Skip to content

Cornbread Topped Chili

December 10, 2009

Hey look!  I made it snow on my blog!  It’s really the little things in life that make me happy 🙂

Even though it’s snowing on my blog, it doesn’t quite compare to the real life snow.  We haven’t had a lot of it yet, but it feels like it has been snowing a ton.  I mean, you can still see the long stems of grass peeking through the snow, but there is no question when you look outside that it is winter!  Rufio is in absolute heaven!  Me?  I could do without it.  It’s pretty for a bit, but just gets all gross and dirty looking, plus I don’t like driving in it!

Snow always makes me want comfort food.  It’s inevitable.  On my neverending quest to make comfort food just a little more healthy, I decided to throw something together that I hadn’t had in years.  Solomon has been wanting chili for quite some time, so I decided that since chili and cornbread are perfect together, why not just combine them?  I rediscovered cornbread topped chili and fell in love with it.  No joke.  Head over heels in love with this meal.

First things first, I made a spicy (obv.) vegetarian chili.  I cut up an onion, red bell pepper and green bell pepper and sautéed them in…you guessed it…EVOO and garlic.

DSC03429 DSC03434 Next, I added in some fake meat.  I’m not the biggest fan of this stuff, because it tends to leave a weird taste in my mouth, but once in a while it’s OK.  Being vegetarian, and keeping kosher has made this stuff quite useful, despite the texture (another thing I don’t love).  But to me, chili needs meat, so this works wonders.

DSC03432I also threw in a drained can of corn

DSC03433A can of green chilis

DSC034302 cans of diced tomatoes

DSC03474 1 can each of black beans and kidney beans, drained and rinsed

DSC03431And a variety of spices (cayenne, chili powder, red pepper, cumin, chipotle chili powder) and salt and pepper.  As usual, there is absolutely no method to my madness.  I just used the “eyeball it” method, and kept tasting until I got the flavor I wanted, which was spicy, with a strong kick from the chipotle chili powder.  By the way, have I ever told you guys I love cumin?  Solomon’s mom cooks with it a lot, and keeps a huge container full, and now I find it’s great in everything (especially guacamole!).

DSC03475I then brought it all up to a boil, then reduced the pot to simmer for about a half hour.

DSC03436While I was cooking, the boys of the house were busy too.  Solomon had himself a nice cold beer

DSC03435 As for Rufio….life is very tough.  I caught him in between some yoga poses.  He did a downward dog, but I wasn’t fast enough to get a picture.  I guess he was doing the schnauzer version of frog pose.

DSC03351 While this was going on, I made a quick batch of cornbread.  I decided to take some help from my dear friend Trader Joe’s and use their cornbread mix.  It’s one of my favorite cornbreads, because it’s got a strong corn flavor, with a nice subtle sweetness.

DSC03438 DSC03439 Once this was mixed, I spread about half of the chili in the bottom of a 9 x 13 casserole dish (the other half was frozen).

DSC03437 I carefully spread the cornbread on top, and tried to cover as much as I possibly could.

DSC03440 I baked the whole thing following the directions for the cornbread.  It went into a 350 degree oven for a half hour.  The cornbread started to brown, and a toothpick came out clean!

DSC03442MMMMMM…I can’t even begin to describe how yummy this meal is.  I’m so glad I “rediscovered” it, because I think it is going to be showing up a lot this winter.  The cornbread just compliments the chili so perfectly, and each bite is delicious!

DSC03444 No joke, but is this what Shepherd’s Pie is like?  I mean, I know what it is, but I’ve never had it!  If it’s this good, then I am for sure going to make a vegetarian version of that next!

What are some of the little things in life that make you happy?

Other than making it snow on my blog, it’s a good meal, knowing Solomon is happy, watching Rufio have the time of his life playing by himself, seeing my nephews and niece grow and become amazing little people, and lip balm (among tons of other things!)

Who’s watching Jersey Shore tonight?  You know I wouldn’t miss it!

Don’t forget about my Wusthof knife giveaway!

I also have another giveaway coming up next week!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 9:12 am

    Do you know I’ve never had cornbread and chili together? I know I need to.

  2. December 10, 2009 9:13 am

    You can keep your snow! ;p

    I went on a cornbread kick a few months back, but it ultimately proved unsuccessful. No matter what I tried, it just tasted… bland! Unless it’s supposed to be that way?!

    What makes me happy? … A lot of different things, but diving is one of them. Love love love love love it.

    ❤ ❤

  3. Brandi permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:57 am

    that dinner looks so good and comforting! i love meals like that.

  4. December 10, 2009 10:49 am

    That looks amazing. I will have to make cornbread now to go with the chili I’m making tonight. I love snow. I wish it would snow here. By the way, the Boca Crumbles are better than the Morningstar ones. I think they are Kosher, too.

  5. December 10, 2009 11:51 am

    I’m eating a chipotle burrito right now. It is good. Make me cornbread chili. Please. Thanks. I’m going to try to watch jersey shore tonight but I have a test in peds tomorrow so I might have to put that situation on hold for a bit. When are you coming to new jersey? How many indie kids does it take to change a light bulb? (I forget if I’ve asked you this already)

  6. December 10, 2009 12:59 pm

    I make a chili with almost the exact same ingredients. I’ve never thought of baking the cornbread on top though. Great idea.

  7. December 10, 2009 4:07 pm

    That looks great. It’s funny that you mention the Morningstar stuff and keeping kosher. When I used to do weight loss counseling at a gym in an orthodox neighborhood I was dealing with a few mom and they sometimes had concerns abotu their children wanting things and being to young to explain why they couldn’t have them. For example, pepperoni pizza, so I suggest meatless meat products/soy products to give them the idea they were eating these things. I guess it is confusing to them as why they can sometimes have it and others can’t (because it is really meat or pork), but it was at least an option.

  8. greensandjeans permalink
    December 10, 2009 10:29 pm

    Oh man, that looks fantastic! Did you see that Italian Americans are all freaking out about the Jersey Shore? Obviously they have never watched it, because it’s amazing.

  9. December 10, 2009 11:16 pm

    I love the cornbread idea on top. I just started eating cornbread again! I will have to try this way.

Leave a Reply

