Skip to content

You Knew I’d Make Pizza

December 2, 2009

Please.  Like I would make tomato sauce from scratch and not use it to make my own pizza?  If a week went by where I didn’t make pizza, that would be something to worry about.  Solomon requested a veggie filled pizza, like the Tucci pizza at Bertucci’s. Oh Bertucci’s…I miss your rolls and mediocre pizzas.

Anyway the Tucci has roasted onions, mushrooms, peppers, mozzarella cheese and tomato sauce. Not much of a challenge and always yummy!

First I chopped up all of the veggies and put them in a casserole dish with some EVOO, minced garlic and salt and pepper.

DSC03321 These went into a 400 degree oven for a half hour.  They came out be-a-utiful!

DSC03327 I decided to try another dough, because I wanted to make this in my bread machine.  It was only meh.  It tasted good, but was very tough to work with.  It didn’t roll out nearly as well as I hoped.  I even took my rolling pin to the dough, and couldn’t get a decent circle out of it.  Bummer.

DSC03328 I spread a ton of my chunky tomato sauce on top, making sure that every piece of pizza would have a bite full of chunky veggies!

DSC03329 Next came the veggies.  Dangerous roasted veggies!  It was hard to stop myself from picking at them, but I knew they’d be even more amazing on the pizza.

DSC03330 Finally, mozzarella..of course.

DSC03331Into a 425 degree oven for 15 minutes.

While I was prepping and cooking, I did a little bit of carb loading.  Just for fun.  A few weeks ago, Sensible Portions sent me some goodies to try out.  I snacked on some of their soy crisps in the last few days, but sadly didn’t love them all.

DSC02981The white cheddar was really artificial tasting, and the sea salt flavor tasted a bit stale to me.  However, the honey barbeque was out of this world delicious, and I inhaled the bag.

Despite not loving the soy crisps, I figured I would give their pita bites a try while I cooked.  These have proven to me they should not be allowed in my kitchen.  I have a little bit of portion control problem with them.

DSC02979 The garlic and chive are so amazing, and I really considered just eating them all and ruining my appetite.  They look small and innocent, but they aren’t.

DSC03192 If I’m going to gorge myself on carbs, I should enjoy it, right?

Despite eating a ton, I was more than ready for pizza!

I work out, I deserve to eat!

DSC03332 DSC03333 It’s possible that I took a crème brulee torch to the cheese I added to my pizza.  My slice had almost no cheese, and I had to melt it somehow!

‘Twas fabulous!  Perfect, easy dinner!  If you were wondering, yes, we did finish the bottle of wine that went into the tomato sauce.  Wine and pizza…we were trying to be Italian!

DSC03353 I love carbs, I really, really do.  I gave them up awhile ago when I thought the South Beach diet was a great idea.  It wasn’t.  I love bread, pasta and all other yummy carbs way too much!

What’s your favorite kind of carb?  Have you ever given up a food, just to realize you missed it way too much?

Don’t forget about my soup-er giveaway (yup, I went there!).

I am going to have another giveaway on Friday, and I think this one is fantastic, plus it’s courtesy of my mom!  I’m also going to show you more of my kosher kitchen, since I’ve gotten a few questions about it lately!

Head over to Green Dog Wine for my guest post recipe for a yummy, spicy soup!

One more thing…I’m going to be away at the end of December.  I would LOVE to have some guest posts.  Email me at liveloveeatandplay@gmail.com if you would like to do a guest post!  You don’t have to have a blog, and you can write about whatever you like!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 9:19 am

    I want a torch sooo badly. I also love homemade pizza! 🙂

  2. December 2, 2009 9:27 am

    Homemade pizzas are the best — you just can’t go wrong. I love macaroni. I am Italian and grew up eating it at least twice a week — I tried to give it up but I just couldn’t. Macaroni with red sauce is my soul mate.

  3. Jessie permalink
    December 2, 2009 9:31 am

    That pizza looks amazing! It is only 9:30 and I am totally craving pizza now.

    My fave carbs are bread and potatoes!

  4. December 2, 2009 9:32 am

    i love the torching!

  5. December 2, 2009 9:37 am

    Gorgeous pizza!!!

    Is it even possible to choose a favorite kind of carb?! 😉

    I can’t wait to see your kitchen… I’m a total kitchen geek, I love seeing other people’s kitchens!

    ❤ ❤

  6. December 2, 2009 9:45 am

    Pizza yumminess! And roasted veggies… Mmmmmmm.

  7. December 2, 2009 10:00 am

    homemade sauce on homemade pizza = the BEST!

  8. December 2, 2009 10:22 am

    Now I totally want a torch to use on pizza.

  9. eaternotarunner permalink
    December 2, 2009 10:22 am

    Favorite carb? What a tough one! Is ice cream a carb? 🙂

  10. December 2, 2009 10:30 am

    Love your pizza. We often make pizza from scratch. Glad my new bread machine makes making dough so easy. My fave carb is pretzels. I love pretzels and could eat them all day long.

  11. December 2, 2009 10:38 am

    Wow that is a pizza BEAST! I love it!!!!

  12. December 2, 2009 11:06 am

    I love homemade pizza!

    My favorite carb is baked goods, like a muffin or cinnamon bun. I could never give them up – I just eat them less often. 🙂

  13. December 2, 2009 11:43 am

    Yummy pizza!!

    My favorite carb is granola. I tried to give it up but I was really cranky that week. So Im back to eating it again now=) Its just the portion control with this stuff that gets me. Its ssoo tasty!

  14. Solomon permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:08 pm

    Is butter a carb?

    • Morgan permalink*
      December 2, 2009 1:13 pm

      Thanks Solomon! I should have seen that one coming! Let’s watch Mean Girls later!

  15. December 2, 2009 1:34 pm

    I want that pizza! It looks so tasty!
    My favorite carb is pasta. A big bowl of alfredo makes me happy happy joy joy!

  16. December 2, 2009 1:39 pm

    This is about the bazillionth (word?) homemade pizza that I have seen. I wonder if I could make one in my microwave? Hmm…I guess I should hold off! 😉

    Thos pita bites look AMAZING!

  17. December 2, 2009 2:49 pm

    i dont knwo what I would do without my carbies!! I love them so much, I think my fav’s would be oats and sweet potato 🙂

    I love teh shape of the dough when you make homemade pizza’s they always look crazy!

    cant wait for your giveaway!!

  18. Lizzy permalink
    December 2, 2009 3:11 pm

    i cannot believe you made that pizza, it looks straight out of a swanky restaurant! I seriously am craving pizza now! hehe! 🙂

    I love carbs as well. there is this restaurant that is close to my house that serves THE BEST dinner rolls you would ever imagine. They are warm, crispy on the outside and warm and soft in the inside and they serve it with this garlic chive whipped butter! yea. OMG!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  19. December 2, 2009 3:21 pm

    Pizza looks so yummy!

    I’d love to do a guest post! Just lemme know!

  20. December 2, 2009 8:40 pm

    I think I could survive on bread and cheese. I’m not kidding. Good bread is my favorite food… The Great Harvest Bread Company near us sells fresh whole wheat pizza dough. It’s incredible. Now I’m craving pizza!!!

  21. December 2, 2009 11:28 pm

    Bread, bread, bread! I just love carbs in general, I think.

    And pizza.

Trackbacks

  1. Rice and Beans « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. This is Nacho Normal Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. The 2 Lives of Eggplant Parmesan « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  4. Grown Up Pizza « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

