Skip to content

BBQ Chick-Un Pizza

April 20, 2010

It’s no secret that we love our homemade pizza here.  Almost every week Solomon and I come up with some kind of pizza to make.  Sometimes they are creative, sometimes not so much.  A lot of times they are totally inspired by restaurant pizza.

The other night we decided we were going to have pizza, but didn’t plan so far ahead to decide what exactly was going to go on the pizza.  Neither of us was feeling the typical veggie pizza, and we wanted something we had never tried before.  While we were out for a walk with Rufio (the dough did have to rise after all) Solomon started talking about BBQ chicken pizza.  Well, of course that wasn’t going to happen in our house, because we keep kosher and I’m vegetarian, but I was intrigued by the idea.  We decided to try and make our own BBQ pizza sans chicken (hence the name of the post-totally inspired by ED&BV).  The only problem is that we didn’t have any BBQ sauce on hand (I don’t think we ever have!).  As soon as we got home I went to my go to guy and whipped together a super speedy, super yummy BBQ sauce

I combined (roughly-I didn’t measure anything): 2 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup red wine (the alcohol cooks out, OK for a pregnant lady!), 1/4 cup rice vinegar, tbsp. Worcestershire, tbsp. chili powder, tbsp, minced onion, clove minced garlic and some salt and pepper.  I just combined it all and let it cook on medium for about 10 minutes, then let it simmer while I did some other things in the kitchen.

DSC05052

I baked the dough first.  I’ve started to sprinkle some EVOO, salt, pepper and minced garlic on the dough before I cook it.  It gives it such a great flavor.  Once the dough came out of the over the first time, I covered the dough with a thin layer of BBQ sauce (that stuff is potent).  Actually, I think next time we make pizza it will be an actual barbecued pizza…it is grilling season after all!
DSC05054

While the sauce was cooking, I grated up what was left of the romano cheese from the other week.  

DSC05053

Cheese sprinkled on top, followed by about 1/3 red onion diced (that’s all that was left), a few sprinkles of oregano and a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes.  I also grated some fresh parmesan on top.

DSC05055

Into a 450* oven for about 13 minutes…

DSC05056

A little burnt looking.  This is when I started to worry!

DSC05057

No need to worry.  This pizza got the “Solomon eye roll of approval.”  It was packed with flavor and lots of great texture.  We each had 2 slices,  The crust came out a little thinner and crispier than normal, which was perfect for this pizza.  LOVED IT.

I also threw together a quick salad of romaine, carrots, green bell peppers, red bell peppers, tomatoes and cukes, which I enjoyed without dressing on the side.  I actually tend to prefer my salad without dressing.  If I do use dressing, it’s usually just plain balsamic vinegar or some fresh lemon juice.  Call me boring, whatever!
DSC05058

Definitely making this one again, but hopefully on the grill next time!

Are you excited for grilling this summer?  What’s your favorite thing to grill?
Do you like salad dressing or not so much like me?  What’s your favorite?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:43 am

    My favorite thing to grill is easily burgers!
    And I’m not a salad dressing fan, although Foods Alive’s hemp oil dressing is really good

  2. April 20, 2010 9:36 am

    That pizza looks awesome! I love to grill but we don’t have anywhere to grill in our little apartment. And I’m not a salad dressing fan! I like it dry haha

  3. April 20, 2010 9:59 am

    That pizza looks awesome! I love grilling – I really love grilling fruit!

  4. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:58 am

    I’m coming over for your next pizza night! I loooove grilling. Veggies on the grill are pretty hard to beat!

  5. April 20, 2010 12:23 pm

    The pizza looks great. Pizza that is homemade is the best. I love to grill fish and veggies. We have an outdoor kitchen here and I can;t wait until we are able to use it this summer.

  6. April 20, 2010 1:30 pm

    This looks great! I love BBQ pizzas!
    I love grilling all kinds of veggies. They taste so good on the grill.

  7. April 20, 2010 1:53 pm

    YUM that looks so good! i love grilled anything esp grilled pizza!!

  8. April 20, 2010 3:34 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE BBQ PIZZA, Yummy! =)

  9. April 20, 2010 11:44 pm

    i love grilled pizza

    and grilled corn on the cob! I can’t wait for corn to be in season!

  10. stitchintimesaves9 permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:12 pm

    Hey hi Morgan, I am Niketo and I stumbled upon your blog and I really liked it and trust me I am off to trying this Pizza recipe with my Girlfriend…Thanks I would surely be following your blog…Keep it up girl…

    Do visit my blog http://www.stitchintimesaves9.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

