Skip to content

Pumpkin Oats to the Next Level

November 18, 2009

I feel like my posts have been sort of lame lately.  Sorry.  Maybe they are.  I’m just so chock full of brilliant ideas in the kitchen, I feel like I need to spread the love with everyone.

I may be going out on a limb here when I say there aren’t too many things better than a nice warm bowl of pumpkin oats.  Breakfast of champions for sure.  I think I just took pumpkin oats, and took it to a whole new level.

I give you…pumpkin oats in a pumpkin butter jar.

I was looking at the little bit left in my pumpkin butter jar (even though I still have the homemade goodness left).  I was feeling all blue because I don’t live close enough to a Trader Joe’s to just go pick up another jar, and I was determined that not a single drop of this deliciousness would go to waste.  Then the lightning bolt hit!  If I can have oats in a jar, I can have oats in any damn jar I please.  Including a pumpkin butter one.

DSC03207 Oh hell yes.  I need more of this stuff now, but I will forever hold onto the amazingness that was this fantastic breakfast.  I wish it could have lasted forever.  I threw oats in the jar (duh), with some pumpkin puree.  Once it was done in the microwave (by the way, I felt so much better microwaving and eating out of a glass jar than a plastic one.  Anyone else?), I added some crack Mighty Maple and a few butterscotch chips (brilliant breakfast addition, thanks Brandi!).

DSC03206Truly, breakfast perfection.  What a great way to start the day!

DSC03209

It was awful.  I had to force myself to finish.  Really.  Maybe I should just go ahead and get in the car and drive to Pittsburgh so I could just buy another jar at TJ’s (TJ’s are you listening?  Open a store closer to me please.  Thank you.  I believe I could singlehandedly keep you in business).

DSC03210

What’s your favorite way to eat oatmeal?  Ever tried oats in a jar?

Don’t forget about my Zevia giveaway!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 9:32 am

    I love this post. I seriously understand the longing for TJs. The closest one to me is in Arizona, which is, idk, an 18 hour drive? Yeah, that’s almost tragic.

    Your breakfast sounds like a total win.

  2. November 18, 2009 9:36 am

    Can’t beat TJ’s pumpkin butter!! I also love their cranberry apple butter 🙂

  3. November 18, 2009 9:40 am

    yum!
    i love trader joes-it actually used to be the closes store to me. moving where i’m not across the street from them has probably saved me a lot of money (and wine consumption…)

  4. November 18, 2009 9:44 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your TJ’s withdrawal… I actually hate TJ’s, but there are two that I COULD go to were I so inclined!!

    Never had oats in any jar yet. Still slogging through the open jars. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  5. November 18, 2009 10:06 am

    love oats in a jar 🙂 and yes PB&Co is total crack!!!!

  6. eaternotarunner permalink
    November 18, 2009 10:13 am

    Oats in a jar is my favorite. And I am sorry about your TJ’s withdrawal, it is a wonderful place.

  7. November 18, 2009 10:50 am

    i actually had oats in a jar yesterday. coworkers thought i was weird. lol. it was just regular PB but i had a banana creme instant oatmeal and added some apples for a crunch factor. YUM!

  8. November 18, 2009 12:19 pm

    That’s a good idea. That pumpkin butter jar is awfully little though. Did your oats fit?

  9. November 18, 2009 1:47 pm

    I do love my oats in a jar! I love scrapping the leftover nutbutter with every spoonful! Even though I have a TJ’s 10 minutes away, I don’t frequent it enough!

  10. November 18, 2009 2:46 pm

    I want to go to Trader Joe’s so badly. I’ve never been to one. There isn’t one close to me. I make up for it with a Whole Foods and a Central Market (TX thing) but I’d really like to try the pumpkin butter… Boo.

  11. Lizzy permalink
    November 18, 2009 4:46 pm

    never tried oats in a jar and i’m pretty sure i should right. i mean you single handedly made it sound amazing and so its a must! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  12. November 18, 2009 5:44 pm

    mmmm wowwwzaaaa…is it normal that I want to eat my computer screen right now? I think soooo 🙂

    havent tried the mighty maple yet!! ahhh i need to so soon!!

Leave a Reply

