Skip to content

Kombucha, Jersey Shore, and a Winner!

December 5, 2009

So a few weeks ago, I decided to get ambitious and make my own kombucha at home.  I knew this was going to be a long process, but figured, what the hell.  I’m still not sure how I feel about it!

Once we got back from Thanksgiving, the culture was about 1/4 inch thick, so I figured it was time to rock and roll.  I did a lot of research on what to do next, and decided to combine a few different ways to make kombucha based on what I had.

DSC03299

It was one of the weirdest things I’ve ever touched.  It was very solid feeling, but really slimy and just bizarre! DSC03301 First I brewed some tea.  I used about 5 tea bags and hot water and let that sit for 20 minutes.  I then added cold water to this, but I’m not sure how much at this point.  This is just a regular Rubbermaid picture, so you can get the idea.

DSC03285After I took the tea bags out, I had to add 1/2 cup of sugar.  It has to be white sugar, because supposedly it doesn’t work with other kinds of sugars!

DSC03286

In went the scoby next, and there was more waiting!  Now it was covered with a towel and sat for 5 days.

DSC03302

Here is what it looked like 5 days later:

DSC03421 DSC03419More growth!  This is just getting weird.  Ew.

I was a little terrified at this point to drink it, but I knew I had to.  I couldn’t bring myself to drink it plain, so I added in some lemon juice.

DSC03420 I think maybe it was lemon juice overkill.  The jury’s still out on this one, though it does taste like kombucha.  The fizziness of store bought kombucha is missing from this.  Maybe I should stick it in the Soda Stream and carbonate it?  I don’t know if home brewing kombucha is meant for me.  It was a fun experiment, but really…just unsure!

DSC03422 Moving right along…did anyone watch Jersey Shore the other night?  Please tell me you did!  It was so ridiculously fabulous!  Plus, I totally graduated high school with Mike “The Situation.”  If you watched it, what did you think?

Not all people from NJ are like that, I promise!  Plus, where the house is isn’t the nice part of the Jersey Shore, it’s where teenagers go to party!  I’m so looking forward to the rest of this series!

Oh, and before I forget, the winner of the McDougall’s soup giveaway is…

image

Genesis who said: this holiday season, instead of taking advantage of the free holiday fixings offered to us because of my brother’s welfare benefits, i decided to give it to another family who needs it more than us. We are able to afford food and I know that there are families out there with way less than us.

Congratulations Genesis! Please email me with your information.

Thank you to Emily for teaching me how to past the image from random.org!

Don’t forget to enter my knife giveaway!  There are also more giveaways on the horizon!

Tell me what you thought of Jersey Shore and “the Situation”!  What are you up to this weekend?  Anything fun?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 12:10 pm

    does the kombucha smell? the fiance’s sis said she tried making it but it smelled weird… that’s pretty rad that you made some!

  2. December 5, 2009 1:11 pm

    Never even heard of the show although I’ve been to the Jersey shore before. Have a great weekend.

  3. eaternotarunner permalink
    December 5, 2009 4:39 pm

    I wanted to try to brew my own but I’m too scared! I’ll just keep getting ripped off at Whole Foods instead 😉

  4. greensandjeans permalink
    December 5, 2009 8:57 pm

    BAHHHHH! I can’t believe you went to school with “the situation!” Hilarious! I’m definitely impressed with your kombucha experiment, even if it didn’t turn out the way you wanted!

  5. December 5, 2009 11:08 pm

    Just one word to say about your “experiment”: YIKES.

    You’re far, far braver than I am!!

    ❤ ❤

  6. December 6, 2009 3:20 pm

    I just tried Kombacha yesterday and am blogging on it today. I’m linking back to you in my post — look for it in a bit! You are brave, but how awesome of you to attempt!

    Congrats to the giveaway winner!

  7. December 6, 2009 8:44 pm

    I posted today about Kombacha and included a link back to your homemade Kombacha attempt! Just thought you might like to see it!

  8. December 28, 2009 8:44 am

    Thanks for your information.
    Just for cross-refference about kombucha, you might be interested to check this link:

    http://www.indokombucha.wordpress.com

    Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Chanukah (or however you spell it!) « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Making Sourdough Could Change Your Life « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

