Skip to content

Peaches ‘n Cream Complexion

April 15, 2010

I wish I had one of those peaches ‘n cream complexions.  You know, the perfect, flawless smooth skin that some people are just blessed with.  My skin isn’t awful, but it’s far from peachy.  I have combination skin which can be pretty inconsistent.  Sometimes I break out a ton (like now), sometimes I don’t have a blemish at all.  My skin is pretty smooth too, and the roughness is nothing a little exfoliator can’t fix (but not everyday).  My choice?

I’ve tried my share of everything.  Drugstore stuff, prescription stuff, kits…you name it.  These all tend to work for a short amount of time, but in the end, my skin seems to kind of revert back to how it was.  Right now I’m using this:

I’m also using a moisturizer with it.  It was working, but now my skin is so dry (well, that’s head to toe…so dry!).  I’m breaking out like a middle schooler all over again!  Speaking of which, when I was in middle school I started using the Clinique 3-Step program.  It worked, then it stopped.  I’ve started and stopped using it several times throughout the years, but swear by the moisturizer. 

Retin-A.  Another fail.  I thought going to a dermatologist would solve everything, but really Retin-A didn’t do much to change things.  Yuck. 

Proactiv was just a waste for me.  It worked for like 2 weeks then quit on me.  Plus, their commercials are really annoying anyway. 

Now, I’m considering this, but I wanted to ask for your advice.  I did some research and got some mixed opinions, but I wanted to check with the blogosphere.  Has anyone tried Skin ID?  Likes?  Dislikes?  Worth it?

In the alternative, I would actually prefer to switch to an all natural skin care program.  I’d love to know what I’m putting on my face.  I won’t eat things with ingredients I can’t pronounce, maybe I should treat my face the same way?

So what’s your skin care routine?  What kind of skin do you have?  What do you recommend?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 7:56 am

    While pregnant be careful what you use. You aren’t supposed to use any Retinol or Sycilic Acid (spelling?). I think I just used some of that Apricot scrub and a basic gentle cleanser while pregnant. Sorry I’m not more help.

  2. Gwen permalink
    April 15, 2010 9:16 am

    One thing I learned the hard way in my mid-20s was that you can break out from your skin being too dry. I kept trying more and more acne products, to no avail, until my wise friend Amie stepped in. I switched to a daily moisturizer for sensitive skin and a moisturizing cleanser, and it was amazing — since then, I almost never break out.

    I currently use an all natural moisturizer from an amazing shop here in Philadelphia that makes all their own products. (They also have the best shampoo and conditioner I’ve ever used, hands down – you can check them out online if you’re interested: http://www.durossandlangel.com/).

    Have you tried the Yes to Carrots brand? They’re all-natural and I really like their moisturizer as well, and as a bonus they’re widely available at places like Target and Safeway.

  3. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    April 15, 2010 11:32 am

    My skin sounds a lot like yours. Sometimes it’s rockin, sometimes it’s not so much. My brother uses that SkinID stuff and he seems to like it! Right now I use Philosophy face wash, an oil free lotion with spf (gotta love that Arizona sunshine), and benzoyl spot treatment. I also use a clay mask probably once a week.

  4. April 15, 2010 12:04 pm

    I am using another Rodan and Fields product, Unblemish, and it has worked wonders for me. It took almost 2 months to see results, but the results have stayed and I love it! Consider trying it. It’s expensive but worth it, and I cna hook you up with a consultant if you are interested in trying it out. I have struggled with my skin for years, and honestly it is so odd to see pretty clear skin!

  5. April 15, 2010 6:49 pm

    I am so bad. I don’t do anything. I am sure I should, but my skin was really fine until recently. I think Vegas dried everything out.

  6. April 15, 2010 8:27 pm

    I use Cetaphil. It seems to work well for me, I’ve been using it for a while. I don’t really think about my face that much, I feel like maybe I should be doing more for it, hydrating, and protecting it for the future.. but I don’t know where to start.

  7. April 17, 2010 1:26 am

    Morgan, I have similar issues – I break out one week, then I’m dry the next. I actually always have had great luck with Proactiv but make it a goal to never use it more than a month at a time – usually I use it for like two weeks twice a year, but I have not used it since right before our wedding in Sept 2008.
    Lately, I have been really dry, and I also prefer natural products.
    I use Burt’s Bees Radiance Daily Cleanser most days. Like once a week I use St Ives Timeless Skin Daily Microdermabrasian (but it is NOT daily for me) and then I use Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Moisturizer at night. For day I use a Boot’s brand natural day moisturizer with SPF. I think the two things that have really helped are 1. I only wash at night unless my face is super greasy, or if I work out and REALLY sweat – but as long as I shower right after working out, I think lots of lukewarm water is just as good. 2. I avoid any face soap with sodium laurel or laureth sulfates (sp?).
    Check out the Burts Bees stuff – it is pretty good. That said, you’re pregnant…probably with all the hormone changes as soon as you find something that works your hormones will change and so will your skin!! So happy for you guys, by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

