Skip to content

Solomon’s Week Without Diet Coke

November 6, 2009

Good morning!  I’m so happy you all liked my pumpkin decor and overabundance of cookbooks.   Sometimes simple decoration really is best!  I can’t wait to show you all more of my kitchen soon.  The mountain of cookbooks is just the beginning!

The last few weeks Solomon has really committed himself to becoming a much healthier person.  He started taking vitamins, watching what he eats and sleeping more.  I thought it would be fun if he did a guest post every week or so about his new healthy lifestyle.  So without further ado, here’s Solomon!

Hey everyone! It’s Solomon again. Morgan has asked me to throw in a guest post here and there…I hope you can all bear with me as I am still getting used to this blogging stuff. They will definitely not be as good/interesting as Morgan’s, but I hope you enjoy them.

Living with Morgan out here in the ‘ville, has been interesting. Back at home (Boston), we would constantly spend time with my family which often meant eating out and big family meals. We would also find ourselves going out often on our own, because we lived in Boston, which has some of the best restaurants in the world! It was always tough trying to stay healthy. We’d always have an excuse to break the rules.

Out here in the ‘ville, as Morgan has mentioned, there is not much variety. It has been pretty good for our waistline and for our wallets. What I have noticed is that Morgan’s experiments in the kitchen have been really good for me…not only are they healthy, but they are delicious! Just head back to her post on her Thai Peanut Pizza! This whole idea of knowing what you are eating is really helpful when trying to change your lifestyle (and I write this as I pop a starburst in my mouth 🙂 )

Anyway, I have tried to let these changes affect me all across the spectrum…from eating, to exercising, to the way I think about my life. For example, I am on Day 8 of the ” Solomon’s No Diet Coke – Going COLD TURKEY – Program!” I don’t drink coffee so I found that I needed the boost of caffeine. Well, it wasn’t until I adopted some of Morgan’s changes, such as eating better, sleeping more, making smoothies (don’t forget to enter Morgan’s contest!) and eating breakfast that I realized that the caffeine wasn’t affecting me AND I was addicted. I also recently read an article that completely turned me off from Diet Coke. You can read it here: What Soft Drinks Are Doing to Your Body

Overall, I have started to use Morgan as a coach (and vice versa), think about what I am putting into my body, get more sleep, and try to find more time to work out. The thing that I have realized, is that sometimes, hitting a wall is a good thing. It forces you to think outside the box and find a way over the hump. Here’s to all of you finding a way over, under, around, or through that wall.

What are some ways you have gotten over a difficult hump in your life? Any suggestions for those people who want a BIG change?

Don’t forget to enter my Blender Bottle giveaway! There are 3 ways to enter!  Winner will be picked later tonight and posted tomorrow!

  1. Leave me a comment on this post with your favorite smoothie recipe.  I like smoothies,and I like variety!
  2. Follow me on Twitter and tweet about this.  Let me know what you said, be sure to include my name (@liveloveeatplay).
  3. Link back to this contest in your blog.

P.S.  Want to feel all warm and fuzzy inside?  Just click here.  You’ll be glad you did!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 2:34 pm

    It’s great that you have been able to work towards adopting a healthier lifestyle. Way to go! I love the no diet coke challenge.

    • Morgan permalink*
      November 6, 2009 3:12 pm

      Thanks for the words of encouragement! At the end of the day, I’ll have gone one week – Diet Coke Free!

  2. November 6, 2009 9:15 pm

    Thank you so much for the link about soft drinks. I knew they were bad, but this link just confirmed my fears! 🙂

    • Morgan permalink*
      November 7, 2009 8:58 am

      No problem. I could not believe it when I read it…amazing huh?

  3. dana816 permalink
    November 9, 2009 7:51 pm

    Hi Morgan and Solomon! It’s Dana. I’m enjoying your blog. (I feel like a mom right now, because I’ve never left a comment on a blog before). Anyway, you inspire me to try cooking more. I’m currently on a quest for the fastest, healthiest dinner options I can find, so I like getting ideas here. Keep up the good work! xoxo

  4. January 7, 2010 7:27 am

    Dude I am not much into reading, but in some way I got to read lots of post on your blog. Its incredible how appealing it is for me to visit very often.

Leave a Reply

