Skip to content

My Famous Nutty Coleslaw

September 20, 2009

This salad has been a hit for years, with friends and family requesting for me to bring it to events, and requesting the recipe.  The truth is, the only reason I made it in the first place is because I had everything on hand, and I knew it would be easy.  Who knew that 2 1/2 years later I would be making it on a regular basis?  I found it in Kosher By Design: Short on Time, a wonderful bridal shower gift, and made a few adjustments for my likes.  I find this is perfect any time of year, and is great as leftovers!  Plus, it is soooooo easy!

  • 1 bag (16 oz.) coleslaw mix
  • 3 oz. baby spinach leaves
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup toasted sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp. red wine or balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 cup roasted, salted cashews
  • 1/4 cup shelled raw sunflower seeds

-Place the coleslaw mix in a bag.  Chiffonade the spinach and throw it in with the coleslaw.  You can mix it up if you want.
-Place all of the ingredients from the sugar to the red wine or balsamic vinegar in a large container.  Shake it up to emulsify, or use a hand blender to thoroughly blend the dressing.  Pour the dressing on top of the coleslaw/spinach mixture, and let it sit in the refrigerator for an hour.
-When ready to serve, put the cashews and sunflower seeds on top.  Toss to mix.

DSC02108

Dinner was so unconventional, and we neither of us wanted a real dinner, we were feeling kind of snacky.  I had a ton of potatoes in the house, so I took three different kinds (red, Idaho and sweet) and made fries.  Did you know that sweet potato fries dipped in maple syrup is amazing?  Try it!

DSC02113 Last but not least, I made us cocktails with pink guava coconut water! I blended a box of coconut water with a handful of frozen strawberries, a little airplane bottle of run and ice.  It needed a little bit more kick, maybe pineapple juice?  Or maybe I should use light rum, instead of vanilla rum, but that’s all I had!  Doesn’t matter, since both of us happily drank up!

DSC02120 How cute is that little cocktail menu behind the drinks?  We had custom drinks for our wedding…Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed and Something Blue.  So fun!

Hope everyone had a fabulous weekend!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. kayteesays permalink
    September 20, 2009 6:27 pm

    That coleslaw sounds amazing. i love cabbage, but I hate coleslaw because most have mayo, which I don’t eat. I also have to make my own mix because I’m allergic to raw carrots.

    All of that said, yours sounds like something I would really like. : )

  2. September 20, 2009 10:50 pm

    Great Nutty Coleslaw, I will copy this recipe down. I was to lazy to cut up my sweet potato, so I ate it cold. I like this maple idea with it, sounds good.

  3. September 20, 2009 10:55 pm

    I want that coleslaw! I never was a huge fan of coleslow, but your version makes my mouth water!

  4. Brandi permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:39 am

    that coleslaw sounds great! I love the idea of the cashews + sunflower seeds.

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Minestrone « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Shana Tova! « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

