Skip to content

So Much Squash!

September 22, 2009

This weekend I had big plans to make us a wonderful dinner for Rosh Hashanah.  That never happened, so I am left with all of the food I bought, most of it fresh produce, and I need to use it all before it goes bad.  I’ve been making a pretty good dent in it, but I realized I hadn’t touched the butternut squash or spaghetti squash.  I bought the butternut to make this wonderful squash and apple dish my mom always makes, but obviously that didn’t happen.  I bought the spaghetti squash because I had never tried it and was curious.  Plus I was on the phone while shopping (yes, I’m THAT girl) with the future bride, Robin, and she told me spaghetti was awesome, so I decided to trust her on it, and give it a try.

Last night, I came home from swim practice (did I tell you guys I am volunteering with the Allegheny College swim team?  So excited!), and I was RAVENOUS.  I made a quick plate of tomatoes with EVOO, balsamic and S & P to tide myself over while I made actual dinner.

DSC02140

I figured last night was as good a time as any to try the spaghetti squash.  Why haven’t I tried this before?  It is so ridiculously easy to make!  First I cut the squash in half, and removed all of the seeds.  Then I placed each half cut side down on a baking sheet, and poked some holes in the skin with a fork.  I popped them in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes, and that was it!  Once they are done cooking, take a fork and scrape the flesh of the squash.  It comes out like little pieces of spaghetti!

DSC02141

I decided to go really simple and just have it with a little tomato sauce.  Perfect!  Glad I have a ton leftover 🙂

DSC02144 I also made some butternut squash soup, which I love to eat but have never made before.  I decided to just wing it, and it turns out what I made was basically every recipe I found for simple butternut squash soup.

  • EVOO
  • 1-2 onions
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • chicken or vegetable stock
  • salt
  • pepper
  • nutmeg

Notice there are no measurements here?  Typical.

First I sautéed the onions in the EVOO.  When they were nice and soft, I added the squash and enough stock to cover the squash, and come to about an inch higher.  Let this come to a boil, then simmer until the squash is fork tender.  For stock, I use a parve, powder based stock:

DSC02138 I used my hand blender to puree the squash soup, and then added salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste.  Could this be any easier?!?!  Since I made so much soup, and knew it wouldn’t all be eaten right away, I used some of my new Ball Plastic freezer jars that my mom found for me to freeze individual portions.  These are great because they give you a fill line so that when your food freezes, it won’t over expand the jar.  They also have a screw top so there is no leaking!

DSC02145

Yes, I labeled these with the date I made them…NERD ALERT!!

DSC02150

Hope everyone has a fabulous FIRST DAY OF FALL!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 10:21 am

    butternut squash is something I’m looking forward to 🙂 I bought one for this week and can’t wait to eat it!

  2. September 22, 2009 10:38 am

    omg i loveeee fall and all of the foods that come with it 🙂 i’ve never tried spaghetti squash either and now you’ve inspired me to go buy some- that dish looks delishhhh and sounds so easy! i actually have a butternut squash in my fridge waiting to be used so perhaps i will whip up some soup- you have a TON!

  3. September 22, 2009 12:09 pm

    Ohhh wow that butternut squash soup sounds SO good for a Fall dinner! Great idea…! and you’re so NOT nerdy for labeling them.. wanna make sure you have fresh batches! 🙂 I’m gonna have to try this recipe asap

    And thanks for the comment on my bloggy girl! I’m a Sox fan always & forever.. you betcha. Loveeee Boston and the tree I saw at the Big-E was covered in Sox inspired ornaments (so cute!!)

    And soft pretzels are definitely not a boring choice! So yummy when they’re warm with salt… they looked amaaaaazing!

  4. September 22, 2009 1:45 pm

    ahhhh the first day of fall – i completely forgot! maybe because it is raining cats and dogs here 😦

    loving that spaghetti squash goodness – all the local squashes are getting in our coop and i cannot wait to feast!

  5. September 22, 2009 3:14 pm

    I make an acorn squash very similar – super simple ingredients too!

    Acorn Squash Bisque

    2 acorn squash
    4 cups chicken broth (see note below) I use the same kind of chicken stock as you!
    1 cup fat free half and half
    salt and pepper to taste
    1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

    It was really hard, but I ended up cutting the acorn squash in half, drizzled with olive oil and salt and pepper and baked, flesh side down, for 45 minutes at 375. I let them cool on my counter overnight. The next morning I scooped out the pulp – I ended up with 1.7 pounds of flesh. I use soup base for my chicken broth – I think it has more flavor and its the same calories as chicken broth – and A LOT less expensive. I get 76 cups of chicken broth with this and it costs $3.49 at my store.

    I think the addition of the fat free half and half really makes it EXTRA creamy!

    Hooray for trying spaghetti squash – its one of my favorite veggies now!

    • solomomo permalink
      September 22, 2009 3:30 pm

      Thanks! I think I’ll pick up an acorn squash next time I’m at the store!

  6. September 22, 2009 3:23 pm

    I’ve been wanting to make bnut squash soup! I found a similar recipe but it called for some creamer–which I thought sounded like a good way to get a creamy bnut soup… I’ll have to experiment next time I have them on hand!

  7. September 22, 2009 3:30 pm

    Yay squash 😀 Soup looks delicious- we use the same Parve stock all the time. I label my stuff too *fellow nerd*

  8. September 22, 2009 4:19 pm

    No shame in the labels… there was a whole article about doing that in the last Better Homes & Garden. I’ve been wanting to try a spaghetti squash. Maybe soon!

  9. September 22, 2009 8:50 pm

    I’m loving this weather. Yea for Fall!! Labeling is very important when storing foods, better than guessing. Nerd On!!!!

  10. September 22, 2009 9:05 pm

    Butternut squash soup is amazing! I’ve never made it from scratch before though, so thanks for the recipe!

  11. Lizzy permalink
    September 22, 2009 9:12 pm

    spaghetti squash is the best! i love eating it like pasta!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  12. September 22, 2009 11:32 pm

    oh my god, so much soup! Share the wealth! 😉

    And hahaha, you are SO organized and neat with the labels! I LOVE that! 😀

  13. September 23, 2009 9:42 am

    That’s a lot of soup! At least you’ll be stocked up for all winter now. I love butternut squash!

Trackbacks

  1. Buffalo Tofu Fajitas « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

