Skip to content

Sweet Potato Black Bean Burritos

February 20, 2010

Just like almost everyone I know, I love sweet potatoes.  Always have, always will. 

This meal has been a staple in our house for a few years at this point.  I usually have everything on hand, it’s filling and easy to make.  I think I had heard of sweet potato black bean burritos, but I’m not sure.  This was one of those random things I started to crave, even though I had never eaten them.  

This is also something I have made at my parents’ house on several occasions, which my vegetable hating father happily eats (with lots of cheese).

I honestly could not tell you where I found this recipe, since I found it so long ago, and since have it committed to memory.  If this looks familiar, let me know, so I can give credit where credit is due!

First, dice up an onion.

DSC04314

Sauté it in vegetable oil over medium heat for a few minutes, until they start to get translucent. 

DSC04318

While this is going on, take two gigantic sweet potatoes.

DSC04315

Strip them!

DSC04316

Dice them!
  DSC04317

Add your diced sweet potatoes to your onions and cover the skillet.  Every couple of minutes I like to add some water and stir everything up, to keep the onions and potatoes from sticking.
 

DSC04319

Once your potatoes have gotten soft, add a can of rinsed, drained black beans, 1 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. salt.
 

DSC04320

DSC04321

That my dears, is it.  A simple healthy meal, super duper fast. 

You could pulverize it if you like, but you know me, and my need for texture!

The leftovers are also amazing made into soup in the blender with a little broth.

Even though this is a burrito filling, I usually just have it without the tortilla or cheese.  I just don’t feel like they are necessary.  Obviously I douse what I do have with Frank’s or Tapatio.  ‘Cuz that’s how I roll.

 DSC04325

What’s your favorite burrito filling?  Are you a fan of burrito places like Moe’s and Chipotle?

I LOVE them, especially Moe’s.  They have tofu, which makes my day every time.  Plus I love their salsa bar.  I want one at home.

Check out my Brothers giveaway!

Tricia is having an awesome giveaway from runningskirts.com!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 9:38 am

    I’ve never cooked sweet pots on the stovetop before but this looks great (I too, need texture and can’t be slurping up my meal).

    I could live at Chipotle, Moe’s or Qdoba if my wallet (and waistline) permitted. I usually go with black beans, rice, cheese,onions cheese, sour cream, guac, cheese…I may have a slight problem with cheese if ya can’t tell!

  2. February 20, 2010 9:53 am

    Those sound great 🙂 Anything with sweet potatoes is great in my book.

    I love burritos- I’ve never been to Moe’s or Chipotle, but a new similar place recently opened up near me so it’s on the cards!

  3. February 20, 2010 9:59 am

    Why have I never made SP and BB burritos?? I know I would LOVE them!! I love burritos with lots of grilled veggies and guacamole inside. So delicious!!

  4. February 20, 2010 10:55 am

    Oh wow! These look great. I’m not much of a burrito girl, but I’m making these fo’ sho!

  5. February 20, 2010 11:18 am

    I like the insides of Burritos but always make a huge mess if I try to eat them in a tortilla. I like Moe’s and we also have a place called WIlly’s that’s really good too. I really like the tomatillo salsa at both places.

  6. February 20, 2010 1:26 pm

    mmm that looks so good!

  7. February 20, 2010 2:02 pm

    This is so funny. Ok, these look really good and I have been talking burritos all day since I found a recipe this morning for a pumpkin filled burrito in a vegetarian cook book. Yummy!

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 20, 2010 3:23 pm

    wow- this is creative and sounds so delicious!!! i just love the typical burrito- chipotle with rice, chicken, guac, tomatoes and lettuce is amazing ❤

    xoxoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. February 20, 2010 9:43 pm

    I had no idea Moes had tofu burritos?? Oh my gosh that rocks, but stinks because back home we had Moes but now where I live I have not seen any!

    My fiance LOVES chipotle!!!!

    I love burritos, I really love tofu ones and ones with tons of veggies!!!!

    Yours look amazing!!

    Um yeah Evan is hot!!! I likey him too!!

    xoxo Thanks for entering my giveaway!!

  10. February 20, 2010 10:58 pm

    that looks SO good morgan! than kyou for the step by step even with the pics! it looks awesomeeee

    I have never been to chipotel can you believe that!? I do like mexican though but fajitas are my fav and I know they are just known for their burritos! but I do want to try it soon

  11. February 20, 2010 11:01 pm

    those look sooo good girl! i had a wrap w. sweet taters today and I LOVED IT!

  12. February 21, 2010 1:42 am

    girl your sweet tater cubes are like perfect. they are like little perfect dice. i love that as i am a neat chef too 🙂

    xoxo

  13. February 21, 2010 1:09 pm

    I’ve made that recipe before! It was really good! To me the sweet potato almost tasted like refried beans… So it just tasted like a bean burrito but so much healthier! I LOOOVE Moe’s! I like how you can pretty much make your own burrito 🙂

  14. February 21, 2010 6:22 pm

    Sweet potatoes and black beans is an awesome combo. I don’t love Moe’s or Chipotle. I usually end up with a stomach ache. But I will eat there every once in a blue moon. I much prefer to make my one burritos. They are much healthier!

  15. February 21, 2010 8:25 pm

    I am not a Chipotle fan. Luckily we have a few small burrito shops nearby. This filling looks incredible and I can see it being a topping for salad or even in a soup. Yum!

  16. February 21, 2010 9:18 pm

    Yum! That burrito looks fantastic!

    I love black beans in my burrito most! mmm mmm!

  17. greensandjeans permalink
    February 21, 2010 10:59 pm

    I have made these before and they are AWESOME!

  18. February 22, 2010 11:40 am

    I don’t think we have Moe’s here in Vegas. I do like Chipotle and I will treat myself once and a while.
    The combo of flavors sounds really neat. I’m gonna have to try that out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

