Skip to content

L’Shana Tova!

September 18, 2009

So much to do to get ready for Rosh Hashanah.  This is the first time since we started dating that Solomon and I are on our own, and not with family.  We always have two gigantic meals, full of fun and laughter.  We are usually at his mom’s house the first night, and his aunt’s the second night.  The food is always delicious, and we reap the benefits of tons of leftovers!  This year, we are having dinner tonight with the students after services.  Tomorrow morning we will go to services at the college, which Solomon is helping to run, and have dinner just the two of us (what should I make?). It’s going to be so weird to be in synagogue and not have my nephew crawling all over me, or have my mother in law to tell dirty jokes to.

In the spirit of Rosh Hashanah, I decided to use the symbolism of apples and honey (to celebrate a sweet new year) and turn that into breakfast.  I wasn’t feeling honey, so I used agave instead.  I put a few spoonfuls of my premade oats in a bowl with:

  • a whole chopped apple
  • half a handful of raisins
  • a few sprinkles of cinnamon
  • a few squirts of agave

Popped it in the microwave and had baked apple oats for breakfast!  Perfect fall breakfast!DSC02053

I also tried another one of my coconut waters this morning, and was really disappointed.  This time I tried the Coffee Fruit, and unfortunately couldn’t finish it.  I thought it would be fun to try coconut water before my run again, and figured it would kill two birds with one stone since I wouldn’t have to make coffee!  This was just too sweet for me.  It’s amazing how much my tastebuds have changed with time.  I used to love things as sweet as I can find them, but now, a little sweetness goes a long way.  I love that it was naturally sweet, but unfortunately not for me.  Anyone interested in some Coffee Fruit coconut waters?  I have about 7 left and would throw some other goodies in as well!  Let me know!

DSC02055

One more thing to share…for dinner last night I wanted tofu and figured stir fry was my best bet when cooking for one.  I wasn’t in the mood for sweet and sour, but thought some teriyaki sauce might work.  Taking my cue from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, I created my own teriyaki, with what I had on hand.  Again, no measuring for me!

  • honey
  • soy sauce
  • ginger (I had powder, you could certainly use fresh)
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

I combined the honey and soy sauce in a bowl, and popped it in the microwave for about a minute to melt the honey.  I stirred the two together, added my ginger and garlic and had teriyaki sauce!  My dinner was perfect for leftovers.  Yes, I ate it in a rice paper wrapper for no particular reason.

DSC02056

Thank you Larabar for the surprise in my mailbox today!  Could that box be any cuter?  I’m gonna throw the PB & J one in my purse for tomorrow morning during services.  I can’t wait!!

DSC02057

Just for a laugh, Rufio enjoying a kale chip.  Seriously.

DSC02041

To all of my friends and readers who are celebrating, have a happy and a healthy New Year.  L’Shana Tova!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kayteesays permalink
    September 18, 2009 7:39 pm

    I’d love to try the coffee fruit coconut waters! And yay for free Larabars, right?

    Rufio is too cute. Have a wonderful weekend. : )

  2. September 19, 2009 9:15 am

    Sounds like the perfect breakfast – yum!

Trackbacks

  1. My Famous Nutty Coleslaw « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. So Much Squash! « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. Kaytee Says… Eat! » Blog Archive » We just got a letter…

Leave a Reply

