on facebook one day, and I love it! Add me to the list of people who go to grocery stores on vacation — poor Afsheen has to deal with my insistence on visiting Publix every time we’re in Atlanta.

        p.s. Also, I think we should start a club for JDs who don’t want to be lawyers, but that’s a discussion for another time. 🙂

  2. kayteesays permalink
    September 8, 2009 6:22 pm

    I looove grocery shopping. In fact, I went three times while I was on “vacation” visiting my boyfriend out of state… once to Garden of Eden, once to A&P and once to Trader Joe’s. The first two were planned visits, but the Trader Joe’s visit was somewhat of an intentional impulse.

    I’ll keep your tip in mind.

    • solomomo permalink
      September 8, 2009 8:31 pm

      I go grocery shopping on “vacation” too! I actually like to check out grocery stores wherever I am, it’s bizarre!

      -Morgan

Leave a Reply

