Skip to content

Horizon Organic CHOCOLATE MILK GIVEAWAY!

March 5, 2010

Thank you so much for all of your support and positive words about my OpenSky store!  I can’t wait for the grand opening, I’m so excited about this!

Sometimes I think that I’m secretly a little kid.  I mean, I laugh at fart jokes, collect toys (rubber duckies to be exact), and like to put ketchup on everything.  I also really, really like chocolate milk.

I recently received coupons to try out Horizon’s lowfat chocolate milk with DHA Omega-3.

Print
In addition to being calcium rich, this milk has DHA Omega-3 which supports heart, brain and eye health.  If I can drink something delicious and get those benefits, why wouldn’t I?

Here are some interesting DHA facts from Horizon:

DHA belongs to a category of healthy fatty acids known as Omega-3’s. Found
in high concentrations in the tissues of the brain and eye, DHA Omega-3 is
thought to help support healthy function in these areas. DHA has also been
shown to help support heart health.

  • DHA provides a nutritional boost for children’s growing minds and bodies.
    Children’s brains grow incredibly fast. In fact, the brain nearly quadruples
    in the first five years of life.
  • DHA is a key structural component of the brain, yet many young children
    don’t get their recommended daily amount of DHA as it is found in a limited
    number of food sources.

Horizon Organic Milk Plus DHA Omega-3 is fortified with a natural, 100 percent vegetarian and sustainable source of DHA – a safe, wholesome, delicious way to bring more of this important nutrient into your family’s diet.

In addition to DHA, chocolate milk is great for post-exercise recovery!  There is a natural carbohydrate to protein ratio which improves endurance performance.  Consuming this ration helps enhance muscle glycogen formation, promote a hormonal environment that encourages muscle growth, promotes muscle protein production and may lessen immune-suppressive effects due of intense exercise.

In addition to all of these great benefits, it’s absolutely delicious!  Rich and creamy, you would never know this is reduced fat milk!  The chocolate is perfectly balanced and it tastes like chocolate milk should (not like those yucky bottles of sugary junk!)

Want to try some for yourself?  Horizon has offered 2 readers 4 coupons each.  Each winner will get 2 coupons for a free half gallon of Horizon Organic lowfat chocolate milk with DHA Omega-3 and 2 coupons for $1 off the same milk!

Here’s how to enter:

  1. Leave me a comment with something you learned about DHA Omega-3 from the Horizon website.
  2. Post about this contest on your blog and leave me a comment that you did.

That’s it!  Good luck!  I’ll pick two winners on March 10!  Good luck my friends!

HO_HG_ChocDHA_Fed_RF_1009

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 9:45 am

    I had no idea DHA exists in breast milk!!! YAY cool giveaway!! I haven’t had chocolate milk since college. hahha 😛 (My childhood days…*sigh*)

  2. March 5, 2010 11:32 am

    haha i didn’t even know what DHA was until I read this. Love that it supports a healthy brain, who wouldn’t want that?

  3. March 5, 2010 12:05 pm

    I am not even kidding, I can;t get the website to open. The link is good, I can tell, but the website is unhappy on my Mac I think. Hmmm, so weird. But I have seen this product before. Good for kids who are super picky and like choc milk.

  4. March 5, 2010 2:16 pm

    I love how they point out the importance of DHA for growing children and during pregnancy. Any surprise that’s the fact I love most? 😀 I know I’ll breastfeed my next wee one for this reason, well one of the many reasons but it is an improtant one!

  5. March 5, 2010 2:34 pm

    I learned that kids need to find alternate sources for DHA since fish intake should be limited to 3 times a week due to potential mercury poisoning

  6. March 5, 2010 3:33 pm

    I love this chocolate milk! I learned that research is being done to see if a lack of DHA may contribute to certain behavioral and mood disorders in adults. Very interesting….and fingers crossed I win 🙂

  7. Kate permalink
    March 5, 2010 4:28 pm

    I learned that scientists are researching the possibility that a lack of DHA may contribute to certain behavioral and mood disorders affecting adults!

  8. March 5, 2010 8:44 pm

    I learned that a typical 3 year old needs about 150 mg of DHA a day. Wow! Please enter me in this giveaway:) Thanks!

  9. March 5, 2010 9:16 pm

    Great Blog!! I don’t know if I can “apply” for the giveaway because I live in Canada…:(…

    But I just wanted to say I like your “About” section…I too am 28 and trying to figure out who the hell I am and want I want to do with my life….so far, no luck…and running out of time as I seriously am just not happy in my job and want OUT…

  10. Emily permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:33 pm

    I learned that DHA occurs naturally in breast milk. Thanks for the giveaway!

  11. March 6, 2010 12:49 am

    Sweet giveaway! I learned that getting adequate DHA can be a challenge as children transition to solid food – good to know!

  12. Carolsue permalink
    March 6, 2010 3:14 am

    DHA) is a type of Omega-3 fatty acid, a nutrient that has been studied extensively in connection with heart, brain and eye health.
    digicat{AT}sbcglobal{DOT}net

  13. Carolsue permalink
    March 6, 2010 3:16 am

    I posted your contest on my Blog
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/2008/10/contests-from-our-bloggy-friends.html
    digicat{at}sbcglobal{dot}net

  14. March 6, 2010 6:51 am

    Morgan so glad you enjoyed the post!! Thanks for having Rufio a part of it!! love u!!! xoxo

  15. March 6, 2010 12:43 pm

    Chocolate Milk is a favorite of my girls. They love the Horizon to go boxes. They are so good 🙂

  16. Derk Thomas permalink
    March 6, 2010 11:10 pm

    Helps your brain, heart and eyes that makes it a big deal.

  17. March 8, 2010 12:58 pm

    I learned that DHA omega-3’s are really important in mood and behavior stability and benefit all ages! This is a great giveaway. And a good learning opportunity, too!

  18. kayla permalink
    March 10, 2010 3:21 am

    i learned that Horizon milk is made with an organic AND vegetarian source of DHA and that it’s been shown to promote a healthy heart!

Trackbacks

  1. Exciting Schedule of Events
  2. Surprise Guest « Food Makes Fun Fuel
  3. Just For a Laugh « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  4. My Favorite Minestrone « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

