Skip to content

A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

June 2, 2010

First of all, thank you thank you thank you all for your sweet comments about my growing belly!  You all sure know how to make a girl feel good about herself!

Right now, I’m just chilling out here in Boston.  We head to NJ early in the morning, and are just taking some down time.  Solomon and I had a low key dinner at Zaftigs, where I had a killer egg white omelet with cheddar and apples.  Deliciousness.  Speaking of cheddar cheese, I have to send a way overdue thank you to Meghan.  I won her Cabot’s contest awhile back, and have been slowly but surely making my way through some fabulous cheddar cheese.  I definitely need to recreate this omelet at home!

DSC05240 DSC05241 
After dinner, we stopped for some fro-yo at one of those do it yourself soft serve places.  That could be really dangerous around me!

DSC05384

When we were walking around Brookline, we walked past Gap, and I was shocked by what I saw in the window…

gp750224-00p01v01 When, oh when, did overalls come back into style?  Even as a growing pregnant woman, I refuse to consider wearing a pair.  I’m sure they are wicked comfortable, but really?  I just don’t know.  I had a pair in high school I loved, but I feel like everyone was wearing overalls.  It was post Seattle-grunge phase, and didn’t seem so weird.  I don’t know, just not for me now (no offense to anyone who wears overalls)! 

Other than being shocked by trends, it’s been a pretty good visit.  Spending time with the kiddies was so much fun, and I’m even more excited for mine.  Did you know that babies need A LOT of stuff?  They do.  Registering is such a project, but everything is so darn cute!  My sister in law has been a lot of help thankfully.  With 2 kids, she knows what I will probably need!  There is also a lot of stuff at my mother in laws, since she likes to be prepared for her grandkids, so I know what is needed!

Speaking of my mother in law, I brought her a present which quickly turned into a much loved baby toy.  As many of you may know, I keep kosher, so I am always on the lookout for products to make keeping my kitchen clean and organized a little easier.  I found these fantastic little containers that are color coordinated to make keeping kosher simpler.  I received a ton from the company, so I decided to share with my mother in law, because she also keeps kosher, but Charlie seems to really love chewing on the pareve containers and meat tops.  Maybe my own baby will like KosherKeepers too?  I even think that if you don’t keep kosher, these are a great way to keep things separate if, for example, you live with a meat eater and are vegetarian!  I seriously love the matching tops and how bright they are!

gp750224-00p01v01 Hmmm…what else?  Well, my allergies are out of control!  Anyone else having a horrible time with allergies this season?  Yucky!

OK, well, I’m gonna go watch Kendra.  I’m actually a really big fan of hers, I think she’s just ridiculous, and so funny.  I hope I look half as good as she does post baby!

Fake boobage aside, she looks great and curvy, and seems so comfortable in her own skin.  Definitely an inspiration!

One more thing…you know, to make this even more random.  I can’t wait to see my little boy tomorrow (the 4 legged one).  My parents have had him while we were in Boston, since we thought it would be so hectic here, and adding him to the mix was too much.  They love having him, and said he has been crazy as usual, and his typical schnauzer self!

DSC05251 What do you think of overalls?  How do you feel about trendy clothes in general?  Do you keep up with all of the trends, or stick with classics and keep your accessories more trendy?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 9:55 pm

    Haha I wish overalls would come back in style enough for me to actually wear them. I used to LOVE wearing overalls. (hmmm what does that say about me?! ;))

  2. June 3, 2010 4:52 am

    I would love it if overalls came back. I need some comfortable clothes to wear! I still have an old pair packed away…if they actually do come back, I’ll dig them out 🙂

  3. June 3, 2010 6:30 am

    Maybe it was wear I grew up, but overalls were /never/ in style. They seem pointless to me…I mean, I you have to wear a shirt under it anyway, so why not just stick with pants? Why the extra bulk of denim up top?

    As for trends in general, there are reasonable trends and then there are freakish trends. Reasonable would be something like “prints are in this spring.” Unreasonable would be skunk hair (you know, bleached blonde with dark stripes). The two fashion trends I absolutely cannot stand are bad footwear (Crocs, Ugs) and leggings instead of pants. I’ve seen every nook and cranny of more tushes in this town than I care to in a lifetime.

  4. June 3, 2010 9:26 am

    When I was younger I would always say that when I was pregnant I would LIVE in overalls.

    Now I’m thinking not.

    😉

  5. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:44 am

    I still have a pair of overalls that I throw on when I’m running around. I usually wear them rolled up with my vans, so I have myself convinced that they are cute… I would consider my style to be pretty classic with a little funk thrown in there

  6. June 3, 2010 12:36 pm

    oh i love overalls. used to wear them all the time when i was younger. i hope they come back instyle full force so i have an excuse to wear some 🙂

    i like watching kendra too but i have to say holly is always gonna be my fave. we ran into her when we were in vegas in february. shes ridiculously short!

  7. June 3, 2010 12:46 pm

    I love Kendra! She’s hilarious and seems very real.
    Yeah, Im not into overalls—although , they ARE comfy.

  8. June 4, 2010 8:06 am

    The stuff in the Gap right now is hideous! The last time I went there, it was all like paisley flower shirts and stuff. Ew.

    I did used to wear overalls, but I was kind of a hippie in highschool and college.

  9. June 4, 2010 12:25 pm

    I had no idea they were back in style. Interesting. I had some back in high school too. You are right that they are comfy. I love those Kosher containers. My grandmother could have benefited form those. After my grandfather passed away she moved and no longer keeps a kosher kitchen.

  10. June 4, 2010 12:45 pm

    hahah oh man are overalls really coming back!? They were in style when I was like in elementary school. I wore them alll the time! I had a couple favorites haha

Leave a Reply

