Skip to content

Honey PB ‘Nola

February 15, 2010

I made granola at home for the first time a few weeks ago (and explained why I call it ‘nola) and I think it changed my life. 

Unfortunately, I went through it faster than Ke$ha doing tequila shots.

source

DSC04476

DSC04477

As much as my granola rocked my world, Solomon wasn’t the biggest fan (I really just don’t know why).  I decided to use some of your suggestions to create a Solomon approved granola.  The boy loves his peanut butter, so I thought a honey PB granola would be perfect for both of us!

I used Crazy Richard’s creamy peanut butter, which is so amazingly creamy, it reminds me of Skippy, and I forget that it’s JUST PEANUTS.  I also thought some honey would sweeten it up a bit, since honey and peanut butter are a perfect combination.

DSC04473 
I went with the same base as last time: 3 cups oats, cinnamon, a pinch of salt, shredded coconut and unsalted sunflower seeds.  I decided to skip the flax and use chia seeds instead.  Just for fun.

DSC04474

DSC04478

Next came 1/2 cup each of the peanut butter and honey.  I tried to do my best to mix it together (I even heated it on the stove for a bit!) to break up the clumps as much as possible.

DSC04475

This then went into a 300 degree oven for 25 minutes, and I stirred it a few times.  Instead of regular raisins I added a couple of handfuls of TJ’s Golden Berry Blend which has raisins, cherries, cranberries and blueberries.  You should try it.  All of you.  It’s the best mix.  I also threw in some dates, because they looked neglected in my pantry. 
    DSC04479 DSC04480 DSC04481

This granola is completely Solomon approved!  This jar seems to be disappearing faster than the last one, but I’m OK with that!  I’ve seen him sneaking mugs of granola and milk.  Mr. Picky is a fan, yay!

Do you have trouble getting your significant other or family members to enjoy some of the foods you do?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 9:39 am

    I just made some peanut butter granola at home yesterday – first time I ever made homemade granola, too! It was so good, I practically ate alllll of it.

  2. February 15, 2010 10:47 am

    That sounds incredible! PB + granola are two of my favourite foods… I bet an almond butter + dried blueberries one would be equally delish. Yum.

    I made my mom a mini breakfast cookie this weekend- she LOVED it!

  3. greensandjeans permalink
    February 15, 2010 10:58 am

    I’m noshing on a bowl of granola right now! This mix looks incredible! Peanut butter and honey is pretty much the perfect combination in my book.

  4. February 15, 2010 11:13 am

    usually i tell them it’s not healthy or good for them and its goes down the hatch faster than you can say whole wheat flour! it works everytime!

  5. February 15, 2010 11:55 am

    omy gosh that is probably the most DELICIOUS granola ever. *drool* I’m in need of a batch of granola soon!!! That just looks too goooood to be true!

  6. February 15, 2010 11:59 am

    perfect recipe! Im such a huge granola fan! Its so good and I love pb. Awesome. I really gotta start trying crazy richards pb. It sounds great! I always have a hard time trying to get my hubs to eat good foods. But eh, what can you do? Id hate it if someone told me how to eat. So to each his own I guess! Anyways hon, thanks for an awesome recipe! I hope you have a great day!

  7. February 15, 2010 5:54 pm

    That recipe looks amazing!! My family is pretty good about eating what I give them – except for my four year old who hates everything.

  8. February 15, 2010 9:48 pm

    Yes!! Jason thinks that all food that is organic is bland by definition!

Leave a Reply

