Skip to content

Happy Chanukah (or however you spell it!)

December 14, 2009

Surprise!  Solomon and I jetted off to Boston this weekend!  It was a quick, last minute visit, but we had a lot of fun!

Our original flight was delayed, and because of that we would have missed our connection in Philadelphia.  The airline actually put us on an earlier, direct flight, so we sped down to Pittsburgh and made it in time…to find out that flight was delayed!  UGH!  At least we got to eat dinner and relax a bit, and we finally made it back to Boston!

A lot of the reason we were going is for his family’s annual Chanukah party.  Solomon’s mom and aunt always cook up tons of AMAZING latkes, and there is tons of food.  It’s always a relaxing party, and a great time to see family, and exchange lots of gifts!

DSC03526All for me!  I kid, I kid!

But first, we light candles.

DSC03543Then we EAT!

Lots of greasy, salty, delicious latkes

DSC03536Just look at that grease!  We have toppings of course (I always go for applesauce)

DSC03537

DSC03539 DSC03558 DSC03559

I didn’t even bother with dessert pictures.  I was  having too much fun at this point 🙂

We also got to spend some time with our nephew!  Charlie was born a few weeks before we moved, so we haven’t gotten to spend nearly as much time with him as we want.  We were able to watch his older brother (now 4!) grow up, so it’s really special to get to see Charlie.  By the way, Alex was in no mood for pictures, playing with his cousins was way more fun!

DSC03530 I think my favorite part of the whole night might have been at the end, when Charlie fell asleep in my arms!

After we were all sufficiently stuffed, it was present time!  I am so lucky to be part of such a wonderful family, who loves me as if I was a blood member, and not just married in!  Here’s some of my wonderful gifts:

DSC03564 DSC03565 DSC03561 DSC03562 I have this thing for fun socks!  I only wear white socks for working out, all of my other socks have fun designs and patterns 🙂

I also got a new charm for my Pandora bracelet:

9ea2e88186e210fda3682dfb84cbdf03 And winter running clothes!

DSC03563It was a GREAT visit to Boston, and now I can’t wait to head to NJ and LA at the end of the month!  It’s hard being away, and there’s nothing quite like family!

I feel so lucky this holiday season.  If nothing else, I have a roof over my head and family that loves me.  I am also lucky that I am able to give back this holiday season.  I wanted to take a minute to thank Natalie for organizing Project Feed Me.  She provided an easy way to give back to those people in need.  I hope to be able to do more this holiday season too!

DSC03566 Happy Chanukah to those of you celebrating! 

Did you get anything special?

If not, what are you hoping for from Santa?

Don’t forget about my Wusthof giveaway!

Happy Monday!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 9:57 am

    Those latkes looks amazzzzzing.

  2. December 14, 2009 9:59 am

    Applesauce is always my latkes topping-of-choice, too!

  3. December 14, 2009 10:01 am

    My dad is the same way about applesauce and latkes… I don’t get it. 😀

    ❤ ❤

  4. December 14, 2009 10:13 am

    Happy Hanukkah/Chanukah! 🙂

  5. December 14, 2009 11:20 am

    charlie is so adorable.

    i love fun socks too. i always wear them, and sometimes i buy fun ones for workouts too.

  6. December 14, 2009 6:09 pm

    MMMMmmmm Latkes 🙂 🙂 We are having all out holiday celebrations early next week since that is the soonest my siblings can all get home.

  7. December 14, 2009 7:44 pm

    in elementary school one of my classmates was jewish, and her mom would come in and tell us about Chanukah and make latkes every year (she was quite possibly the only jewish girl in my elementary school, so most kids didnt know much about it)… i LOVED that day each year. Mmm latkes.

  8. December 14, 2009 8:52 pm

    I would like some diabetes educator exam study books and some earrings. I’m easy : )

    Those gifts looked beautiful! Chanukah (sp?) colors are so much less spastic than Christmas!

  9. Robin permalink
    December 22, 2009 8:52 am

    double knit runners cap?????

Trackbacks

  1. I Used to Hate Running « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Guest Post from Live, Love, Eat and Play! «
  3. Happy Hanukkah! « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

