Skip to content

You’re My Boy Blue!

October 24, 2009

A few weeks ago Blue from Pom Wonderful offered to send me some teas to sample.  I couldn’t wait to try them all, but unfortunately I was away when they were sent to me, so I had to wait over 2 weeks until I could get my hands on the tea!  It was worth the wait!

October 2009 270

Pom makes all of their products out of 100% pomegranate juice, since they grow, pick, juice and bottle their own juice on their own orchards.  Pom also has committed to the wellness and general well-being of our planet, with state of the art, sustainable planting, growing and manufacturing, which has a minimal impact on the land and animals.

Pomegranates are also a superfood, chock full of antioxidants called phytochemicals that neutralize free radicals by protecting plants from harmful environmental elements.  Pytochemicals also provide plants with characteristics like color, flavor and smell.  The pressing process of the pomegranate fruit used by Pom allows for extraction of antioxidents and polyphenols from the fruit.

That’s just a few great things about Pom and pomegranate juice.  Now for the good stuff…sampling the goodies!

Solomon and I decided to try the pomegranate peach passion white tea first.  It reminded me of peach Snapple, but way better.  It was fresh and crisp tasting.  I definitely got more of the peach taste than the pomegranate, but it was so GOOD.  I like teas that aren’t too sweet (in fact, I prefer plain, unsweetened iced tea over sweeter teas) so this completely hit the spot with it’s all natural flavors and no added sweetener.

October 2009 274

The next day, we broke out the light pomegranate wildberry white tea.  I preferred the peach, since it was more natural tasting.  I have become super sensitive to the taste of sweeteners, and the tasted a bit like a diet tea.  The flavors were nice, but I couldn’t get past the sweetened taste.  Even though I wasn’t the biggest fan, Solomon (who claims to hate tea) loved it, and happily drank up!  Here he is doing his Wayne’s World “zang” expression:

October 2009 294 Quite different from his reaction to kombucha:

October 2009 231Bottom line…I would definitely recommend the regular Pom teas to anyone.  If you like light drinks, then I would try the light ones too, they just aren’t for me!

Thank you again to Blue and Pom!

Also, I apologize for the Old School reference in the title.  I’m one of those obnoxious people that likes to quote movies needlessly!

Are you a tea drinker?  What’s your favorite kind?  Iced or hot?  Sweetened or unsweetened?  Flavored or plain?

Also, don’t forget to enter my Chobani giveaway!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 10:22 am

    I’m so jealous you got to try the tea! I really think I’d enjoy that. I drink a lot of tea (mainly Sweet Leaf, which is a local Organic company) but I’d like to try one with some more nutritional value to it. My favorite Sweet Leaf is mint & honey green tea, but other than I usually drink unsweetened tea.

  2. October 24, 2009 12:54 pm

    i like their tea!
    and solomon’s face with the kombucha is classic-josh made the same face when he tried it! 🙂

  3. October 24, 2009 3:56 pm

    I’m not a tea drinker. I love the taste of coffee, but I’ve been trying to get into tea lately to cut back on caffeine.

    Soloman’s face is classic!

  4. Lizzy permalink
    October 24, 2009 7:53 pm

    I saw Pom at my grocery store, and after reading this i for sure want to try it! Thanks girl! YUMMMM

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. October 24, 2009 7:56 pm

    jealous! i got the caffeine drinks even though i dont drink too much caffeine. i wish i got the teas 😦 but it’s ok it was my first request to review something so im glad.

    i loved old school. that gets played once in a while around here 🙂

Leave a Reply

