Skip to content

Lady and Sons

October 26, 2009

On my road trip with my mother to Florida (I’ll recap that another day, this is way more fun!) we decided that we HAD to stop in Savannah and go to Paula Deen’s Lady and Sons restaurant.

This restaurant is so popular, that they start taking reservations for the day at 9:30 in the morning.  We got there at 9:20, and the line looked like this:

October 2009 116

I should also note that this was around the corner from the host stand.  It was a long line.  We waited about 20 minutes just to put our names down.  I wanted coffee bad while I was waiting, and I got bored standing in front of the windows of the restaurant.October 2009 118Finally made it to the host stand and put our names down for 12:30.  That left us a little time to explore Savannah.

October 2009 150 October 2009 146Our first stop was to the Savannah Bee Company where we sampled a ton of amazing honeys, and learned a lot about the different varieties and process involved in making honey.  They have a honey bar, where you squeeze some honey onto a little spoon! October 2009 151

October 2009 152 I ended up going home with a beautiful bottle of Sourwood honey

65_170_large We then got some coffee and wandered aimlessly.  We saw an old hotel

October 2009 153

Headed to a cute coffee shop

October 2009 149 Saw a ridiculous sign

October 2009 171

Picked up some fun artisinal salts

purist-sampler_saltistry Then it was time for some good old fashioned Southern cooking!

October 2009 174 The Queen of Butter herself!  Just kidding…

October 2009 177 Some cute decor

October 2009 179 October 2009 181

We quickly decided the buffet of fried chicken and buttery vegetables was not for us!

October 2009 183

We were sat at a lovely table with a bit of Southern flair.

October 2009 182

October 2009 187We were immediately served corn hoecakes and cheddar garlic rolls.  We were told to put maple syrup on the hoecakes, which I didn’t need to be told twice!  I devoured half of each of these, they were SO GOOD!  Perfect start to the meal.October 2009 184Even though it was lunch, we decided to get an appetizer.  We easily settled on fried green tomatoes since neither of us had ever tried them!  These were served with Vidalia onion relish and roasted red pepper sauce. I highly recommend fried green tomatoes to ANYONE.  I’m usually not the biggest fried food fan, but these were really special.  I ate 1 and a half and had a goofy grin on my face the whole timeOctober 2009 185 October 2009 186

We decided that since going to Paula Deen’s restaurant was likely a once in a lifetime experience, we were going to order a lot, and sample everything we wanted.  It looked like a lot of food, but we didn’t eat a whole ton overall.  Everything was so delicious, so it was worth the splurge!October 2009 190 For one of our dishes, we chose the asparagus sandwich, topped with jack cheese, purple onion and thousand island dressing on grilled pumpernickel. Um, hello new favorite sandwich!  I would have never in a million years thought to make this, but YUM!  The asparagus had a nice bite to it and all of the flavors were perfect together.  This came served with Jelly Roll’s fries which are circles of potatoes fried.  That’s right, fried fries.  Heart attack city!  Worth trying one or two, but I couldn’t stop thinking about what they were!October 2009 188October 2009 195For another entree, we ordered the fresh seafood plate which had broiled shrimp and scallops and fried oysters.  Oysters scare me for some reason, and you really can’t go wrong with broiled fish!  This also came with Jelly Rolls and cole slaw, which looked to creamy for me to try!October 2009 194October 2009 189For our final entree, we got the Cornucopia Salad which was mixed greens topped with tomatoes, cucumbers, mushrooms, carrots, green peppers, red onion, cheese, walnuts, raisins, bananas, hard boiled eggs and croutons with Poppyseed dressing on the side.

October 2009 193 October 2009 192We also managed to get a free side of mac and cheese, which was more like cheese and mac!  I managed one delicious bite, but I was pretty much done at this point!

October 2009 196 My mom and our waiter, Hector, became BFF.  He was one of the nicest, most attentive waiters.  It’s that Southern hospitality!October 2009 191

I was in quite a food coma in the end.  Truthfully, I didn’t eat that much, just pretty much tried everything, but I’m not used to fried food, and this was heavier than I am used to!  Glad I don’t live so close to Savannah!

October 2009 197

As we were heading back to the car and I was feeling too feel and kind of gross, I got a reminder!  One meal is not the end of the world!  It was delicious, and memorable and completely worth every fabulous bite!

October 2009 198

I loved Lady and Sons, and really recommend it to anyone who is going to be in the Savannah area!  It wasn’t the healthiest lunch ever, but it was fantastic!  I have never made a Paula Deen recipe before, since that’s not really how I cook, so this was nice for a change.

Have you ever been to a Food Network chef’s restaurant?  How was it?  Who is your favorite Food Network chef?

One of my favorite restaurants on the planet is Bobby’ Flay’s Mesa Grill.  His flavor combinations always amaze me!  I also loved Bobby Flay Steak at the Borgata.  When I ate meat, this was THE BEST piece of steak I had ever had.  If you haven’t tried any of Bobby’s restaurants you should!

Also, don’t forget to enter my Chobani giveaway!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzy permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:52 am

    I’m so jealous that you got to ear here. i love paula dean! Her sons are pretty cute too! glad you got to taste test a little bit of everything, i think thats the best way to do it! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

    • Morgan permalink
      October 26, 2009 9:57 am

      Her sons are adorable!

  2. October 26, 2009 10:54 am

    Wow… that line is CRAZY!! You have a lot more patience than I do. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  3. October 26, 2009 10:55 am

    ahh paula deal cracks me up, that’s great that you went to her restaurant!

  4. October 26, 2009 11:05 am

    wow, that line is unbelievable. i think if i went with my boyf he would have told me to FORGET ABOUT IT! lol. waiting in line is not his thing 🙂

    that Beer sign is hilarious. talk about simplicity.

    ive never been to a FN restaurant. i would like to go to any of Emerils restaurants though.

  5. October 26, 2009 11:06 am

    I love love love Savannah. We didn’t get a chance to go to Paula’s place but hopefully on our next trip we will.

    • Morgan permalink
      October 26, 2009 5:26 pm

      definitely worth the wait!

  6. October 26, 2009 2:58 pm

    Oh my gosh. I love so much about this. First of all, honey bar? YES! And the entire city has so much charm. I love it. Fried green tomatoes are a staple in my house, so I’m very very glad you enjoyed them. The rest of the food looks amazing, as well. Definitely worth the splurge.

    I’ve been to a Bobby Flay restaurant, and Tom Colicchio’s place in NY, but he’s Top Chef not Food Network. Both were awesome.

  7. October 26, 2009 6:12 pm

    haha as I am reading this I happen to be watching the food network and who is on?? PAULA haha…I have heard about her sons restaurant! it looks awesome, that asparagus sammie with the melted cheese looks great, just gave me an idea for a sandwich this week 🙂

  8. March 2, 2010 2:35 pm

    I am a regular reader of your blog and would just like to say thank you! I am due to start my own blog an would like to know how to go about doing so. I hear a lot about WordPress is this a good site to use? Thank you. Kimberli Merine

Trackbacks

  1. Perfect Guacamole « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Simple and Delicious « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. 3 Amazing Years « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

