Skip to content

Giving

October 20, 2009

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about giving.  Since I don’t have a job, I have an awful lot of free time, since no matter what anyone says…searching for a job is not a full time job.  Maybe it is, and I’m doing something wrong?  Either way, time is mine.

I keep thinking that I should volunteer with an organization that grabs my heart and give them my time.  My only concern is that I am going to get a job (I hope soon) and have to back away from my volunteer obligation.  This just wouldn’t feel right to me.  While I am currently volunteering my time with the Allegheny swim team, I know I can do more. 

Well, this got me thinking about a little thing I can do.  Donate my hair!  Two years ago, about a month after I got married I did this, and I think it was one of the best things I have ever done.  I have always had fairly fine hair which never grew past my shoulders, but I decided I was going to do everything in my power to keep my hair healthy, and let it grow. 

I started researching my options, and found out Pantene Beautiful Lengths accepts hair that is 8 inches long, which my hairdresser assured me was about as long as my hair would get!  I also had no dye or anything in my hair, since dyeing my hair blonde in 2002 had scared me from ever using hair dye again!  So with a little patience, and a lot of TLC, on November 24, 2007, the day after Thanksgiving, I was ready for the cut.

First, let me back up and tell you a little bit about Pantene Beautiful Lengths.  They are in no way endorsing this post, it’s just something that I believe in, and want to donate to again soon.  The idea is simple…donate your hair to make wigs for women who have lost their hair to cancer.  Pantene Beautiful Lengths has partnered with the American Cancer Society to donate the wigs, allowing women to find out about availability  of wigs in their area through the American Cancer Society

Many women define their womanliness and sexuality through their hair.  In addition to facing cancer, many lose a part of themselves which helps to define her self image, and losing her hair can have severe psychological impact on a woman in chemotherapy.  Real hair wigs can cost as much as $1200 to make, and it takes at least 6 ponytails to create one realistic looking real hair wig.  To me, contributing my hair to this process is the very least I can do to make a woman who has been through so much feel so good about herself! 

I wanted to share with you the story about getting my hair chopped off, and some pictures!  I woke up the morning of the cut a nervous wreck.  Not only was I cutting off my hair, but we had Solomon’s cousin’s rehearsal dinner that night, and the wedding the next day, so if it didn’t look good, a whole lot of people would know.  In the end, I figured I could just wear a hat!  Once we got to the salon, my hair was washed and completely straightened. 

n676800351_5170333_7538My hairdresser, Andrew, made the first cut, and all the nerves disappeared.  I knew I was doing the right thing!  For me it’s only hair which will grow back.  For a woman affected by cancer it was a whole lot more than that.

n676800351_5170333_7538 Many of the women in the salon ended up gathering around and chatting.  Why would anyone cut off all of their hair?  They just didn’t get it.  I explained why, and then I got a little cheering section!  Anyway, he kept cutting, and in no time, he had managed to cut 9 healthy inches off of my hair!

n676800351_5170333_7538 I was sooo happy and felt so free with my new, shorter hair! 

n676800351_5170333_7538 The only weird part was that I had to send in the hair myself, so I had a baggie full of hair in a hotel room for a weekend, which just felt shady, but oh well!  I enjoyed my short hair for quite some time, then starting thinking about growing it again.  I have about 6 inches now, and think I want to really try to grow it some more, so I can do this good deed again.  To me, this was one of the easiest, and best good deeds I have ever done (aside from driving my grandmother’s car and her dog to Florida, but more on that in another post once I get my camera cord!).  I’m not sure how long it will take now, since once I cut my hair, I stopped wearing it naturally, and started straightening it (I know, I should embrace my natural, inner beauty and wear it curly, but it’s just not good curly!).  I’m worried it might be a little damaged, but I am determined once again to make the cut.

n676800351_5170333_7538 What ways do you give back?  Do you give your time?  Your money?  Have you ever donated your hair?  Would you? 

I think it would be a blast to eventually get a lot of people to donate, but in the meantime, I have to remember to keep the locks conditioned and in great shape.  Someone needs them more than me!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 10:34 am

    I definitely want to do this! My hair is a little too short now. I have a few more inches to go and then I will be able to donate. And I would feel sketchy too with a bag of hair — that cracked me up!

  2. October 20, 2009 10:46 am

    I have wanted to donate my hair for the longest time, but it just won’t grow!! I have always dreamed of having really long hair, but it just doesn’t work … if it gets too long, the ends just start to split and I have to cut it.

    ❤ ❤

  3. October 20, 2009 10:48 am

    my hair still is partly bleached (dyed back to brown, but once it’s bleached it’s too damaged to donate…) so i can’t! which makes me sad because it’s super long, and i know at some point i’ll go all out and hack it off…
    and i coupon shop like crazy, and donate the things we don’t need/have too much off at church (25 cent boxes of pasta, free with coupon toothpaste…) cause I don’t have the money to just give cash, but i’ve got the time to go nuts with the coupons and then give back something…

  4. October 20, 2009 11:06 am

    i myself havent donated hair, but my cousin has. it takes a million years for my hair to grow, and when it does grow slightly below my shoulder, i get split ends and really gross looking hair, so i always keep my hair short.

  5. October 20, 2009 11:07 am

    My hair has been getting realllllly long and that has ALWAYS been something I wanted to do eventually!

  6. October 20, 2009 11:27 am

    I LOVE the haircut – SUPER DUPER cute! I did the exact same thing after my wedding! And right now – I’m trying to grow it out again so that I can donate it again! 🙂 Nice job lady!

  7. October 20, 2009 12:03 pm

    You look fantastic! And that is so amazing of you to donate your hair 🙂

    It must have felt so weird to carry around your hair in a bag though, lol

  8. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:47 pm

    you look b-e-a-utiful! what a wonderful cause too. amazing!

  9. October 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    I love the short hair Morgan and so happy it went to a great cause. Wish i had some long hair to do that.

  10. October 20, 2009 1:17 pm

    what a great thing to do 🙂

    I’ve wanted to do that, but mine is never long enough. maybe soon!

    We send money every month to the orphanage we visited in Honduras this summer, and we’ve been twice and hope to go back as often as we can.

  11. October 20, 2009 1:49 pm

    I would love to donate my hair but mine just takes FOREVER to grow and is very fine I don’t think it’d ever reach the right length. I did go with one of my friends last week to donate her hair to Locks of Love. She had to mail in the bag herself too, which I also thought was sorta weird! It’s a great thing to do though – and your hair looks so cute short!

    I would like to volunteer my time. I’m looking for a job too so I hope when I find one I can figure out how much extra time I’ll have and then go from there 🙂

  12. October 20, 2009 3:11 pm

    I did that about 3 years ago, donated 12 inches in all, my hair has finally grew back! Love the cut on you…..short hair just wasn’t for me though. =(

  13. October 20, 2009 6:51 pm

    I donated my hair after high school. Cut off about a foot of it. I imagine I’ll be doing it again, but probably not until, like you, after I get married.

    And girl… your hair is all kinds of shiny. I love it.

  14. October 20, 2009 9:13 pm

    Your hair looks so cute short! I donated mine summer of ’08. It was interesting experience. I feel like all I’ve done for the last two years is try to grow hair. 😉 Totally worth it though!

  15. lowandbhold permalink
    October 21, 2009 3:55 pm

    How great of you to donate your hair! Love your new cut!

  16. Beth S. Elliott permalink
    December 15, 2009 2:04 am

    I think the new cut looks great. Good for you.

Trackbacks

  1. Fat Talk Smackdown « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Day 5 and Day 6, Part 1 « Beantown Momma

Leave a Reply

