Skip to content

Speecy, Spicy Soup

December 7, 2009

How was everyone’s weekend?  Mine was semi busy and RELAXING!  It was really nice.  Did you do anything fun?  We saw a local theater production of “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf.”  Whoa…what a crazy, intense play!  I was pleasantly surprised for community theater!

Last week I had the chance to do a guest post on Allison’s blog, Green Dog Wine.  I shared one of my favorite winter soups, which is a spicy salsa soup, inspired by Rachael Ray.  I saw her make this last fall, and it has been a staple in our house every since once it begins to get cold.  It’s filling, packed with veggies, and fairly healthy to boot.  Plus, you all know how I like my foods hot, and this one delivers!

I always freeze about half, and I ate it all last week with leftover jalapeno chipotle corn muffins.  I think I have to make another batch really soon!

Spicy Salsa Soup

  • 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and chopped (Be careful of the seeds as this is where the heat is.  I use gloves if I remember!)
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 orange bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 ribs celery, chopped with greens
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 (28 oz.) can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 (28 oz.) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups vegetable or chicken stock (I use kosher, vegan chicken stock)
  • 3 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • hot sauce for flavor
    October 2009 264October 2009 267 A rainbow of chopped veggies is beautiful!

    Heat a medium soup pan over medium high heat and add the olive oil, jalapenos, peppers, onion, celery and garlic.  Since this was a 30-minute meal, Rachael suggests letting the veggies sauté for 5 minutes, but I let them go about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Let the veggies get soft, with a little bit of a bite to them.

    October 2009 273Season the veggies with salt and pepper and add both cans of tomatoes, and stock.  Here’s what I use to keep it vegetarian:

    Bring the soup to a bubble, then reduce to a simmer.
    October 2009 268 A few minutes before you are ready to serve the soup, stir in the cilantro.  I also add in a few dashes of hot sauce, since we like our food spicy at here!

    We decided to do a twist on tomato soup and grilled cheese and serve this soup with quesadillas.  These are simply whole wheat tortillas, a little bit of shredded Mexican cheese and Frank’s.  We dipped them right into the soup!  Yum!

    October 2009 275
    To cool it down a bit, I like to put a little Greek yogurt on top (I just don’t like sour cream!)
    October 2009 276
    Served with a nice glass of Malbec, you have the perfect chilly weather comfort meal! DSC02873

    By the way, I am looking for some more people to do guest posts!  I’d love to set up some for the end of December, and would love to have any of you do one!  You don’t even have to have a blog!

    Plus, don’t forget to enter my Wusthof knife giveaway!

    Have you ever cooked a recipe you saw on TV?  How did it come out?

  • Advertisements
    9 Comments leave one →
    1. December 7, 2009 9:49 am

      I love that you added greek yogurt on top. It adds such a nice creaminess!

    2. December 7, 2009 9:55 am

      Haha, here’s how MY recipe turned out that I saw on t.v. :

      http://veggiegirlvegan.blogspot.com/2009/10/maybe-i-will-give-it-another-shot.html

    3. December 7, 2009 9:57 am

      I used to drink that consomme straight up… good for a sodium fix. ;p

      Love the colors in the veggie rainbow!!

      ❤ ❤

    4. Jessie permalink
      December 7, 2009 10:08 am

      This recipe is definitely going into springpad. I can’t wait to give it a try!

    5. December 7, 2009 5:42 pm

      Good call on the soup. I was just thinking of good spicy soup to make.

    6. December 7, 2009 7:37 pm

      Thanks, this looks great. Yes, I have used Osem products before including the “chicken” broth stuff. I used to use that and add noodles and fake chicken bits for a chicken noodle soup.

    7. December 7, 2009 8:49 pm

      MAKE ME SOUP

    8. December 7, 2009 10:00 pm

      Great guest post…the recipes sound really good!!

      I make Biggest Loser Fried Chicken all the time! Biggest Loser’s Jillian talked about the recipe and I went online to find it. It’s one of our favorites!

    9. greensandjeans permalink
      December 7, 2009 10:36 pm

      Lady, that looks fantastic!

    Leave a Reply

