Skip to content

I’m as Mature as a 12 Year Old Boy

February 16, 2010

I made fish tacos the other night.  It made me laugh a lot because I am incredibly immature.  Like, beyond immature.  Sorry, don’t think I’m gross, I just had to put that out there.

But joking aside, they were good!  I knew I just wanted the fish with a separate sauce, rather than fish drowning in a creamy sauce.  I did some googling and came up with baja sauce recipe.  I’m not 100% sure why I chose to make it, since I tend to be a little scared of mayonnaise, but I did, and went light on the mayo.  It was only meh, I wouldn’t make it again.  Any good sauce ideas for fish tacos?

DSC04419

DSC04420

DSC04421

DSC04432

For the fish, I took a little help from Costco.

DSC04428

DSC04427

We rarely ever cook fish because I have this thing where I am totally grossed out by leftover fish.  I make it at home once in awhile.  I found these, which are individually wrapped tilapia fillets, so I think I will be way more inclined to make fish, since they are portioned out and leftovers won’t be a problem!

I put them in a small casserole dish that was sprayed with Pam and sprinkled with a little salt and pepper.  Then I sprinkled them really liberally with some taco seasoning.  
   DSC04423

They cooked away in a 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes.

DSC04429

I shredded them with a fork, then it was taco time!  I bought some cole slaw mix, and chopped up tomatoes and avocadoes.  With the sauce these were yummy, but I would definitely like a different sauce!  We made them on corn tortillas, which fell apart a little, but were so good!    DSC04430 DSC04431  DSC04433 
Do you make fish a lot at home?  Any tips to make the leftovers more palatable?

Fish is so good for you, but I just can’t bring myself to eat it the next day.  So glad I found single servings!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 9:46 am

    What a great sauce recipe! I don’t cook much fish at home. I’m not too creative in that catergory. I need to venture out and try some recipes…

  2. February 16, 2010 10:09 am

    Oh no. Keep the mayo AWAY from your Mexican food. Use sour cream or nonfat yogurt. I generally don’t use a cream sauce on my tacos at all, but if that’s what you’re going for I’d use some plain yogurt, a little cilantro/parsley, lime juice, garlic, and cumin. (Maybe a good smoked paprika if you have it too. Or some adobo sauce. Mmm.)

    I like my fish/shrimp tacos two ways. One is with a garlic lime chimichurri sauce, pico de gallo (or plain chopped tomatoes), a little bit of good lettuce (not iceberg), & feta cheese. (Trust me, feta is KEY.) The other way is to use a funky fruit salsa, I like Pace’s Chipotle Pineapple Mango. I’ll toss the fish/shrimp with the salsa, layer it on top of some lettuce, and add a dab of sour cream at the top + some fresh cilantro.

    I guess Mexican food is different all over the US, but I have never seen a “baja” sauce used in Texas, so I don’t know how these versions compare to what you’re looking for.

    Also, I’m surprised your tortillas fell apart. Did you warm them up before you used them?

  3. greensandjeans permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:34 am

    This may sound a little crazy, but I LOVE pesto on fish tacos!

  4. February 16, 2010 12:15 pm

    Those look delicious to me! I think I would make a lime and cilantro sour cream maybe?

    I really like fish baked in Italian sauces- marinara, pesto, etc.

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:02 pm

    i really really love fish tacos!!! i love the title of this post too 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. February 16, 2010 3:43 pm

    I don’t make fish often at home. I am honestly not a huge seafood fan. I wish I were cause I know how good it is for you.
    I agree with the other comments, sour cream or yogurt might be better.

  7. February 16, 2010 4:58 pm

    I make tilapia all the time, but I never have leftovers of it. I am going to keep an eye out for individually wrapped frozen filets! I love guac with my fish tacos 🙂

  8. February 16, 2010 7:38 pm

    i hate leftover fish. i’m not big on leftover meat in general.

    if i buy a big piece of fish i make myself chop it into smaller portions, and then freeze most of it so that i won’t waste it.

    i love salmon with something a little sweet (like brown sugar) on top

  9. eaternotarunner permalink
    February 16, 2010 7:41 pm

    I love making a mango salsa for fish tacos….yum!

  10. February 16, 2010 9:23 pm

    I giggle every time I hear fish tacos so us immatures rock!

    I maybe make fish once every two wks at home but am contemplating giving up pork, red meat and chicken for Lent so may be making a lot more of it!

    That’s depressing about the sauce it looked like it had potential. I usually take some ranch mix in jalapeno, garlic and chile powder and spread in the taco (LOL sorry I crack myself up!)

  11. February 16, 2010 10:27 pm

    I have been craving fish tacos so much lately! Weird!

  12. February 17, 2010 4:15 pm

    I love fish tacos. Yours looked really good. I don’t do leftovers though. All leftovers have bad mojo in my book.

  13. February 17, 2010 4:16 pm

    Evidently, I’m a 12 year old boy as well. My comment was somewhat “inappropriate”. I apologize if I offended anyone.

  14. February 18, 2010 6:07 am

    My husband would love this meal!

Leave a Reply

