Skip to content

Hotlanta Part 1

October 6, 2009

Such a fun weekend!  I’m going to do this in 2 parts, instead of one long monster post!

Once we made it to the airport, we had our first disaster.  My parents and I had packed one suitcase to check, and had a folding garment bag that we were going to carry on, which had their outfits for the wedding and my bridesmaid dress.  We realized that in our rush to get out the door in the morning, we had left it at home!  We finally got in touch with a neighbor who FedExed it to the hotel, thankfully.  He really saved us, since I kind of needed that dress!  Next, we realized that we had gone to the completely wrong gate.  As we were running to the airport to get to our gate, thinking we were going to be late, my mom realized that our flight was actually an hour later than we originally thought!  This means we could have all slept later, I  could have run in the morning, and we probably would not have been so rushed, and would not have forgotten our bag!  We also realized after the fact that one of us could have driven home to get it, and still made it back.  Oh well, live and learn.  We are laughing about it now, but at the time, we were a pretty stressed out group!

Once we got to the hotel, the package we had sent down with Robin’s shower gifts were there (the hotel must have thought we were nuts!) so we quickly wrapped them and headed to her shower.  I haven’t seen Robin in over a year and once we saw each other we hugged tight and didn’t let go for a long time.  I missed her so much, and was so happy to finally get to see her after so long!

The shower was a lot of fun, and really low key, which was great.  Everything was vegetarian (as was the whole weekend!) since Robin and Dotan (bride and groom) are both vegetarian, and wanted the wedding to be kosher as well.  We put together an adorable scrapbook at the wedding, with everyone making a page then ate and chatted, then it was presents time!  This is one of my most favorite pictures of us ever:

DSC02443

Robin got a lot of great things off of her registry, and a few unmentionables! 

JAR pics 008

Her other bridesmaid, Stephanie, and I had a blast making her hat.  We truly made it into an artform, taking scrapbooking items to decorate, and gluing wrapping paper to the hat and stickers.  We thought it was gorgeous, and everyone joked that we were so serious about it!

After the shower, we decorated Stephanie’s car,

JAR pics 001

JAR pics 004

dressed Robin up,

DSC02361

and headed to Red Sky for her bachelorette party!  We were in a private back room, so we could talk more, and be a little more intimate.  It was interesting, because there were Americans and Israelis, so there is an almost instant divide.  By introducing everyone and sharing funny stories about that person, Robin was able to break the divide a bit, and everyone had fun with one another!  Red Sky had one of the most amazing martini selections I had ever seen, and even though no one wanted to get drunk, we each got a martini, and someone sent us a round of shots.  We also got Robin up onto the pianos (it was dueling pianos) and had all of the men in the bar serenade her!

The next morning, before Solomon came, I went with my parents to The World of Coca-Cola

DSC02377

We couldn’t believe there was a whole museum dedicated to soda!  We toured and checked out a lot of pop culture, and coca-cola through the years, which was really cool.  Then we went to the Tasting Room, which has 64 different soft drinks for you to try.  There were some really weird ones, but my favorites were a sweet pine nut (from Afrida), and a vegetable (from Asia) soda!  My parents and I felt so sick afterwards, since none of us are soda drinkers!  We figured all together we each drank less than a can, but yuck!  Way too much sweetness. 

We also each got a free souvenir.

DSC02445

Afterwards we walked for quite a bit, grabbed a quick bite and went and got Solomon.  The traffic was awful, and I was almost late for the rehearsal!  We then all headed off to the rehearsal dinner, which was a fiesta!  They had a local restaurant, Willy’s, making tofu burritos for everyone!  I loved how different and creative this was, not to mention YUMMY!  They also had chips and all different salsas.  Plus, no Mexican fiesta is complete without a margarita machine.  That’s right, a margarita machine.  I’ve died and gone to heaven!  Here’s Rachel having a little too much fun:

DSC02379

I was so happy to see friends I hadn’t seen in a long time, and excited to spend more time with them at the wedding (more on that in Part 2).  After the rehearsal, we came home and conked out for the night.  I knew I had a big day ahead of me on Sunday!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 1:55 pm

    I love the arrows on the passenger side widow of the car, very cute! 🙂

    My cousin had a similar incident in which the airline actually lost her wedding dress. That wasn’t fun!

    ❤ ❤

  2. October 6, 2009 2:21 pm

    there’s a soda museum?
    i went to the jelly belly factory once when i was a kid. that was a sugar overload! But fun!

  3. October 6, 2009 2:53 pm

    I can’t wait to attend my friends shower and bachelorette party next month. They are always fun to be a part of. Oh, yea i’ve always wanted to go to the museem. I went on a tour of the plant in Texas when I was younger. Loved it

  4. October 6, 2009 3:44 pm

    Gosh, I love wedding festivities. Lots of excuses to dress up and reminisce… and drink margaritas. : )

    We have two Dr. Pepper Museums in North Texas. I have (mostly) given up sodas, but I could never turn down a visit to a soda museum. Pine nut soda sounds awesome.

  5. October 6, 2009 9:30 pm

    looks like a great weekend, glad your neighbbour was able to send you the dress! The day of my sister in laws wedding she left her dress at home and we didnt realize it until we were at the location 2 hours away, luckily her mom was still in the area and able to pick it up

Trackbacks

  1. Hotlanta Part 2 « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Guest Post: Robin from Israel! « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

