Skip to content

Veggie Burgers and Sweet 'Tater Fries

June 7, 2010

Sometimes inspiration doesn’t strike for dinner until right before dinner time.  Sometimes having enough vegetables floating around in the fridge is enough to put together a healthy, hearty meal using leftovers, a few pantry staples and inspiration.  Sometimes those meals don’t work out well and it’s a pizza night, and sometimes they aren’t perfect, but are pretty damn good!

Oh, I’m totally still in New Jersey.  Solomon went back to PA on his own, and suggested I just stay here another week.  Not like I have anything to run back to M’Ville for, other than a doctor’s appointment, which I easily rescheduled.  My mom is going to drive me up over the weekend and help us out with some things.  It just made so much more sense to hang here.  So I cooked dinner for the parentals.  Which is what I threw together tonight.

My parents have taken a liking to mini peppers.  They dip them in hummus, which is an awesome combo.  They have totally changed their eating habits, and eat a whole lot more like I do, so there is always tons of fresh produce and other healthy goodies floating around.  We had decided to use some of these great goodies and produce to make veggie burgers!  First I chopped up 6 mini peppers for crunch and color.

Then half a sweet onion chopped.

And some mushrooms.

I also put 2 cans of beans (kidney and black) into the food processor until they were still a little chunky, but nicely blended.

Easy so far, right.  Well this doesn’t get any harder!  I added the beans to the giant mixing bowl my mom owns along with the veggies, then dug up some leftover brown rice in the fridge from Saturday.

Next went in some spices (salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper), and an egg to bind it all together.

I also managed to rustle up some mixed, frozen veggies from the freezer.  I didn’t measure a thing as usual, just threw in whatever felt right.  Then I got right into that mix with my hands and blended it all together.  I was able to make 6 patties with this mix, not too shabby!

I cooked them in a 350º oven for about a half hour, flipping them once.  I don’t know what I expected, but they pretty much remained soft the whole time.  Texture was meh, taste was good!

Served on top of an Arnold’s sandwich thin!

On the side we had some simple sweet potato fries.

And yummy roasted artichokes (with garlic cloves stuffed in the middle).

Great veggie filled dinner!  Not that I needed more today.  I’ve already had about 3 cups of fruit salad, 1/2 a cantaloupe, and a huge, veggiefied salad, along with little bites of fruit throughout the day!

Do you find that you eat more fruits and veggies when it gets warmer out (even if they are cooked)?

I can’t get enough good produce right now!  My mom keeps saying there is way too much fruit in the house, but I have to let her know not to worry, I’ll happily eat it all!

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:29 pm

    I totally find myself eating more veggies because there is such a better/fresher selection in the stores!

    I have made homemade veggie burgers before…same issue: texture was meh and taste was great. Good thing taste is what matters most! 🙂

  2. June 7, 2010 10:16 pm

    Funky dinner idea but I am diggin it! I love random dinner ideas as they usually turn out the best because of the anticipation I think.

    I loooooove veggies and fruit in the summer time, I definitely eat more since there are more farmers markets open and easier to buy locally at a cheaper price.

  3. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    June 8, 2010 12:37 am

    In the summer all I want are fruits and veggies! Everything else seems too heavy

  4. June 8, 2010 1:16 am

    The burger looks really yummy. The recipe really speaks summer, it’s so fresh and healthy. I can’t wait to try it.

  5. June 8, 2010 5:11 am

    Those look wonderful!

    I hope you have a wonderful week with your parents. They are lucky to have you…especially when you make such yummy dinners. 🙂

  6. June 8, 2010 6:15 am

    Looove roasted artichokes! And yes, I always eat more fruit during the summer! Not really veggies. 🙂

  7. June 8, 2010 7:01 am

    Yep, definitely eat way more fruit during the summer. Those roasted artichokes look really good. I don’t know that I’ve had them roasted before.

  8. June 8, 2010 7:22 am

    I eat more fruits and veggies during the summer because I can actually get to the grocery store more than once a month! During most of winter it’s suicide to drive around unless absolutely necessary, and even potatoes don’t keep well for more than a couple weeks.

  9. June 8, 2010 1:54 pm

    That looks like the perfect meal. I love the colors those peppers gave to the dish. Awesome work!

  10. June 8, 2010 2:27 pm

    I most definitely eat more fruit in the summer! oh, and I love the veggie burger–yummy and creative!

  11. runrettarun permalink
    June 8, 2010 5:04 pm

    I know you said texture was meh but the veggie burger still looks way delish. I am so trying that.

    Congrats on your little man! I have 2 boys – a 4 year old and a 1 year old. They are a handful but oh so fun!

Leave a Reply

