Skip to content

Snickerdoodle Sunday

November 22, 2009

With the holidays coming up, it’s pretty hard to keep me out of the kitchen.  Lucky for me, Solomon’s office is quite receptive to me sending in baked goods whenever the urge strikes!  We had some people over the other night, and I decided cupcakes were a necessity.  I wanted something with a little spice, and very fall like, and looked to the wonderful Martha, specifically Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes.  I love this book.  In true Martha fashion, it is beautiful, with pictures of every recipe (love that) and step by step directions.  There are even tutorials on the back, and explanations of equipment you might need.  Amazing. 

I immediately decided that snickerdoodle cupcakes would be perfect.  Plus, the picture was so cute.  Instead of making full cupcakes, I thought it would be fun to make minis, so people could just grab them and not worry about getting messy.  Since I was making minis, I cut the recipe in half, or else I would have had 72 mini cupcakes!  I am going to share the full recipe with you though!

I really enjoyed these, and will make them again in a heartbeat.  Everyone else really liked them too.  Who doesn’t love a cupcake though?

DSC03163 Cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour, sifted
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbsp. ground cinnamon, plus additional 1/2 tsp.
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted room temperature butter
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar, plus additional 2 tbsp.
  • 4 large room temperature eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cup milk

-First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line your muffin tins with paper liners (half of this recipe made 36 minis, the full recipe should make about 28 regular sized cupcakes).
-Sift together flours, baking powder and cinnamon.
-Using an electric mixer on medium high, cream the butter and sugar together until they are pale and fluffy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating each one in until fully incorporated.  Beat in vanilla. 
-Reduce speed to low.  Add flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with 2 additions of milk.  Beat until each addition is combined.
-Divide batter evenly among cups (I used the bag in the blender trick and cut a hole in the corner to squeeze the batter into the tiny cups).
-Bake, rotating halfway through until a toothpick in the center of a cupcake comes out clean.  The minis baked about 12 minutes.  Regular cupcakes should bake about 20 minutes.

Frosting

  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 tbsp. light corn syrup
  • 6 large egg whites, room temperature

-Combine the 1 1/2 cups of sugar with the water and corn syrup in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally until the sugar dissolves.  Boil without stirring until the mixture reaches 230 degrees (I used a candy thermometer).
-While this is going on, start beating the egg whites.  Using the whisk attachment on my mixer, I beat them on medium high speed until soft peaks form.  Once that happened, I added the 2 tbsp. of sugar, while the mixer was running.
-Once the sugar reached 230 degrees, I set the mixer to medium low speed, and poured the syrup down the sides of the bowl slowly.  Then raised the speed to medium high and whisked until the mixture cooled (could tell by touching the metal bowl).  At this point, stiff peaks formed.

Frost the cupcakes by putting the frosting in a bag or piping bag with a plain tip.  Squeeze a little frosting onto each cupcake (or a lot if it’s a big cupcake), and pull up on the frosting bag to form a peak, while you release the pressure on the bag.  Combine the remaining cinnamon sugar and sprinkle over the top using a teeny sieve. 

DSC03167

Now you refrain from eating them all at once. 

DSC03165

Give thanks to Martha Stewart for this brilliant delicious recipe.  She earned it.

What’s your favorite flavor cupcake?  What flavors make you think of the holidays?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 9:42 am

    CUTE cupcakes!!

    Favorite cupcake flavor = chocolate

    Holiday flavors = gingerbread, pumpkin, cranberry, and eggnog.

  2. November 22, 2009 10:27 am

    i love mini cupcakes
    my fav is anything with cream cheese frosting!

  3. November 22, 2009 11:31 am

    These look delicious. Sadly, when looking to make pecan pie for my Israeli Thanksgiving, I discovered that corn syrup doesn’t exist in this country. Really. I’ll have to have my dad bring me some next time…

    I also love cream cheese frosting and anything pumpkin! Great baking, Mo!

  4. greensandjeans permalink
    November 22, 2009 11:37 am

    swooooon! those look incredible! I love red velvet cupcakes, but this time of year anything sweet potato or pumpkin flavored is my favorite!

  5. eaternotarunner permalink
    November 22, 2009 3:05 pm

    Those look amazing! How do you not eat them all?!

    My fav is probably red velvet 🙂

  6. November 22, 2009 4:02 pm

    Yum, they look great!

  7. November 22, 2009 8:38 pm

    Those cupcakes are adorable!!!

    I love vanilla or confetti cupcakes. Any flavor BUT chocolate! I know, I’m like the only person who feels that way, but eh! Oh, and carrot reminds me of fall/winter…maybe because they’re orange. I love carrot cake cupcakes…mmm!

  8. Jessie permalink
    November 23, 2009 9:02 am

    These cupcakes look amazing! I can’t wait to try them. My fave cupcakes to make right now are carrot cake with cream cheese icing. I love the spice. And the mini cupcakes are perfect, I love to bring them into work to share!

  9. nutritiousisdelicious permalink
    November 30, 2009 8:53 pm

    OMG! I LOVE snickerdoodle! In a cupcake?! This is a must try!

Leave a Reply

