Skip to content

My Favorite Sandwich

September 24, 2009

Yesterday for lunch, I was in a rush, so I went to my “in a pinch” grab and go lunch.  The reason I was in a rush is because I thought I was going to Buffalo to spend the night with Solomon.  We were going to go to Niagara Falls, and apparently he made dinner reservations for us to eat overlooking the falls (best husband ever!).  The problem is that I screwed up, and thought I had to drop Rufio off at his doggy hotel after 12.  Turns out I was supposed to drop him off before 12.  That pretty much ruined the possibility of me going, so hopefully we can try again today.  So I was on my own for dinner, and enjoyed Tuesday’s dinner so much, I decided to just have that again.  Creative, huh?

Well, back to the sandwich.  I started eating this a few weeks ago, and have since become obsessed.  In my world, that means I’m going to be eating it nonstop for awhile, until I become bored of it and stop eating it.  It will eventually come back into my life, and I will eat it nonstop again.  It’s a vicious cycle.  It happens all the time with Granny Smith apples.  I don’t know why.

Moving on…the star of this sandwich is schüg, which is a hot pepper mix.  I found it at an Israeli grocery store, and bought it on a whim.  Schüg is nice and hot, which I love, and I keep finding all sorts of random uses for it.  It’s kind of awesome.

DSC02172 So first I take a sandwich thin and toast it.  Meanwhile, I cook whatever veggie burger I am feeling.  Monday was a black bean patty, yesterday was Dr. Praeger’s.  Once the bread is done, I put hummus on one side, or sometimes, when I’m daring, on both sides.  Then comes the veggie burger, followed by the schüg.  If I’m feeling particularly feisty, I’ll add some banana peppers.  Yes, I’m a wild woman!

DSC02180 Dude, it’s like I’m an advertisement for Sabra with the sandwich, which I totally am not!

Here’s a daily dose of cuteness for ya!  I really have the sweetest dog ever!

DSC02096

What’s your favorite sandwich?  What’s a weird combo that you have tried that hit the spot?


11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 9:22 am

    OMG – that is the cutest pupster picture ever! Love the “look” we are getting 😉

    SCHUG, What?!?!?! OMG – Sabra can do no wrong in my eyes – now you are going to have me on a mission to find that stuff around me! 🙂

    thanks for the link lovin’ lady 🙂

  2. September 24, 2009 9:43 am

    That is a super cute puppy!

    My favorite sandwich is a grilled veggies with some sort of yummy cheese.

  3. September 24, 2009 11:53 am

    those pepper things look good! my fiance would LOVE them.
    weird combo that worked: cheddar, cream cheese, and ham, grilled. There wasn’t quite enough of any one thing to make a sandwich, but somehow that weird combo worked.

  4. September 24, 2009 11:59 am

    I love SABRA humus! Yummy! Cute doggy!

    =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  5. elise permalink
    September 24, 2009 1:05 pm

    what a sweet hubby! sabraaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  6. September 24, 2009 2:44 pm

    Oh dear, I definitely know what you mean abt sticking to the same thing over and over again..Some combinations…they just are so PERFECT, you know?

    One kooky concoction I tried that REALLY freaking worked: pickles, raspberry preserves, cheddar cheese, and ham, grilled bwn whole-grain bread…AWesome!

  7. September 24, 2009 2:46 pm

    Sabra gets so much credit for hummus, but their other products are awesome. Recommend the eggplant dip and babaganoush 😀

    Sandwiches… I made a wrap not long ago with goats cheese, cranberry sauce and spinach, grilled, that was amazing. Also good was a wrap with quorn “chicken”, pesto and laughing cow cheese…

  8. September 24, 2009 6:05 pm

    Bummer about missing your night out.

    That sandwich, however, looks delicious. I love banana peppers.

  9. September 24, 2009 7:02 pm

    I am going to have to make a copy cat of that sandwich. It looks great!

  10. Lizzy permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:06 pm

    do cucumbers and mustard count!? hahaha i love weird combos that others find weird, but then when they try it, they think to themselves why didn’t i try that first!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  11. September 24, 2009 11:54 pm

    aw thanks for stopping by! eek i don’t know if i could do that hot of a sandwich haha. you are braver than i!
    -muffy

Leave a Reply

