Skip to content

Guest Post: Sana from Blueberry Muffins

December 28, 2009

Hey everyone!!!

I hope you are all having a lovely holiday season! I am Sana from www.blueberrymuffins.wordpress.com or twitter @simplysana!  One thing I love about Morgan’s blog is how she shares and celebrates her culture with all of us. I thought it would be a fun idea to share a little bit of my Indian culture with you all!

Although I have spent all 20 years of my life here in the US, my family is from India . I try to incorporate many Indian traditions into my life.

What does that mean?

Bright colors, the ever lingering smell of curry and the fast beats of Bollywood! Of course.

Slumdog Millionaire captured the hearts and souls of all who watched!

http://monkeysmashesheaven.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/slumdogposter.jpg ( Source)

So how can you add a bit of Bollywood spark to your life?

1) Done on the brightest, sparkled filled outfit you own. It is impossible way to not feel happy when you are all dressed up! 

2)Bring your arms into it and crank up some Masala Bhangra Workout

( source)

I have personally never done any of her workout DVD’s but if you are interested  be sure to check out Sarina Jain’s website at http://www.masaladance.com/

 3)After you have worked up a nice sweat and appetite- settle down and enjoy my favorite Indian dish.

Chaat ( Chickpea salad)

  • 2 (15 oz) cans of Chick Peas (Garbanzo Beans)  
  • 2 tbsp of Fresh Coriander/Cilantro Leaves
  • 1 Green Chilli
  • 2 tbsp. of  Chaat Masala ( can purchase this at local Indian store)
  • 3 tbsp of  Imli Chutney (can purchase this at local Indian store) 
  • ¼ of a medium sized Onion (diced)  
  • 1 medium Tomato 
  • Salt (to taste)

And there you have it- a short and savory trip into the world of Bollywood! It is always important to spice up your meals and workouts. You don’t always have to stick with the cut and dry.

Also, hit back to the roots, if you have a traditional meal from back home find a healthy way to recreated it.

Do you have a special dance? Crank up the beats and get moving.

Anything is possible with YouTube.

Thanks so much Sana!  I can’t wait to cook up some chaat and work on my arms!  Thank you for sharing some of your culture with us too!

Don’t forget about the Aurorae giveaway (I’ll announce a winner tomorrow) and the Wusthof giveaway!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 8:29 pm

    Such an awesome post!! Loved it. You look so great too! Thank you so much for sharing that with us. The recipe looks delicious.

  2. greensandjeans permalink
    December 29, 2009 11:03 am

    Thanks for the post! That recipe looks amazing!

  3. December 29, 2009 10:38 pm

    Hey hey! You look great in your cultural garb. Culture is so important. It’s wonderful that you’ve held on to that.

    P.S. I watch the Bollywood-style music videos on TV. I don’t know what they’re saying-singing, but I love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Where have I been? « The simple life of Sana.

Leave a Reply

