Skip to content

Southwestern Pizza

November 11, 2009

I promised another international inspired pizza and I’m a woman of my word!  When I was younger, one of my favorite things my mom would make would be a Southwestern pizza.  It was just a Boboli crust, beans, cheese, shredded chicken and other southwestern flavors.  I LOVED it.

The other night, when we couldn’t decided between pizza and Mexican food, we thought that we might as well just go ahead and combine them.  We came up with a slightly healthier version of my childhood favorite, that was packed with flavor.  I started with Jenna’s pizza dough stretched out on a pizza crisper.

October 2009 290 I then covered it with a spicy tomato sauce (though I bet it would be good with salsa!) and my homemade taco seasoning.

October 2009 291 Then we went to town with toppings!  We covered the pizza with black beans, black olives, corn, scallions, and fajita onions and peppers (cooked in a little EVOO until soft), and cilantro on top!

October 2009 245 Then came the best part-the cheese!  With a pizza full of so many yummy flavors, you can go fairly light on the cheese, which I love.  Each bite has so much texture and taste, and the cheese is just there to compliment it all!

October 2009 271 Into a 450 degree oven for about 12 minutes and perfection!

October 2009 277 This pizza got the Solomon “this meal is amazing eye roll!”  That’s a gold star!

October 2009 279 I’ve got to come up with more fun pizza ideas!  I never realized how much I enjoy making pizza at home!

Remember when I showed you all of my cookbooks?  Not even a week ago they were all beautiful, in tact and unblemished.  That is until the wrecking ball that is my dog got to them.  Rufio went right for my vegetable box:

DSC03109Destruction!

When Solomon came home from a movie screening for work he walked in the door and I greeted him with “Rufio ate my green beans.” It was rather confusing to him, understandably.  Look at what the little boy did:

DSC03112He may look all sweet and innocent.

dsc01877He’s not.

dsc01877

What restaurant or take out food do you love to make at home?  Or would you rather eat out or order in and not do the cooking?

Head over here for my nutty giveaway!

Also, head to Janetha’s blog for an Oikos spa pack giveaway!

Don’t forget to click here and do an easy good deed!

GLEE is back tonight!  I’m so excited!  What are you looking forward to today?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 9:07 am

    That pizza looks phenomenal. Sorry your puppy ate your green beans. He is cute though. Today, I’m looking forward to dinner with my hubby for Veteran’s Day.

  2. November 11, 2009 9:08 am

    Aww, that sucks about the attack on your vegetable box!! 😦

    That pizza looks fantastic — and I don’t even really like pizza, or cheese!!

    ❤ ❤

  3. Jessie permalink
    November 11, 2009 9:10 am

    I like to make lettuce wraps like PF Changs at home. And I like to make homemade version of Taco Bell’s Double Decker Tacos. Yum!

    • Morgan permalink*
      November 11, 2009 12:28 pm

      Sounds good! I think I’m going to try that this weekend! I love lettuce wraps!

  4. November 11, 2009 9:21 am

    BAHAHAHAHA cute dog – sorry about the vegetable mess though!

    Today I’m looking forward to watching ‘Top Chef.’

  5. November 11, 2009 9:31 am

    I love making homemade pizza, it is always so much better than any restaurant or take-out place.

  6. November 11, 2009 9:44 am

    That pizza looks soo good. I love mexican food and pizza, so I’m sure I’d enjoy it.

    If I like a soup at a restaurant, I will probably try to make it at home, most recently a gnocchi soup from a local italian place.

  7. November 11, 2009 9:50 am

    That’s totally my kind of pizza. Looks delicious!

  8. November 11, 2009 10:03 am

    Ha, I love the devil picture… cute!

  9. November 11, 2009 10:06 am

    i had thai chick-un pizza from eat drink and be vegan last night… if you’re digging on some random pizzas it is SO good!

  10. November 11, 2009 10:50 am

    I absolutely love making my own pizza at home too, and I LOVE how different it looks before and after baking in the oven. I am mucho impressed by the home made taco seasonings…I’m the type to go out and buy some. 😛

    Just so you know, your link back to your giveaway doesn’t seem to be working! At least for me. Hope you have a lovely day Morgan!!

  11. greensandjeans permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:31 pm

    GLEEEEEEEE! I’ve missed it so much! Your pizza looks incredible! Thanks to my current excess of sweet potatoes maybe i’ll make a sweet potato pizza…

  12. Lizzy permalink
    November 11, 2009 2:21 pm

    that pizza seriously looks amazing. like taco on a pizza crust! love it!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  13. November 11, 2009 2:51 pm

    Oh wow! That looks SO good! I love how you added cilantro to your Southwestern pizza. I’m a HUGE cilantro fan and I know some people hate it. Your pizza looks so delicious and healthy. I applaud you on making your own pizza dough – I still need to try that! So you liked Jenna’s recipe? It seemed really easy. I just now need to go buy a pizza crisper for the oven and I’m ready to go. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Morgan permalink*
      November 11, 2009 3:29 pm

      Definitely try Jenna’s recipe. You can use the back of a cookie sheet, and make your pizza more rectangular!

  14. November 11, 2009 3:42 pm

    I love to make thai food at home. Cooking with coconut milk and spices is super fun and it makes the house smell AMAZING.

    I love your devil doggie.

  15. November 11, 2009 6:07 pm

    I love Mexican style pizza!

  16. November 11, 2009 7:35 pm

    Yum!!! I bought some pizza dough from Trader Joe’s the other day and am having fun playing around with my own pizza combinations. Yours looks fantastic!

  17. November 11, 2009 8:00 pm

    awww Rufio is adorable!!!! especially with that wig!

    i love this phrase —>“this meal is amazing eye roll!”
    hahaha, that’s how you know you’ve hit the nail on the head with the meal. 😀

    my fav creation to make at home is homemade baked french fries. yum!

Trackbacks

  1. Lazy Girl’s Tomato Sauce « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. This is Nacho Normal Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. Grown Up Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  4. Like a Pizzeria Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

