Skip to content

Rice and Beans

December 3, 2009

So glad to see that everyone loves carbs as much as I do!  Can you imagine that people voluntarily give them up for years just to be skinny?  I want to look fabulous, but I’m not sacrificing all of the yummy foods I love to do it!

Also, the blow torch?  It rocks!  Everyone should own one!

Last night’s dinner was ridiculously easy.  This was definitely a case of looking through the pantry, and pulling together whatever I could into a suitable meal.  Oftentimes, we tend to default to rice and beans as a quick, filling and nutritious meal.  We did however spice it up a bit last night, so I wanted to share the fun with all of you (plus, my kitchen post is consuming me, so this was a nice easy post.  Could I be any lazier?)

I made some white rice.  I don’t know why.  I really don’t like it.  The texture seems wrong to me after eating and loving brown rice for so long.  Plus, it reminds me of being sick for some reason.  Not the smoothest move, but can’t win them all, right?  For beans, I sautéed an onion with some EVOO and garlic (have you noticed how many of my recipes start this way?) and added a can of rinsed,drained beans, and a can of stewed tomatoes.  I then used 2 of my favorites for some flavor.  I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

DSC03344 DSC03345 DSC03346 I then transferred this all to a bowl, because Solomon had the brilliant idea to top it all with a fried egg.

DSC03347 Of course, excessive amounts of Frank’s went on top.

DSC02171I also threw together a quick batch of corn muffins.  I’ve had such a craving for cornbread lately, and I had no idea why, but I was pretty sure if I didn’t satisfy that craving, my head would start spinning in circles.

I took the basic recipe on the back of the corn meal and jazzed it up.  Just another reason to love Quaker!

DSC03342I added some chopped jalapenos and chipotle chili powder for some spicy corn muffins!

DSC03337 DSC03341 DSC03348 They look a little strange, don’t they?  They were good, I promise!

DSC03349 He looks so lonely on that plate!

There you have it, easy dinner!

What do you throw together for dinner when you don’t have a plan?  Do you like your meals to be really spicy?

Head over to Itzy’s Kitchen for an Aurorae mat giveaway!

Priyanka is having a Glo Bar giveaway!  I’m dying to try these!

I’m picking a winner tomorrow afternoon for the soup giveaway!  Get those entries in!

Check back tomorrow for another amazing giveaway!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 9:06 am

    Rice and beans is my pre-Yom Kippur meal!! 😉

    When I’m feeling really confused about what to eat, I tend to go a little crazy over it since I’m horrible at making decisions. This is when the frozen meal becomes my friend. I guess that’s what they’re for, though…

    I love spicy!

    ❤ ❤

  2. December 3, 2009 9:35 am

    when we have no plan…. it’s pasta. or chicken nuggets.
    or, far more likely, we go out to eat.
    which is why i plan our meals for the week-saves u sa lot of money-we default to going out reallllly easily. 🙂

  3. December 3, 2009 9:54 am

    That food looks so good. I absolutely love rice and beans, and I love it with egg. I bet the corn muffins were delicious, too.

  4. eaternotarunner permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:06 am

    I will just throw together something sweet! Like oatmeal or PB&J….I have a serious sweet tooth.

    I LOVE corn muffins….yum!

  5. Solomon permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:53 am

    “CORN BREAD…Ain’t nothing wrong with that!”

    • Morgan permalink*
      December 3, 2009 10:55 am

      You’re on a roll lately Solomon! No one goes to Hooters for wings

  6. December 3, 2009 12:22 pm

    Love spicy, and I have that exact seasoning…just wasn’t sure what to use it on. Dinner looks delicious!

    If I don’t have a plan, I hope there’s leftovers or something in the freezer to whip out that I put into a tupperware at some point. Or cereal…there’s always cereal (love cereal…)

  7. December 3, 2009 6:20 pm

    I tend to either make a pizza on a pita or I stir fry some veggies and mix them with beans or salsa. Those are my two go-to meals.

    I love that Adobo seasoning.

  8. December 3, 2009 6:35 pm

    I had a “throw together meal” tonight. Corn tortilla in a bowl topped with black beans, diced tomatoes and a bit of low cal cheese. Yum!

  9. December 4, 2009 1:36 am

    YAY someone else who shares my dislike for white rice! But I think it would have been really good with brown basmati rice, or even bulgur. Oh! Or grits! 😀

  10. December 7, 2009 12:22 am

    I can’t give up or resist the carbs, but thankfully we have good carbs out there! lol

Trackbacks

  1. Speecy, Spicy Soup « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

