Skip to content

The Bump and Body Image

May 7, 2010

Happy Friday!  I’m sure you’ve noticed, but I haven’t been blogging nearly as much as before.  Things are INSANE right now, and there are a lot of things, and potential things going on for my little family.  My blog is still important to me, and I hope to all of you, but it’s had to take a bit of a back seat right now.  I’ll let you know when I know things more definitively.  Until then, I hope you stick around through my sporadic posting!

I think Fridays are going to be pregnancy days.  I don’t want to overload this blog with tales of my pregnancy so I think devoting a full post once a week is a good idea.  I’ll also post my weekly belly pics!

There is something I’ve wanted to address, and that’s body image while pregnant.  I’ve always had some problems with body image.  I’m big boned and still have a muscular build from my years as a swimmer.  I’ve never hated my body or had any eating problems, but I’ve always kind of been a yo-yo dieter, and always aware of my body and what I felt was wrong with it.  I actually think it would be pretty amazing to be able to see ourselves through someone else’s eyes, because I think everyone would have a much better sense of self.  Seeing yourself in a mirror and in pictures will never show you how you REALLY look, because you will always see yourself as how you think you are.  It’s kind of rough.

Anyway, in the last few months (pre-pregnancy) my body image started to change a lot, especially as I was running a lot more.  I had lost a lot of weight, and I felt great about myself.  Once I found out I was pregnant, my only immediate concerns were making sure I avoided the wine, and staying away from any foods I shouldn’t eat.  I continued to work out the same way, because the doctor said it was fine, so I figured why mess with a good thing?

Within a few weeks of my pregnancy I started noticing a lot of changes.  As you all know, I had to stop running, because my body was rejecting it.  I also had to start lifting a lot lighter weights, because lifting heavy just didn’t feel good.  I’ve always loved to break a really good sweat, but now working out has become keeping myself and the baby healthy, I thought for sure that doing less intense workouts would make me feel awful about myself, but that’s not the case.  My mindset has shifted entirely and I think it’s pretty cool. 

I want to keep fit and healthy, but my priorities are all different.  Even though I’ve always had a little pooch, now I have a full on belly, and I love it!  In fact, I worry that it’s not big enough.  Just like pre-pregnancy, I do find myself comparing my body to other pregnant women, and I worry my bump is too small!  I got so upset at the doctor’s office to learn that I’ve only gained 5 pounds as of 17 1/2 weeks (at my last checkup 4 1/2 weeks ago I had only gained one pound).  I’ve always been upset if I’d gained too much, but suddenly I want to gain more?!?!  Only a baby could do that to me.  Don’t worry though, everything is OK!  My baby is doing well, and even though I haven’t gained much, my doctor is not concerned.  The nurse suggested the little weight gain may be attributed to the fact that I have maintained an active lifestyle, and continued to eat fairly healthy (save for the occasional splurge!).

I’ve also just gotten to the point of actually needing to wear maternity clothes, though plenty of my regular clothes still fit.  I’m sort of still in that in between stage, but almost fully in maternity clothes.  2 great products really helped me get through the “in between” stage.  First was the tummy sleeve which is a great little piece of stretchy fabric that can be worn over unbuttoned pants, and used to look like the bottom of a camisole, especially when my shirts began to feel short.  I plan to use this throughout, and then turn it into a tube top post pregnancy (I kid, I kid).

I got a few of these for myself, and I swear, they helped me feel much better about myself!

I also had another product that I was sent to review.  I’m kind of in love with it.  B-Buckles sent me their little pants expander to try out.  I picked out the 3 Hearts one because I thought it was adorable.

3hearts I love that this has let me wear my regular jeans, along with my maternity jeans for a bit longer.  Plus, it’s totally adjustable, which is fantastic.  I always make it a little bigger after dinner :).  Thank you so much B-Buckles, I absolutely love mine.  It’s soft and comfy, and I know I’ll be able to get a lot more use out of my regular jeans!

Now, onto the very most fun part…

Week 18
Baby is now the size of a sweet potato!  It’s about 6.7 oz. and 5.6 inches long.  The fetus is super mobile now, and spends a lot of time yawning, hiccuping, rolling, twisting, kicking, punching, sucking and swallowing.  I’ve even felt some of the movements, but nothing that was obviously a baby.  It’s more that I knew it was the baby because of what I felt kind of, does that make sense? DSC05182How has your body image changed with time?  Do you think you see yourself the way others see you?

Have a fantastic weekend!  Enjoy the weather!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 9:05 am

    I can relate to this post on every level! I went through the same things with my pregnancy. My entire perspective shifted to doing things for health instead of for selfish reasons of wanting to look good or pride in how tough my workout was. And you are right on track with your weigh gain. I was at a 7 lb gain at 20ish weeks and all was very well. You want a big healthy baby. Keep doing what you’re doing!

  2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:41 am

    I have never been pregnant, but I can definitely relate to shifts in body image. In the past few years I have stopped stressing over being a certain size or looking a certain way and focused on how I feel and what my body can do! Maybe it’s just come with growing up a bit, but I think finding a healthy balance in my life has played a huge part

  3. May 7, 2010 11:22 am

    the bump is bigger! aw i love it.

    i can relate on so many levels with you on this post. i truly wish i could see myself through someone elses eyes because i think thatwould change my mind set too. Im not big either and will always have this pooch and always self-conscious, so if for one moment i could see myself differently i think it would make a world of difference.

  4. May 7, 2010 2:22 pm

    beautiful!! wow what great pregnancy contraptions out there! on the ellen show today…the whole audience was pregnant women in honor of mothers day! it was so so cute!!

  5. May 7, 2010 3:32 pm

    I think it’s great that you’re accepting your body’s changes. You should always have a positive outlook on your body image, even when it is different than your “ideal”. As long as you’re healthy, you should be happy 🙂

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 7, 2010 4:54 pm

    that buckle for jeans is cute and a great idea! I’m always evaluating my body image in the mirror and know it’s not healthy since I’m not seeing myself the way others do. Think of how awesome your body is to be capable of what it’s doing and not about how it looks 🙂
    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

  7. May 7, 2010 6:40 pm

    I love hearing how your pregnancy is going, I like the idea of updating us once a week!
    I think my body image has changed over time, and even day to day, depending on my confidence levels basically. As I grow up, I feel myself become more comfortable in my skin and more confident. I’ve never had a low self image, but I’ve noticed a change anyway.
    That’s really interesting about your switch, it makes sense though that that would happen, now you are putting someone else first instead of yourself I suppose : )

  8. May 7, 2010 9:40 pm

    Great post! I enjoyed reading it! I think it is wonderful that you are continuing to eat healthy but are smart to take it easy. Knowing your body carries and helps your baby grow has to change your view on your body. It is more than something to put in a bathing suit. It is nurturing your baby. Congrats on having a great outlook.

  9. May 8, 2010 7:31 pm

    Morgan, hi! Sorry it’s been a bit but you look great! I gained very little weight. Write to me if you want the specifics but at term, I was one of those women who looked like I wasnt even pregnant. Truly a girl that you read about who could have had a baby in the basement and you’d never even known she was preg! I am 5’11”, thin to begin with and had THE MOST HORRIBLE morning sickness for the entire preg. Graphic but suffice to say, at least 10x/day, every day, for 30 weeks I was sick. It was extreme. Skylar was totally healthy at birth, 6 lb 7 oz and I was too. It all worked out, nature knows, dont stress about your size. At all. Some women are big, some arent. And modern times women get way too big in my opinion anyway. our grandmother’s generation they gained 15-20 lbs, our mother’s generation they gained 20-25, now our gen they say 25-35 but many women gain 50+ and look at how c-sec rates have risen over time…food for thought 🙂
    xo

  10. lessonstolearn permalink
    May 9, 2010 5:33 pm

    Hi Morgan 🙂 I just found your blog and I’m so glad I did. I can competely relate to everything you’ve said. I am 2 days shy of 19 weeks, and like you have gained 5 pounds. My tummy isn’t huge, but there is definitely a bump there! It feels so strange because even as I have fought the fat on my thighs and but, my belly has always been flat. Its strange to feel out of control of what your body is doing. But its thrilling to watch as well. We just found out last week we are expecting a baby boy and it makes it all so real! I will definitely be following along now. I am excited to share this adventure with as many as possible!

    I have been posting less on my blog as well as life has become consumed with baby, house buying, and going to school. But it is a great outlet, so I’ll be sticking with it 🙂

  11. May 9, 2010 5:47 pm

    Happy Mothers Day to you son to be mommy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hope you are doing great!!! xoxoxo

  12. robin permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:38 pm

    you look great Morg!! 🙂 We miss you.

Trackbacks

  1. Getting Back to Normal « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

