Skip to content

Happy Birthday Mama J!

April 1, 2010
tags: ,

Today is my mom’s birthday!  I was lucky and got to spend most of last week with her, but obviously can’t drive to NJ for the day, so I wanted to wish her a happy birthday here, and share some fun facts about my mom!

  1. My mom is one of the most amazing knitters/needlepointers/bead workers I have ever met.  She makes such amazing creations from sweaters to pillows, to the purse I carried on my wedding day.  She also has made purses for some friends and family members.  Each is unique and beautiful.
  2. My mom has the most crazy allergies-wheat, beef, lamb, eggs, almonds, cheddar cheese, green peppers, grapes.  Weird, right?  It has forced her to get quite creative with food!
  3. She taught herself how to cook and bake all on her own, and she’s really good at it.  When she married my dad, she could hardly boil water.
  4. There are some things my family will tease her about forever (like hot popcorn).  She has resigned herself to this and deals with it.  It’s still funny.
  5. She was a mathlete in high school.  She also graduated in 3 1/2 years and then graduated college in 3 1/2 years.
  6. The day my mom got her driver’s license my grandmother made her drive from Brooklyn (where they lived) to Manhattan.  No wonder my mom is such an aggressive driver.
  7. She treats all of my friends and my brother’s friends like they are her own children.  She’s been known to buy foods that our friends like, just so they can enjoy them at her house.
  8. My mom used to go out rollerblading all the time.  One time she fell and broke her arm, and instead of going to someone’s house and asking for help like a normal person, she took off her rollerblades and walked a mile home in her socks, then went to the hospital.  I actually get that refusal to ask for help trait from her.
  9. She has a bizarre sense of humor and names all of her cars something weird.  Her current car is named Sylvester b/c it’s silver, her last car was red and named Jersey Tomato, and her old Nissan Quest was named Don Quixote.  I shouldn’t just though, I do the same thing (my Rav 4 is named the Honorable Rabbi Kilroy of Gryffindor).
  10. She always says yes to mine and my brother’s weird requests.  For example, when I was younger I wanted a chicken parmesan ice cream sundae.  She made it and I ate a bite and was disgusted.  Or the time she shared circus peanuts with me (those nasty orange things) and called it dinner.  Her logic is we’ll only learn by trying.

downloadHappy birthday mom, love you!

Oh, she also chalks up her weird sense of humor to being born on April Fool’s Day, and has pulled many a prank in her time.  What’s one of your favorite April Fool’s Day jokes?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:46 am

    Happy Birthday to your mom! I love that she walked home in socks from the roller rink — that is definitely something that I would do. And driving from Brooklyn to Manhattan — that is totally insane! My biggest fear is driving in the city 🙂

    I am lame and don’t have any good April Fool’s Day pranks. Maybe I can change that this year 😉

  2. April 1, 2010 7:48 am

    My favorite April Fools joke is telling everyone it’s my mom’s birthday 😉
    JK And happy birthday to her!

  3. abbynormally permalink
    April 1, 2010 7:54 am

    Happy Birthday, Mama J!

    Your mom sounds AMAZING, Morgan!!! Moms are totally the coolest people on the earth!

  4. April 1, 2010 9:29 am

    Happy Birthday to your MOM! 🙂 I love that she taught herself to cook!

  5. April 1, 2010 9:49 am

    Awww so cute, love the pic!

  6. April 1, 2010 9:50 am

    Happy Birthday Mama J!

  7. April 1, 2010 10:21 am

    aww, sounds like an awesome mom!!!

    happy bday mama j!

  8. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    April 1, 2010 11:05 am

    Happy Birthday to your mom! She sounds like an incredible lady!

Leave a Reply

