Skip to content

You Can’t Touch-a the Mango!

May 15, 2010

After his flight was delayed roughly a million times, Solomon finally made it to Boston!  Yeah!  We’re both here until Sunday, then back to M’Ville (meh).  Then next weekend I drive down to NJ for Robin (bro’s girlfriend’s) graduation and a little time in Jerz.  After that Solomon is flying to Philly a week from Thursday and we are driving up to Boston together!  Crazy, right?  We have a wedding (college friend) in Newport, RI that weekend which I’m so excited for.  Also, Solomon’s oldest brother Jonathan and his family are coming in from San Francisco!  We haven’t seen them in awhile, and I finally get to meet my niece Vivie!

Because we don’t have enough birthdays in May, there’s another one to add to the mix!  Yesterday Adam (Jonathan’s oldest) turned 3!  I can’t believe he’s already 3, he is growing up so darn fast!  He is absolutely adorable, and has the funniest little voice ever.   I don’t want to post any pictures of him, because I wouldn’t post pictures of any children without asking their parents first, and Jonathan and Alla have other things to worry about!  So Happy Birthday Adam!  I love you and can’t wait to see you!

Anyway, so I know that I declared Fridays to be “pregnancy day,” but clearly I missed the boat on that one!  With my other blog being about pregnancy (yes, yes, I’ll get a link up soon) I just wanted to share one little thing that I’ve been nibbling on, since I have the appetite of a truck driver.  Well, not exactly.  I feel like I am constantly eating, but can’t eat a lot at one time.  It’s like I have gone to the mini-meals way of eating without necessarily meaning too.  It’s working pretty well for me!

HOME_BANNER_4.10b Bellybar is nutrition made for pregnant women.  Honestly, being pregnant, one day I’ll be in love with a food, and the next day I can hardly bear to look at it.  It makes me have little panic attacks because I worry I’m not eating right, and getting all of the nutrients I need (yes, I take a prenatal vitamin!).

Bellybar is for before, during and after pregnancy, and provides folic acid, iron, calcium, protein and Omega-3 DHA.  Since the nutrition of a pregnant woman is so important for the growth and development of her baby, it’s crucial to focus on good eating (when your queasy stomach allows for it!) throughout pregnancy.

So far I’ve tried the Chocolate Toffee Crisp and Oat Graham and Almonds and was kind of surprised to like them both!  For bars, these were really flavorful and not overly sweet.  Plus, they were filling which is so important right now.  I find that my giant purse has gotten even heavier, since I am always throwing food in there just in case I get stuck and hungry (cause I always am).  These are perfect for on the go.  Now, I just need to find a place near me to buy some!  Thank you so much Bellybar for my yummy samples!

One final note is to celebrate moms all month long, Bellybar is giving one bottle of their prenatal vitamins to Vitmain Angels to help provide prenatal nutrition to moms and moms to be, for every bottle of prenatal vitamins purchased through their website.  You don’t have to be pregnant, or even thinking about getting pregnant to take prenatal vitamins, so I think this is worth checking out (plus, I’m a big advocate of vitamins-at least taking a daily multi!)

image003

Speaking of nutrition, check out how well I’m doing :).

Week 19
Baby is about 6 inches long from  head to rump and weighs 8.5 oz.  A greasy white substance called vernix caseosa (don’t ask what it’s made of…ew!) coats the baby’s skin, shielding it from amniotic fluid.  Permanent teeth buds are forming behind the milk teeth buds.  Reproductive organs are developing (we’ll find out the gender this week!). Sensory development is reaching it’s peak this week and all of the senses are developing in their own part of the brain.  Pretty busy in there!

I managed to bring my old camera cord to Beantown with me, so I plan to put up belly pics on Monday, even though we took them already!  Just for fun…

The baby is also the size of a large heirloom tomato, but mango makes me smile more since it reminds me of this:

Mango and J.Lo (don’t know why I can’t get the video to embed!)

Anyhoo, I hope that gave you a laugh.  I miss the Chris Kattan/Will Ferrell/Jimmy Fallon SNL days!

Finally, the winner of my Nourish Your Inner Goddess Giveaway is…Madeline!  Congrats hun!  Shoot me an email with your address so I can have BlogSpark and Yoplait send you your gift!

What do you do when you have a lot going on like nonstop travel?  How do you keep yourself relaxed and centered?

What are you up to this beautiful weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 11:18 am

    Hope you are enjoying the beautiful weather in Boston, isn’t it amazing?!

  2. May 16, 2010 12:08 pm

    When I have non stop travel I make sure to bring warm and comfy clothes and a my lap top. Early on in the year before we moved overseas, I think I flew like 20 times (10 trips) for various things and kept changing time zones. Heck, on morning, I took a 6:30 am flight from Chapel Hill NC to Vegas and went straight to work. Totally forgot when I woke up at 4:30 am, this was really my 1:30 am and when I got to work at 10 or so, I was so exhausted. I drank an energy drink and ran around for a few hours before my boss told me that I should probably never try that again and should definitely never drink a Monster again. Oh well, so now I plan an extra day after my travel to relax and adjust to time changes. Have a great (although busy) time.

  3. Jillian Sallee permalink
    May 16, 2010 6:47 pm

    we should get together sometime you are in boston and compare bellies!

  4. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    May 17, 2010 12:40 am

    Siiiiiiiiiiiiiick! I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

