Skip to content

Party in the U.S.A.

December 31, 2009

Yes, I had a Miley Cyrus song stuck in my head the whole time we were in L.A.  I’m OK with that.

We went out to L.A. for a wedding.  One of my closest friends from high school got married on Sunday.  He (Brian) and his wife (Paula) met at law school and live in Brooklyn.  They are both Legal Aid lawyers, and one of the cutest couples ever.  Her family is from L.A., whic is why the wedding was out there. 

We landed with barely enough time to check into our hotel and change.  I took advantage of our time waiting for our rental car to do my makeup.  In the middle of the Hertz lobby.  I really just didn’t care!

Pretty soon after we landed, we headed out to Trader Vic’s at the Beverly Hilton for a rehearsal/out of towners dinner.  It was very casual, which I love for a rehearsal dinner.  I can’t really say how the food was, since I wasn’t hungry, so didn’t eat.  It was really good to catch up with old friends and his family, but we called it an early night, since the jet lag took a lot out of us.  I didn’t get a lot of pictures at the dinner (at least none that aren’t incriminating!), but just know we had a lot of fun!

The next morning, Solomon and I headed to Santa Monica Pier.  We were really disappointed by it.  Maybe it was because it was so quiet because it was early Sunday morning, but it seemed really rundown.  I did run into Zoltar, I wished to be BIG!

We also saw the Hotel California.  I channeled my inner Mama’s and Papa’s and sang!

Thank you so much for all of your great suggestions for brunch.  We ended up at Grub, which I can’t recommend enough.  I’m not exactly sure where in L.A. it is, but it looks like a cute little house.

They brought out Froot Loops and Fruity Pebbles for us to snack on while we waited!  I haven’t had either of these in a long time, they were so yummy, and such a fun treat!

Solomon got a breakfast burrito which he declared to be one of his favorite breakfasts ever (and boy loves his breakfast!).  It was huge and packed fully of yummy goodness!

I got an egg white scramble with pepper jack cheese, corn, tomatoes and basil.  It came with the best herbed potatoes I have ever eaten, and “hippie bread.”  I’m drooling just thinking about it!

We also discovered my newest favorite hot sauce, Tapatio.  After brunch we went right to a grocery store and bought a bottle for us, one for my parents, and one for my brother.  It might be better than Frank’s, but then I feel like I’m cheating by saying that.  I still love you Frank’s!For a sweet treat later on (little did we know there was more ahead for us!), we got one of their speacial cookies-a chocolate chip and potato chip cookie!  I have to figure out how to make this myself.  It was the perfect combination of sweet and salty!

After brunch we did a TON of sight seeing, which I won’t bore any of your with, since I’m sure you’ve all seen pictures of these places.  We saw the Hollywood sign, the Walk of Fame, the Kodak Theater, Graumann’s, L. Ron Hubbard’s Winter Wonderland (which I found HILARIOUS for some reason), and some of the studios.  For an afternoon snack we headed to YogurtLand (thank you Michelle!)

Yogurtland is a frozen yogurt place with a DIY toppings bar.  They had about 14 flavors, and most were low fat or no fat.  I opted for a peanut butter/cookies and cream twist and plain (my absolute favorite).  I put on tons of fruit, and carob chips.  Solomon got Nilla wafer and plain, with the same toppings, plus yogurt chips.  At $.30 an ounce, this was a great deal, and sooooo yummy!  I inhaled every bite.  They had a motto which I thought suited me well too!

Yogurtland also had the most adorable spoons!

Yeah, I hated it.  Every last bite 🙂

As if we hadn’t eated enough, we also went to Sprinkles in Beverly Hills.  We were smart, and saved these for the airport the next day.  They were heavenly, I wish there was a Spinkles near me.  They would totally be worth ordering from California! 

We always judge a cupcake place by their vanilla cupcake with vanilla frosting, and this one passed with flying colors.  We also got a red velvet cupcake, which was the best either of us had ever had.  A++++++ in my book.  If you ever get a chance to try Sprinkles, you really should, they rocked!

Other than eating our way through L.A., we had a great time, and a lot of fun at the wedding, dancing all night.  I didn’t get a lot of pictures, but here we are with the happy couple.  Mazel Tov Paula and Brian!

After this monster post, I’m wiped!

What are your NYE plans? 

My brother and his girlfriend are coming to my parents, and we are just going to do a lot of appetizers, drink and relax.  I’m never much into NYE, I hate being on the roads, and how overpriced everything is!

Have you ever been to L.A?  What did you think?  Are you more of a city or country person?

As for me, city all the way!

Don’t forget about the Aurorae giveaway and the Wusthof giveaway!  I’ll announce both winners tomorrow, good luck!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 9:14 am

    Having been to Times Square on NYE just for the experience, I am now perfectly content to spend every NYE from here on out in my pajamas, watching the ball drop on TV. :p

    Total city person, because I’ve gotten spoiled by the conveniences! But at the same time, I do like to get away from it once in a while. I haven’t been to LA in a LONG time.

    ❤ ❤

  2. December 31, 2009 9:35 am

    I just hanging out at home for New Years … I love staying home with my hubby. 🙂

  3. December 31, 2009 9:37 am

    ahh the bowl of fruit loops, the adorable spoon, too much cuteness! 🙂

    i’m going to a concert tonight for new years

    i’m a city girl so long as the city isn’t too big-portland is perfect!

  4. greensandjeans permalink
    December 31, 2009 9:41 am

    Glad you had such a great time! I have a Sprinkles close to me, I try not to drive by there too often! Tonight my boy and I are going out to dinner and then hitting up a couple of parties. We are trying to go hiking tomorrow so we won’t be going full throttle! My little brother went to school in LA so I have been out there quite a few times. I hate that you have to drive everywhere, but there is SO much to do and see that you don’t mind it too much! I’m a city girl that needs to be close to the great outdoors, if that makes any sense! I love the convenience of a city but I LOVE to be outside!

  5. December 31, 2009 10:07 am

    I secretly like Miley Cyrus!

    I love those yogurt places where you can get whatever amount you want. To answer your questions, I’ve never been to LA. The only place in CA that I’ve been is San Diego. And, I’m definitely a city person.

    Have a happy new year.

  6. December 31, 2009 10:17 am

    That sounds like a great trip – I’d love to go to a yogurt place like that!

    Happy New Year!

  7. December 31, 2009 10:28 am

    That Yogurtland place has to be awesome.

  8. December 31, 2009 11:02 am

    OMG! Grub, Yogurtland and SPrinkles Cupcakes? I want to go to them all! 😀

  9. December 31, 2009 11:18 am

    hey nothing wrong with getting your makeup done where ever you can 🙂

    i wish we had a sprinkles and yogurtland too 😦

  10. December 31, 2009 12:10 pm

    Corn in an omelet? I have to try it! That omelet looks so good! Looks like you had a great time with amazing food! 🙂

  11. December 31, 2009 1:23 pm

    Im so glad you had a fabulous time in L.A!! I live in L.A but i havent been to Sprinkles yet! So thanks for sharing. You look so pretty in that wedding photo too!! Despite living in L.A, id like to think that Im more of a suburbs kind of person. I LOVE the country side but I like being close to all the cool things a city can offer. So if there was some in between thats where I would want to be. Fabulous trip photos. The wedding sounds like it was alot of fun.

  12. December 31, 2009 1:46 pm

    Grub looks great. I love yogurtland and so now I am very jealous. Looks like you had a great time. As for NYE I have lived in Vegas for the past 5 years so this year will be very low key. I think we are staying home and watching movies. I hate going out because there are too many drunk drivers.

  13. December 31, 2009 10:51 pm

    Happy New Year!! Wow- you had an amazing trip! Yogurt land looks amazinggg!

  14. January 1, 2010 9:48 am

    ahah oh miley cyrus..so easy to get stuck in your head.

    wow your egg scramble looks SO good if I do say so myself!
    I have always wanted to go to yogurtland!

    happy new year 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Ugly Soup « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

