Skip to content

Swimmers Can't Run

September 15, 2009

Thank you Ian Thorpe! Don’t you just love the Thorpedo?

I definitely tried to stalk him when I studied abroad in Australia.  Sadly, it seemed he was always one step ahead of me…at a restaurant the weekend before I was there, at the Sydney Olympic Village the day before.  Bummer.  That’s not the point though, Ian Thorpe has declared that swimmers can’t run, and I’m having a hard time trying to disprove this.

Back in the day, when I was a swimmer (now I just swim, I don’t think it’s fair to call myself a swimmer!), my coach used to make us run, especially in the beginning of the season.  I kind of hated it.  We would always run with our bathing suits on, which was kind of gross, and then have to swim.  A lot of times I would play around, and not do the whole run, just because I didn’t want to.  In the off season, I always ran a few times a week, but since college ended, I haven’t run as consistently.

Back in the early days of my blog, I made a plea for running advice because I was determined to love running, and become a runner.  Since then, I have kind of gone at it my own way, and begun to really enjoy running again, in addition to the other things I do.  However, I SUCK at it!  I can’t seem to run past 3 miles, and I am slow as molasses!  I don’t plan to quit trying, but what can I do to get better?

When you first started running, what did you do to improve your speed and distance?  Am I destined to be a 5Ker forever?

P.S.  I still love Thorpe, but I kind of worship Michael Phelps

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 1:31 pm

    I honestly thought I would always be slower and never be able to run more than 3 miles, too. but I just kept at it. All of a sudden (like really in the past few weeks) I can run faster and I signed up for a 10K earlier this year and did it, even though I was skeptical!

    I have NEVER went out to TRY to have faster runs or do speed work yet. I just run. If I feel good, I try to run a big longer or see how fast I can go, but it’s never a set “speed training run”. I want it to still be fun.

Trackbacks

  1. O to the N to the E « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

