Skip to content

Lazy Girl’s Tomato Sauce

December 1, 2009

It snowed here yesterday.

It wasn’t pretty.

The sky was grey and it was windy.  Rufio felt the need to go out about a million times, just to smell the snow.

The snow stuck.  It’s going to snow more this week.  And for the rest of the winter.

I don’t really like snow so much.  I’m not coordinated enough for it.  Snow and ice always mean about a million black and blues for me.  Solomon likes the snow.  So does Rufio.  He likes to run in it and try to catch the snow in front of him that he kicks up from running.  It’s a vicious cylce.  Look how cute he was playing last winter.

DSC01276Cold, snowy days ALWAYS leave me wanting something warm and tasty.  Since I usually make my own tomato sauce, and was running low,  it was the perfect night to make a big batch of sauce.  I give you…lazy girl’s tomato sauce!

I made this one really simple and delicious.  I took as many shortcuts as possible, without compromising taste or quality.  First I crushed some garlic (about 6 cloves) into a big pan.

DSC03290 DSC03289 I added some EVOO (about 2 times around the pan) and cooked the garlic until it just started to brown.

DSC03291The next part was me being really lazy.  Normally I will cut up my own vegetables, but it was snowing, so I was allowed to be lazy (good logic, right?).  I found a premade mirepoix and figured I should certainly allow the good people of Wegman’s to do the hard work for me.

DSC03288 This went into the pan next, and I let it cook for a few minutes until everything got soft.

DSC03292 Next came a big can of crushed tomatoes, 2 cans of diced tomatoes (I like REALLY chunky tomato sauce) and a can of tomato paste.

DSC03293 I added  2 tbsp. parsley, 2, tbsp. crushed red pepper, 1 tsp. basil, 1 tsp. oregano, 1/2 tsp. marjoram and a bay leaf.  I don’t know this for a fact about the measurements.  I used the Rachael Ray “eyeball it”” method.  It works, I swear.

DSC03294Next came a little salt and pepper, more crushed red pepper (we like our foods hot!) and my dear friend 2 Buck Chuck.

DSC03295 DSC03296The house smelled AH-MAZING, plus we had wine to drink!  Really, making your own tomato sauce at home is a win-win situation, isn’t it?  I froze about 2/3 of the sauce in individual containers, and think I might make a pizza with the rest.  You know I love making my own pizza!

Oh, and I have a fun tip for all of you!  Did you know that stainless steel helps remove smells on your hands?  A lot of stores sell little stainless bars for this purpose, but I find a spoon works just as well!  Try it, you’ll be really surprised!

DSC03303 There you have it…easy and delicious tomato sauce!

Do you make tomato sauce at home?  How do you like it?  Chunky? Spicy?  Full of vegetables?

Don’t forget to enter my soup giveaway!

Also, check out Katie’s Artisana giveaway!  I really want to try this but it’s so expensive!

Oh, and Happy December (can you believe it’s December already?!?!)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 9:29 am

    I can’t believe you go so much snow!!! We didn’t get ANY! And as for tomato sauce – I don’t like it at all. Not chunky or smooth. I am weird.

  2. Jessie permalink
    December 1, 2009 9:31 am

    I hate snow! Its pretty, but it is also cold and wet and can get icey and make me fall. I lack coorination too.

    My lazy girl tomato sauce is Ragu Chucnky Garden Combination Sauce. I ought to try making my own!

  3. eaternotarunner permalink
    December 1, 2009 9:31 am

    Spicy with Eggplant! Yum!

    Can’t believe all that snow!

  4. December 1, 2009 9:33 am

    I HATE snow. Mainly because it means it’s cold outside, and I hate the cold.

    I’m not a major fan of tomato sauce, as tomatoes are one of the few foods I will never, ever even THINK of touching… at least in whole form. I did make tomato sauce once, but it was Passover, so I was kind of … limited. It wound up being more of a vegetable stew instead!

    ❤ ❤

  5. December 1, 2009 9:41 am

    I like it chunky, spicy, and LOADED with vegetables 🙂

  6. December 1, 2009 10:20 am

    I LOVE making my own sauce.

    Kind of chunky, lots of veggies (especially mushrooms!) and I eyeball everything, too 🙂

  7. December 1, 2009 10:37 am

    Looks delish. I am about to go make some pasta now for a dinner tonight at school. Oh, and I love your dog. I used to have a mini schnauzer growing up but we had to give him away for various (and I might add studpid) reasons. I still think they are adorable.

  8. December 1, 2009 10:58 am

    I have a similar spaghetti sauce I make when I am in a hurry. I love it when it comes out full of tomato pieces. I always eyeball everything. I love snow. I miss snow.

  9. December 1, 2009 11:42 am

    thanks for the stainless steel trick.

    btw, i love your evoo dispenser. how cool.

  10. December 1, 2009 11:49 am

    we make some and we like it spicy!

  11. December 1, 2009 12:28 pm

    Ooh, I never knew about the spoon trick. I have to try that the next time I cut up some onions or garlic.

    I don’t know if I’ve ever made my own sauce, actually. I think I would like it chunky though.

  12. December 1, 2009 4:44 pm

    I can’t believe we haven’t gotten snow in Wisconsin yet!

    That’s my fave way to make pasta sauce.. “eyeballing” it + wine 🙂

  13. December 1, 2009 5:00 pm

    I wish that it snowed back home where my pups are because they would be a riot! Too cute!

    I LOVE homemade pizza too!? Homemade sauce? I don’t think your lazy at all. I usually get out a can-opener. Talk about lazy…haha

  14. December 1, 2009 5:15 pm

    I make my own sauce, too. LOVE chunky marinara with bell peppers, crushed red pepper, and mushrooms. Deeelicious! Oh, and red wine is a must-add ingredient.

    2 buck chuck…hehe…love it!

  15. greensandjeans permalink
    December 1, 2009 11:29 pm

    Lady, that sauce looks SO good!

Trackbacks

  1. You Knew I’d Make Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. The 2 Lives of Eggplant Parmesan « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. Like a Pizzeria Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  4. Shopping in my Pantry « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

