Skip to content

Waffles and Wine

January 18, 2010

Yup, you read that right.  Brilliant combination, I swear!

Back in my law school days (oh the horror!) I randomly came up with this brilliant combination.  I had two girlfriends over one night, and after killing a bottle of wine, we decided that we had to have waffles.  So off I went to the kitchen, made some batter, and made waffles.  We then pulled out tons of fun things to throw on top and opened another bottle of wine.  Waffles and wine was born.

I even had a waffles and wine party a few weeks later.  Oh we had so much fun.  I remember there being jello shots there too, I guess it just kind of went around the theme, but still made for a fun night!

We had some friends over Saturday night and decided that waffles and wine was the way to go.

We went the easy way out and used some Hungry Jack whole grain mix.  It was surprisingly really yummy!

DSC04162
I also set a table with some appetizers, just a few savory things to eat before it was waffle time!  Homemade pita chips with homemade hummus (recipe soon!), guacamole (chock full of flavor and including tomatoes!) and chips.  Did you know that putting the avocado pit into the guacamole helps it stay green?  So cool!

DSC04159 DSC04158
I also laid out a ton of fun toppings:

DSC04157

Rainbow sprinkles

DSC04154

Top row: cacao nips, walnuts, TJ’s mini peanut butter cups

Middle row: PB chips, butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, white chocolate chips

Bottom: Heath bar pieces

DSC04156

TJ’s Midnight Moo, Xagave, REAL maple strup, Butterscotch Caramel and Fluff

Lots of yummy, decadent goodies!  This is definitely a once in a blue moon kind of treat, but I figured since I ate super healthy all week, I could have a little weekend fun!

In addition to all of these toppings, we also made some whipped cream (not in a bowl), but in my whipped cream maker!
DSC04163
Made with yummy vanilla bean paste!

DSC04164

There was also some homemade vanilla ice cream!

DSC04152
I divided my waffle into quadrants and had a little bit of everything.

DSC04165
Top was cacao nibs, heath and whipped cream, to the right was agave and some nuts (those didn’t make the pic!), then fluff with PB cups and butterscotch chips, followed by butterscotch caramel with white chocolate chips and rainbow sprinkles.

Not to toot my own horn, but yummy!  The mix was really good, and all of the toppings went great!  I had so much fun, and so did our friends!

Oh yeah, the wine part.  I had a little bit (maybe 2 glasses worth?) throughout the night.

DSC04036 DSC04173

DSC04174

All of which I insisted on drinking in my Bora Bora mug!

DSC04172
Waffles and wine may sound like a weird combination, but it was so good, and a lot of fun!

What did you do this weekend?  How do you like your waffles?  Loaded with sweet stuff or nice and simple?

Plus, chocolate covered giveaway for…wait for it…a VITAMIX!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. greensandjeans permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:20 am

    What a fun night! Your homemade ice cream looks sooooo gooood! I’m pretty simple when it comes to waffles, usually just a smidge of butter and some fruit!

  2. abbynormally permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:05 am

    That looks like such a fun and delicious night!!!! I bet that homemade ice cream was delicious!

  3. January 18, 2010 11:12 am

    i like my waffles with fruit and whipped cream. mmm

  4. January 18, 2010 11:32 am

    Haha, what a fun way to enjoy waffles!

  5. eaternotarunner permalink
    January 18, 2010 12:54 pm

    That looks SO fun!

  6. January 18, 2010 12:59 pm

    How fun!! Those waffle look so amazing!! 🙂

  7. January 18, 2010 1:23 pm

    Oh my gosh I could never own a whipped cream maker! It would be baaaad! Looks like a lot of fun with the waffles 🙂

  8. January 18, 2010 1:29 pm

    I love the idea. I love dessert style waffles. My waffle iron does the rectangle ones and they are so tiny and cute. We did pita and made pita chips with the leftover last night for our leftover hummus. Next time hopefully our falafel will hold up better. Making bagels right now, so I hope it works for us.

  9. January 18, 2010 2:04 pm

    Sounds awesome girl! I am loving those waffles. And Im such a huge fan of wine. Great combo in my opinion=) Where do you get that vanilla bean paste? Im really curious about it!!

  10. January 18, 2010 2:38 pm

    Haha my mom HATES that mug, she tried to throw it out without me noticing 😉

    ❤ ❤

  11. January 18, 2010 3:50 pm

    Hey – wine goes with ANYTHING. I say so.

  12. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 18, 2010 4:25 pm

    waffle & wine is a FANTASTIC combo- htis looks like a lot of fun!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  13. January 18, 2010 7:06 pm

    What a fun idea! I like my waffles with peanut butter and banana slices.

Trackbacks

  1. Humdeley Hummus « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Take Me to Bora Bora! « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

