Skip to content

O, Canada

September 26, 2009

Solomon and I went to Canada for a few hours.  That’s right, a few hours.  I happen to think this is the most bizarre thing ever.  Who goes to another country for a few hours?  Which leads me to a funny Solomon story…

When he was younger, Solomon was with his family in Israel.  They were going to go to Jordan for a little bit, just for a day.  Solomon said to his dad “Is the only thing we’re doing today going to Jordan?”  I love how that’s just not enough for a little kid!

Right, well back to Canada.  I’ve only been once before, and I loved it.  We went to Montreal with friends to celebrate their engagement for a long weekend.  I loved the feel of the whole city, the juxtaposition between new and old, the food.  I would love to go back there anytime!  This time we were just going to see Niagara Falls, since neither of us had ever been.  Wow, just wow.  The falls are gorgeous.  The sound is like nothing you have ever heard.

I went to Niagara Falls with my hair looking like it should, straight, smooth, sleek.  I left with my hair a hot mess (it’s actually curly).  It is so misty there!  The wind carries water from the falls, and it feels like you are being rained on.  I think it rained too.  Here are some pics:

DSC02201 DSC02204

DSC02213 DSC02230 DSC02209

And see, my hair was a disaster in the end:

DSC02244

We ended up leaving Canada since we decided there was nowhere there that we really wanted to eat, since it was so touristy.  We ended up back at a Bonefish Grill in Buffalo.  YUM!  I never take food pics, but seriously, if you are ever near one, I highly recommend you go.  We haven’t really been eating seafood since we moved.  Coming from New England, we are so skeptical of the fish here, but this was awesome!

And just for fun, a Rufio picture.  When he knew we were going to the puppy hotel, he decided to hide from me under the bed.  I think this is a dog’s version of “If I can’t see you, you can’t see me!”

DSC02185

What natural wonders have you seen that are truly amazing? In addition to Niagara Falls, I think Masada in Israel is one of the most amazing places ever.  I’ve also seen the Great Barrier Reef, which took my breath away.  Here’s a picture of sunrise on top of Masada.  Hiking up a mountain at 4 in the morning to watch the sunrise doesn’t sound like fun, but it is so worth it!

SV300794

What amazing places would you like to see?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2009 9:57 am

    Hawaii was gorgeous, but in some of the most unique ways: swimming with manta rays, seeing the sunset and the stars at the top of snowy Mauna Kea, seeing lava for the first time. It was so much more than fruity drinks on the beach for us.

    The list of places I want to visit is really really long, so I’ll just say Montparnasse Quarter in Paris and Mount Vesuvius. Oh, and Santorini, Greece.

  2. September 26, 2009 3:36 pm

    Great pictures! I would love to go to Alaska and Africa.

    Your pup is so cute!

  3. September 26, 2009 5:14 pm

    Wow! Masada and Niagera look incredible! 😀 I would LOVE to go to the Grand Canyon at sunset, Ayers Rock in Australia, Golden Gate Bridge…India, China… I have seen some stunning countryside in Scotland and some pretty cool things in Dubai. The most beautiful place I have been was a little village we found by mistake in France. Was amazing…so quaint. And the Black Forest in Germany 😀

Leave a Reply

