Skip to content

News From the Home Front

October 1, 2009

I made it to NJ!  It took me almost 8 hours, but that includes my detour to Berkey Creamery.  It was pouring rain and freezing when I left PA, and by the time I made it to NJ, the sun was shining!  It wasn’t exactly warm, but it was certainly warmer.  I packed some snacks, and didn’t really eat much on the road, but did have to stop for lunch.  I ended up getting a bagel at Dunkin’ Donuts, which was really a bummer.  I find it so hard to eat on the road.  The road I take for most of my trip (Route 80) doesn’t have so many stops.  A lot of Subways, which I’m not really the biggest fan of.  I passed a Panera, but by the time I reached a place to turn around it would have added an extra half hour to my ride.  I am pescetarian, but don’t eat a lot of fish…mostly at my home or someone else’s home, or at seafood restaurants.  Sushi too!  I’m kind of picky about fish, so I’m vegetarian when on the road.  I feel really limited for stopping for meals, and should have planned and brought something.  I need something I can just grab and eat on the road, since I don’t like leaving Rufio in the car too long, so a sit down restaurant is out of the question.  What are your healthy, vegetarian road trip choices?

Once I made it my mom and I instantly headed to Wegman’s to get some things for my brother, who apparently has been living off of pasta while on his OB/GYN rotation.  He is watching the dogs this weekend when we go to the wedding, so we’re bringing him tons of goodies.  We also starting stocking up on snacks for our road trip in 2 weeks!  We got macadamia butter, some Justin’s nut butters  and some mini chocolate soy milks.  We’ve also both been picking things up along the way.  What are some of your healthy must-haves for road trips?

Solomon called me right before we headed out to tell me an enormous package had come from Sally at Newman’s Own Organic.  I’m so bummed I won’t be able to enjoy any of it until I get back :(.  Solomon was ready to dig in, but I told him he had to send me some pictures first.  They aren’t so great, since they are from his home, but look how Sally spoiled me!

IMG00012

She also sent Rufio some products from their pet line, which I thought was SOOOO thoughtful.  Ru can’t wait to try it all too!

IMG00014

Thank you so much Sally, I’m so excited, and I’m sure Solomon is already enjoying plenty of it!

Other than that, my day on the road was pretty unexciting.  Wait, no that’s not true.  I have a new neice!!  I have 3 gorgeous, amazing nephews who I love to pieces, and now I have a little girl to spoil!  Solomon’s brother, and my sister in law just had their second.  They live in San Francisco, so we don’t see them nearly as much as we would like, but hopefully we will get out their soon to see the new baby and Adam, the big brother.

Welcome to the world Vivian Beatrice!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 9:23 am

    grocery stores are a good place to stop when you’re driving and need some real food-a tub of hummus + veggies + crackers/pita/pretzel is always a nice combo
    i don’t like eating cheese on it’s own, but the fiance will always grab a string cheese or a little sqaure of it, and they’ve got those everywhere-even gas stations, so they’re a good snack…. and side salads from fast food places aren’t always too bad, and they’re cheap

  2. October 1, 2009 9:40 am

    I eat a lot of PB&Js on the road…. boring, I know. I also put some dip in my cupholder and eat vegetable sticks. I have to be careful what I eat in the car or I’ll get sick, but those two usually work for me.

    Congratulations on the new member of the family! Plus, any excuse to go to San Fran is well worth it in my book.

    PS. The chocolate bar wasn’t smushed! It was perfect. I was prettttty excited about it if you couldn’t tell. : )

  3. October 1, 2009 9:47 am

    I am pretty much very well-versed in what foods to take when I travel… since I have to take food with me wherever I go! It can get pretty boring and monotonous, though.

    Congratulations for your niece! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  4. October 1, 2009 11:40 am

    Congrats on your niece! good reason for a trip to Cali! 😀

    Travelling is always hard. I am travelling most of Sunday and packing food (I’ll be flying so nowhere to stop! Ha!) I am bringing a tuna pouch, crackers, cherry tomatoes/carrots/bell peppers to munch, maybe some grapes/raisins and something like a Clif bar. I’ll probably throw in an extra bar and a banana or something just in case there are delays…airport food is 1) overpriced and 2) limited (how many pizza joints does one terminal need?!)

  5. October 1, 2009 12:25 pm

    I love “Newmans”!!!

    Congrats on your Niece! =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  6. October 1, 2009 12:57 pm

    Looks like you ahve some awesome goodies to dig into, when you return.

  7. October 1, 2009 2:16 pm

    Glad you made it ok and that the weather cleared up!

  8. Cindy permalink
    October 4, 2009 10:41 pm

    Congrats on your niece! How do you get all these companies to send you so much stuff? Is it because you blog about them?

Trackbacks

  1. Newman’s! « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

