Skip to content

The Little Gingerbread House That Could

January 2, 2010

Thank you for all of your New Year’s wishes!  I hope you all have a fantastic year!

After a very low key New Year’s Eve, we decided to stay at home and spend most of New Year’s Day relaxing.  Somehow we decided this involved making a gingerbread house.  Because we’re Jewish and like to be a few weeks late or something.  Anyway, my brother and Solomon played Wii most of the day, my dad did dad things and my mother, brother’s girlfriend and I made a gingerbread house.

I’ve tried once before.  It was a disaster.  In college my friend would try to teach me about the “Joy and Miracle of Christmas.”  This usually involved eating frosting meant for cookies, decorating a mini tree with cotton balls, deciding Santa was on an acid trip in “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” singing along to the Grinch and getting really drunk.  We usually ordered pizza too, while building a gingerbread house.  My social security number ended up on the roof of the house somehow.  It was a mess.  Ah, good times.

Anyway, back to this year.  We had a little kit.

First we made a ton o’ frosting.  Then we broke ground and began construction.  I forgot that this was the hard part.

Then we dug through the cabinets for support.  No matter what you hear, icing is just not enough to hold a gingerbread house in place.

While we waited for it to try, we made a little gingerbread boy and girl.  He is a Jersey Shore gingerbread man, he has little spiky hair.  His blowout took 25 minutes!

Next came the roof.  I got bored while my mom held it in place, and was totally impatient and ready to decorate.  That was a mistake, the roof caved in, and we had to start all over again.  Maybe one of my resolutions should have been to be more patient?

Then came the fun part…decorating!

We had so much fun, and I felt productive.  I love the little walkway and the wreath.  I also love gingergirl’s heels, and gingerboy’s spikes!

That, my friends, is how we ring in the New Year here.  Not really, but it was fun at least!

I’m off to enjoy my last day with my family, and fight off this cold!  Tomorrow we’ll be on the road, so I’ll be back Monday with a review, and much more normal posting from then on!

Have a great weekend!

What are your weekend plans?  Have you ever made a gingerbread house?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 11:04 am

    i love it!
    i also love how you celebrated the joy and miracle of christmas in college 🙂

  2. January 2, 2010 11:58 am

    Haha, I love the Jersey Shore gingerbread man. I made a house once and then, this is embarrassing and it was a long time ago, had too much to drink one night and came home and started eating it. After it had been sitting on the table for like a month. Why am I sharing this information?

  3. January 2, 2010 12:36 pm

    Super cute. So much classier than the gingerbread houses I used to make. We always made “gingerbread” houses – ie graham cracker houses. You glue them onto boxes for internal structural support and then decorate the outside. Real gingerbread definitely looks classier, but sounds like it takes a lot more patience.

  4. January 2, 2010 2:06 pm

    your gingerbread house is ADORABLE! and i love the jersey shore gingerbread boy! ha. fist pump!

  5. January 2, 2010 3:50 pm

    That looks GREAT! I am so jealous…I want to make one. Looks like so much fun.

  6. January 2, 2010 4:24 pm

    What a cute gingerbread house! So creative! 🙂

  7. January 2, 2010 11:00 pm

    So cute! I am far, far, FAR too impatient to do anything so fancy. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  8. January 3, 2010 4:48 pm

    awesome! Great job on the gingerbread house!

  9. January 3, 2010 5:34 pm

    SOOOO CUTE!
    They need like super glue icing! I remember I made one in kindergarten and felt so icky after eating everything! I remember trying to put glue on mine….

  10. greensandjeans permalink
    January 3, 2010 9:55 pm

    LOVE LOVE the Jersey Shore boy! So cute! Last year my roommates and I made a gingerbread train, eating it is always the best part!

  11. Robin permalink
    January 4, 2010 10:40 pm

    Blowout is the best part. But the whole house is awesome. I like that you titled this “the little gingerbread house that could.” that is somehow very fitting.

  12. January 5, 2010 7:17 am

    I am sooooo lovin’ that gingerbread house! I am always looking for things that I can make with my two boys, who are too old to do most of the pre-packaged “crafty” things that are out there (or at least THEY think they’re too old). By next Christmas the boys will be 14 and 11 – YIKES! I think we would all have fun making one of your “Little Gingerbread Houses That Could.” Thanks for the idea, and thanks for for the great story!

Leave a Reply

