Skip to content

Rabbit, Rabbit

October 1, 2009

Does anyone else say “Rabbit, Rabbit” on the first day of a new month.  I always do, but I really don’t know what the point of it is.  But really, I can’t believe it is OCTOBER already!  The leaves are starting to turn and there’s a chill in the air.  I love the fall!

Things in NJ have been quite busy so far.  My mom and I had brunch, then went to the knitting store to buy yarn for presents to knit for my new niece.  We are both making pieces that go with one another.  We didn’t want “traditional” baby colors, so look what we got.  I love it and know my BIL and SIL will too!

DSC02333

My mom had to go to work at 1, so I got in a quick 3 mile run once she left.  I really want to get to the point where I can say I did an easy 6 miles, but I’m not there yet!  Because it’s fall, I had to be so careful…there’s piles of leaves and pinecones all over the roads.  It’s really fall!  I then headed out for a pedicure so my feet look fab for the big day.  I went with OPI’s Vodka and Caviar.  I love reds on my toes!  What’s your favorite nail polish color?

Speaking of my feet, I have a little situation going on…so many shoes to pack!  My mom and I are going to share a suitcase, and I’m pretty sure she is going to kill me when she sees this!

DSC02339

I admit, like most women, I LOVE shoes.  Can’t get enough!  I know I don’t need to bring so many different ones, but I feel like I do.  I need a different pair for each event, running shoes, comfy plane shoes.  Plus new black shoes my mom got (she also picked up boots for me) that I keep hoping I can wear Sunday.  I keep secretly hoping the bride will change her mind about shoes.  I adore my silver shoes that I am planning to wear with my bridesmaid dress, but would love to wear these blacks ones if the chance came up! 🙂 

DSC02340

Can you tell I have a thing for bows on shoes?  Don’t know why!  Are you also addicted to shoes?  Do you always pack a ton when you go away?  What’s your favorite pair?  You know, I can’t even answer my own question, I have no idea what my favorite pair is!

I also went to Sur La Table and pretty much cleaned out the store.  My mom works there a few hours a week, so I get a crazy discount.  I love buying wedding gifts there too, because I can buy a lot for friends and spend a normal amount!  Isn’t the book I picked up beautiful?  It’s all chocolate desserts!  I also got a mini waffle pan, and a few other goodies!

DSC02347

For dinner I made us some chili that was literally a hodgepodge of what I could find/throw together.  Here’s what I did:

Sauteed a diced onion in EVOO and minced garlic.  While that was going I diced 2 bell peppers, and threw them in.  I let it all get fairly soft, and added a small can of green chilies, and a few jalapeño slices and a can each of kidney beans, black beans and Great Northern beans.  I then seasoned it with ancho chili powder, red pepper flakes, cumin and S & P.  I added a big can of crushed tomatoes, and a big can of diced tomatoes and let it come to a boil.  I then let it simmer.  I threw in some barlet to thicken it up.  It came out really well for a last minute mix!

DSC02346

I also cooked some ground beef on the side for my dad (and leftovers from my bro).  I took some of the veggie chili aside for mom and I, and added the rest to the meat. 

Oh, about the bride.  Robin is one of my best friends and I met her in college.  We were on swim team together, and just hit it off right away.  She now lives in Israel, which is amazing for her, and kind of sad for me since I don’t get to see her nearly as much as I would like.  Her fiance, Dotan is the perfect match for her, and I am so happy for them.  She was my maid of honor in my wedding!

mo and ro

While I’m gone, I scheduled some posts about Solomon and I in honor of the wedding, and our upcoming anniversary.  I hope you enjoy our story!  Also, sorry for the randomness of this post!

HOTLANTA, here we come!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 9:10 pm

    OMG I SAY RABBIT RABBIT HARE HARE on the first day of every month! especially april!

  2. October 1, 2009 10:57 pm

    I LOVE that last pic of you two! Very endearing, and it totally makes me smile to see two beautiful happy women.

    What is the rabbit rabbit thing again? I’ve never heard of that.

    • solomomo permalink
      October 1, 2009 11:16 pm

      Thank you! That is sooo sweet!

  3. October 2, 2009 12:33 am

    I’ve never heard of that rabbit, rabbit thing!

    I love bows on shoes 🙂

  4. October 2, 2009 9:00 am

    have fun!!!

    I LOVE the shoes with the bows 🙂 and yes, I have too many pairs and always pack too many 🙂 you just never know what you’re going to want to wear!

  5. October 2, 2009 9:12 am

    Ugh, I am a sucker for shoes. I love the silver ones, btw.

    And what a pretty picture of you two. Have fun in Atlanta!

  6. October 2, 2009 10:29 am

    i used to try for the rabbit rabbit thing and forget! haha
    and i love the yarn colors-good choice!

  7. October 2, 2009 11:22 am

    I never heard of that rabbit thing!

    My favorite polish color is definitely black… and I have a million pairs of shoes but I hardly wear most of them! ;p

    ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

