Skip to content

My First Breakfast Cookie

September 28, 2009

Alright, I took the dive and went for it.  I made my first breakfast cookie. 

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • 1/2 banana
  • a few splashes rice milk
  • a few shakes of cinnamon
  • raisins

Here’s the lovely before.  Solomon saw this in the fridge and freaked a little bit.  I explained it, but I’m pretty sure he still thinks I’m nuts

DSC02253

VERDICT?

I don’t know.  I made it the night before, because I had swim practice to get to bright and early.  I guess I thought it would be more like a cookie, that I could just grab and go.  I ended up putting it all in a tupperware, and eating it with a spoon.  I’ve never had cold oats before, so I guess this is what it would taste like?  I liked the flavor combination though!  Here’s the after (photo taken before a cup of coffee, pre tupperware, running out the door):

DSC02256

I want to try a breakfast cookie again.  What did I do wrong here?
What’s your favorite breakfast cookie recipe?  Does it ever come out like a cookie, or is that just a fun name?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    September 28, 2009 8:40 am

    it’s definitely just a fun name – I don’t think there’s ever a possibility of picking it up and eating it like a real cookie. I always eat mine with a spoon.

  2. September 28, 2009 9:55 am

    I only just made a succesful one after watching Susan’s video tutorial- she said (and I agree) that the protein powder is what makes it firm enough to pick up and eat like a cookie. All my other attempts needed a spoon.

    Here’s what I used: 1/3 cup oats, 1/2 scoop protein powder, cinnamon.

    MIX.

    Stir in 1 tbsp peanut butter- I used two spoons to mix because it’s dry and stick. Add about 1 tbsp milk and keep stirring until it binds, then squash on a plate and refridgerate. I put it on seran wrap and covered it so I could squash/shape it.

    • solomomo permalink
      September 28, 2009 12:27 pm

      Ellie!

      Where is this tutorial? I have to see it, I want breakfast cookie perfection! Also, what kind of protein powder do you use? We have some, but it has tons of stuff I can’t pronounce in it, which has me a little scared!

      ~Morgan

  3. September 28, 2009 9:57 am

    Looks good but I have heard yeahs and nahs on it in the past……never tried one myself yet! ~Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  4. September 28, 2009 10:07 am

    Love the flavors in the cookie as well!

  5. September 28, 2009 11:13 am

    I’ve had trying a breakfast cookie on my to-do list for ages. That’s too bad it didn’t come out quite like a cookie – atleast it tasted good!

  6. Lizzy permalink
    September 28, 2009 6:56 pm

    i’ve never tried one yet, its been on the list of things to do for sure! i wish i was more of a help, but hopefully the next time around will be better!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. September 28, 2009 9:37 pm

    I love the breakfast cookie, yea I think most ppl eat it with a spoon. Yes, add protein powder to make it firm. They are great though!!

  8. September 28, 2009 9:38 pm

    It’s on my list of things to try, but I’ve always been worried it will not go well. My friend Leah swears by them and uses pretty much the same base ingredients you do. Hmm, I’ll have to ask her if there’s a secret to it. She does say it’s got the consistency of cookie dough and not a baked cookie, though, if that helps.

Leave a Reply

