Skip to content

Brothers Review and Giveaway

February 19, 2010

HAPPY FRIDAY!  Aren’t you glad this week is over (except those teachers and students who were on break?).  I loved hearing everything that drives you nuts at the gym.  I guess we’re all a little particular, but it seems like we all dislike the same stuff-phone talkers, people who get too close, the makeup ladies, the people who barely break a sweat!

I am finishing up my time in New Jersey, and will be heading back to PA this weekend, which I’m kind of not so excited for.  I’m a little bored and lonely there, but that’s life, right?

Anyway, I received some great samples last week that I luuuuuuuuuuuuurved from Brothers All-Natural.  Brothers was started by 2 brothers who took Americans love of freeze dried fruit in cereal and a concern for health and portion control and created a yummy treat.  They freeze dry all of their fruits so they are just like chips, and make their fruit crisps solely out of fruit.  In addition to fruit crisps, they also make potato crisps!

When the fruit is freeze dried, almost all of the water is removed from the fruit, but the fruit itself remains unchanged otherwise.  Freeze drying also helps to maintain the smell and flavor of the fruits.  The fruit crisps are low calorie, and have absolutely nothing added to them.  Plus they are delicious.

I tried a few different flavors so far, and unfortunately won’t get to try them all.  I brought them to Boston, and my little nephew Alex was pretty much obsessed with them.  We gave him a bag of apple crisps with Disney characters on them, which he promptly scarfed down (remembering to offer to everyone) and then asked for more!

So far I have tried the following flavors:

Asian Pear, Fuji Apple, Pineapple and Strawberry Banana

I really liked the fact that these tasted like real fruit, and certainly helped to satisfy a sweet tooth.  I loved the fact that they are ONLY fruit, and have nothing added to them.  I also love that each bag has between 1 and 1.5 pieces of fruit.  The only thing I didn’t love was that they weren’t a stand alone snack for me, as they weren’t so filling.  I like how versatile they are-I can eat them plain, add them to yogurt or cereal, and I think they would be delicious in some salads and sandwiches!

By the way, Brothers also makes instant oatmeal that provide a serving of fruit, and a serving of whole grains.  Their potato crisps also seem like a fantastic potato chip alternative since they are fat free, freeze dried potatoes!

Big thank you to Brothers for these awesome snacks!

Brothers offered 4 of you a sample pack of 12 different fruit crisps to try.  Trust me, you want these!  Here’s how to enter:

  1. Go to the Brothers website and leave me a comment letting me know which flavor fruit crisp you would most like to try.
  2. Post about this contest on your blog and leave me a comment that you did.
  3. Subscribe to my blog, or add me to your blogroll and leave a comment that you did.

I’ll pick a winner next Friday, the 26th.  Good luck!

P.S.  I’m going to pick a winner for the iFitness contest tomorrow!

52 Comments leave one →
  1. greensandjeans permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:07 am

    Those fugi apple ones look fantastic!

  2. February 19, 2010 9:10 am

    I would want to try the white and yellow peach flavor. Yum.

  3. eaternotarunner permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:19 am

    Definitely the asian pear 🙂

  4. February 19, 2010 9:47 am

    I want to try the peach… because it’s the only flavor I’ve never tried! I love this stuff. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  5. February 19, 2010 10:53 am

    PEACHES for sure.

    p.s. im gonna be nitpicky and point out to the company that the picture on the Asian Pear box, is actually a Bartlett Pear. Sorry that’s what happens when you work for fruit farmers during the fall season.

  6. February 19, 2010 10:53 am

    you are definitely on my blogroll.

  7. February 19, 2010 11:13 am

    Yum!!! Apple is always a must have for me!

  8. February 19, 2010 11:14 am

    And you are on my blog roll =)

  9. Marci permalink
    February 19, 2010 11:24 am

    Strawberry banana!

  10. February 19, 2010 11:30 am

    I LOVE freeze-dried fruit, especially Strawberries and Bananas, so that would be my pick!

  11. February 19, 2010 11:31 am

    And I’m already subscribed to your blog 🙂

  12. Kate permalink
    February 19, 2010 11:42 am

    I’d love to try the banana!

  13. Kate permalink
    February 19, 2010 11:45 am

    I am already a follower of your blog!

  14. February 19, 2010 11:53 am

    Oh that pineapple looks so good. My second would be the pear.

  15. February 19, 2010 11:53 am

    And you are on my blog roll

  16. February 19, 2010 1:01 pm

    Hi I just found your blog.
    The Asian Pear sound super yummy to me; I grew up in Japan, and pears were one of my favorite fruits in the summer!

  17. February 19, 2010 1:39 pm

    White and yellow peach sounds good

  18. February 19, 2010 1:39 pm

    yellow peach baby!

  19. February 19, 2010 1:40 pm

    blogrolled!

  20. AnAppleADay permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:10 pm

    i love apple one!!!!

  21. AnAppleADay permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    i’ve subscribed to your blog. you’re on my blogroll and google reader!

  22. BETH permalink
    February 19, 2010 4:27 pm

    I’d love to try their Peaches flavor!

  23. February 19, 2010 4:37 pm

    I’d love to try the pineapple flavor! 🙂

  24. February 19, 2010 6:34 pm

    Hi chica!! these dried fruit snacks are sooooo yummy!! I haven’t had the strawberry banana yet…so that would be the one i’d choose! I hope you’re having a great friday! xoxo!

  25. February 19, 2010 8:41 pm

    Hey Morgan! Those Brothers fruit crisps sound really good. I would love to try the Asian Pear. Why? Because I love pears and I’m Asian. Hahahaha! No, really…I do love Asian pears! Thanks!

  26. February 20, 2010 12:07 am

    Another vote for Pear!

    I linked ya back and your on my blogroll 🙂

  27. February 20, 2010 1:04 am

    id love to try the tater crisps!

  28. February 20, 2010 2:11 pm

    I linked back.

  29. February 20, 2010 2:11 pm

    I want to try the pears! I LOVE asian pears.

  30. February 20, 2010 9:31 pm

    I’d like to try the banana dried fruit. I love dried banana.

  31. Daria permalink
    February 21, 2010 6:20 pm

    I would love to try the strawberry/banana ones!

  32. February 23, 2010 1:18 am

    I’d like to try the peach ones, and I know my husband would love to try the pineapple ones.

  33. February 23, 2010 9:23 pm

    Peaches or apples! I linked back on my site! I also am a subscriber:)

  34. February 24, 2010 10:09 am

    ooh, the pineapple ones sound SO good!

  35. February 24, 2010 1:53 pm

    The asian pear looks the best to me, proabbly because I have never even imagined it in crispy snack form! Awesome giveaway by the way!

  36. February 24, 2010 1:54 pm

    I have subscribed to your blog!

  37. Morgan (from 02) permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:29 pm

    Hello, my name is Morgan too!

    I would like to try the apple chips!

  38. Morgan (from 02) permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:29 pm

    added you to my blog roll!

  39. February 26, 2010 10:22 am

    Pineapple and/or peach sound delicious. They all do, really.

  40. February 26, 2010 10:45 am

    How did I miss this? I hope I’m not too late! I would love the pineapple. I love me some pineapple. Or apple. Gah I can’t decide!

  41. February 26, 2010 10:46 am

    And I am already subscribed to your site. That’s why I can’t figure out how I missed this!

  42. Gina permalink
    February 27, 2010 2:27 pm

    Pineapple!
    🙂

  43. Gina permalink
    February 27, 2010 2:28 pm

    You’re on my Reader!

Trackbacks

  1. She’s just a smart girl with red boots « Simply Shaka
  2. Sweet Potato Black Bean Burritos « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. Goodmorning and…my first GIVEAWAY (Chobani) « Living in the Kitchen, Gym and Mall
  4. Carlo’s « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  5. Mail and Inspiration « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  6. Enlightenment | Healthy Chow
  7. Michael Pollan « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

