Skip to content

The Cookbook Situation

November 5, 2009

First of all, I’m so glad you all liked my attempt at festive decor!  My dad always says K.I.S.S.-Keep It Simple Silly (or Stupid, which applies sometimes in the working world!).

If you read this blog regularly, you might realize I use cookbooks as reference books.  I like to get ideas for recipes from them, but often put my own twist on a recipe.  I also like to combine different parts of different recipes from all different books to make something that is my own.  I think that’s the fun of cooking, creating your own things.  Sometimes I do follow recipes exactly, but sometimes I just like to get creative.  My logic with cooking is that if an experiment doesn’t work, there is always cereal or PB & J.  I hate wasting food,  but sometimes it just has to happen.

Since starting this blog, I’ve really stopped and taken notice of how many different things I like to cook, and just how many cookbooks I actually have, ALL of which I use!  I’m also realizing that my cookbook addiction is slowly but surely getting out of hand, and I don’t think I will ever stop collecting cookbooks.  Take a look:

October 2009 259 Aren’t they just so pretty?  Believe it or not, there is even a method to my madness to how I have them organized.  This way I know where everything is!

October 2009 256 My top shelf is what I consider to be the basics.  General cookbooks with a little bit of everything, books for reference (Food Lover’s Companion and How to Break an Egg), beautiful classics (Joy of Cooking) and a beautiful new collection that my mom got me (The Sur La Table collection).  For most people this would be enough.  You have a little bit of everything,  including vegetarian books, some older books and lots of variety.  For me?  Definitely not.

October 2009 257No kosher home is complete without several Jewish cookbooks (on the left).  These are all great for giving me ideas for holiday meals and things like that.  I even have a cookbook from Baghdad (Solomon’s father moved here from Baghdad in 1955!) that is hard to find, much older than me, and full of all sorts of amazing, flavorful Iraqi recipes.  On this shelf are also food specific books, like pizza and paninis, several vegetarian books, and slow cooker cookbooks (I love my slow cooker!)

Finally, on the bottom, it’s dessert central:

October 2009 258 I REALLY like baking, and think my life would be incomplete without all of these books.  Classics and fun ones, like cupcake and chocolate books.  I also highly recommend that everyone check out Small Batch Baking, which has recipes for everyone baked good imaginable, for anywhere from 1 to 3 people.  It’s perfect on those nights that you want just a cookie or brownie and don’t want to make a whole big batch!

I think it’s fair to say I have an excessively large cookbook collection, but sadly, that’s not the end of it.  There’s more!

October 2009 260This was from my bridal shower, and is stuffed with recipes from magazines, blogs, online and all of the recipes people gave me at my shower.  It’s so stuffed and full of some of my most treasured recipes.  I found it’s my favorite way to keep all of those random pieces of paper organized.

Finally…my newest addition:

October 2009 261How cute is that?  My mom found it at a Cracker Barrel and knew that I needed it!  It’s actually 12 mini cookbooks, each with about 20 recipes in it.  They are broken up by different vegetables, with the veggie as the star of every recipe.  Look how cute one of the cookbooks is:

October 2009 262Those little veggies peeking out of the side are not only bookmarks, but they tell you what recipes are in the book for that specific vegetable.  So cute!

October 2009 263 I’m not 100% sure what compelled me to share that with you all, but I thought that since I had gotten some questions about keeping kosher, it might be fun to show you some different pieces of my kitchen!  Maybe it could be fun to do a whole bunch of kitchen posts, since my kitchen may be a little different than most of yours!

What do you guys think of me sharing more of my kitchen?  I think it could be fun!  What’s your favorite cookbook of all time?  Do you use cookbooks or just cook based on your own cravings and tastes?

Don’t forget to enter my Blender Bottle giveaway! There are 3 ways to enter!

  1. Leave me a comment on this post with your favorite smoothie recipe.  I like smoothies,and I like variety!
  2. Follow me on Twitter and tweet about this.  Let me know what you said, be sure to include my name (@liveloveeatplay).
  3. Link back to this contest in your blog.

P.S.  Want to do a good deed?  Just click here.  You’ll be glad you did!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 9:20 am

    I’d love to see more of your kitchen!! Collecting cookbooks is fun 🙂

  2. November 5, 2009 10:01 am

    Oh, my gosh… and I thought I had a lot of cookbooks!! (Mine aren’t organized so well, either… eek.)

    I’d love to see more of your kitchen! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  3. November 5, 2009 10:47 am

    i love your cookbooks!
    i find some awesome ones at thrift stores sometimes

  4. November 5, 2009 11:14 am

    Thank you so much for mentioning the charity drive. You’re a sweetheart!

  5. November 5, 2009 11:47 am

    I have about half you collection. Mainly picture cookbooks. Sometimes I get ADD when I dont have a picture associated with the recipe. I have a compulsion to buy every cookbook I see and the boyf doesnt agree or appreciate that too much. lol.

    I love that veggie recipe box. im gonna go find me one!

  6. November 5, 2009 12:24 pm

    That is an amazing cookbook collection – I’m jealous! I really want a nice bookcase to put my cookbooks on, right now they are shoved in a cupboard

  7. November 5, 2009 12:28 pm

    WOWZERS! That is amazing! The ‘vegetable’ box is adorable! So lovely!

  8. nelleytimes permalink
    November 5, 2009 5:38 pm

    Holy cookbooks batman! LOL! So when are you gonna write your own??
    My own cookbook that I use is one from the 1980’s. Its the definitive guide to cookbooks – old school and old school charmed. I will dig up this relic from my parents home in Toronto and send you the image/info. It boasts old time salads like waldorf and the like and its hilarious in how up to date and out of date it is. lol!

    keep up the good work. I’ll be reading…. 😉

  9. November 5, 2009 11:06 pm

    Oh wow, you should open that cookbook collection up as a library! It’s awesome!

  10. November 6, 2009 4:13 pm

    I am so jealous of your cookbook collection! I wish I had that many and I wish I had the room for more. And I think it’s a great idea that you shared pics of your kitchen. I would love to see more. I love seeing how people organize their homes and lives. I guess I’m just curious but I also think we could learn a few things by seeing what works for others. Great blog BTW! Thank you for visiting mine.

Trackbacks

  1. Solomon’s Week Without Diet Coke « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. More Adventures With Tofu! « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. This is Nacho Normal Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

