Skip to content

Not This Year (+ a GIVEAWAY!!)

April 8, 2010

Last December on a whim, I decided to enter my name into the lottery for the NYC Marathon.  I was just really starting to love running, and figured it was worth a shot.  If I didn’t get in, no biggie and if I did, it would be awesome to do.  So I filled out the form, sent in my small fee and promptly stopped worrying about it. 

When I was younger, I actually didn’t know that running marathons was a sport.  I only thought there was the New York Marathon.  My father ran it, I lived in Jersey so it was semi-local news, and I just generally knew about it.  There’s a poster of the race in my garage (my dad hangs posters and all of his race numbers in there.  My race numbers too).  It was something I always thought would be cool to do, but didn’t ever really appreciate what it was. 

Just look at that sea of people.  How cool would it be to be a part of THAT?

Anyway, once I came to Boston, that was a whole different world of marathons.  I loved watching it every year, some years on TV, but most years right on Beacon St. cheering everyone along (sometimes a little drunk too).  I’ve ran a few miles of it too, and so has Solomon.  We have both joined friends for part of it, just to keep their spirits up.  I know one day that I’ll do Boston, but it’s more than likely that I’ll end up doing Boston with a charity, as I don’t know if I’ll ever qualify.

So why am I blabbing on and on about marathons?  I found out yesterday that I was ACCEPTED to run the New York Marathon.  Awesome, right?!?!  Well, yes and no.  It’s awesome because I have the chance to run the New York Marathon, something I always wanted to do!  Not so awesome because it’s exactly one month after my due date, and just not going to happen.  I haven’t gotten any official word yet (I am sure I will get an email and race information), and found out by logging onto their website.  I’m actually really excited I was selected, and hope I will be able to defer until next year.  I am not sure what the policy is about this, but that would be one hell of an incentive to get back into shape!

Since I’m a little bummed out, I thought that maybe I should do something to cheer myself up.  Something that always makes me happy?  GIVING!

As you know, I’ve teamed up with Open Sky to share with you some products I love and truly believe in.  Open Sky seeks to make shopping a much more personal experience by having vendors that you can relate to sharing real products they think are best.  I know some people have not such positive opinions, but I think Open Sky is a fabulous concept, and I’m very proud to be a part of it. 

It’s no secret that I love, love, love my crockpot.  I love it so much that I even broke one of my own rules to use it.  Before we got married, we got a lot of gifts, and Solomon and I (being superstitious) did not think we should use any of them until after the wedding).  I had to break the rule for the crockpot.  I had wanted one so bad, and when our friend Benjie got it for us, I just couldn’t wait to use it.  Believe it or not, the first thing I ever made in it was a tortilla chip meatloaf.  It was awesome.  If I still ate meat, I would eat it again in a heartbeat.  Since that first time, the crockpot has become a must have in our kitchen.  I love it because it makes the house smell great, makes flavorful, healthy, delicious meals and is fairly easy to clean.  Take a look at some of the things I’ve made:

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…everyone needs a crockpot!  Don’t have one?  Well, here’s your chance!

rival Want a chance to win your own crockpot?  Simply click here for your chance to win a Rival Crockpot and Little Dipper (perfect for dips and fondue)!  Open Sky will randomly select one winner, who will be notified by email.  Everyone else will receive a 10% coupon for my Shop that will expire in a week.  Good luck and happy shopping!

Already have a crockpot?  Win it for a friend, just click here!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 8:10 am

    Congratulations on being accepted, even if you can’t do it!

    My mom threw out her crockpot a few years ago. I was extremely displeased. :p

    ❤ ❤

  2. April 8, 2010 8:26 am

    Hopefully you can defer, that would be awesome!

  3. April 8, 2010 8:50 am

    Congrats on getting it, and I think you have a great reason for not being able to run it. 🙂

  4. April 8, 2010 9:57 am

    wow, congrats for getting in. i hope you can defer. ive actually been looking into putting my name in…

  5. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    April 8, 2010 11:07 am

    I hope you can defer! You’ll be one hot mama running across that finish line in a year!

  6. April 8, 2010 11:31 am

    Oh bummer! But I agree that would be awesome to be able to defer and have something to motivate you for after the baby.

  7. April 8, 2010 2:42 pm

    Congratulations on being accepted, I can understand why you’re disappointed to have to defer. But, if they do let you, imagine how much better it will be having your baby there to watch you cross the finish line!

  8. April 8, 2010 6:54 pm

    Congrats! I actually got in too…I’m excited 🙂 I actually think I saw on the NYC Marathon website that you can defer to the next year…so hopefully you can! 🙂

  9. April 8, 2010 10:19 pm

    How neat that you got chosen! That would be neat if you could defer it. Good luck.
    I LOVE my crock pot. So easy!

  10. April 8, 2010 11:04 pm

    I think if you explain to them the situation, even if they have a policy against this, I would figure this counts as some sort of extenuating circumstance and that someone would totally understand you will have just give birth. I hope it works out.

  11. April 9, 2010 12:06 am

    CONGRATS on NYC!! I really hope they let you defer. That photo of the start line is insane 🙂

  12. April 9, 2010 7:01 am

    Congrats on being accepted, hopefully they will let you defer!
    I love the photo of the NYC start, that’s crazy. Growing up (and still now) I always assumed I’d run Boston someday too.. definitely with a charity.

  13. April 12, 2010 7:51 pm

    congrats on getting accepted! You will definitely have to do in the future. and that picture blows my mind witha ll the people!

Trackbacks

  1. Half Marathon Take 2 « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

