Skip to content

Hi, My Name is Morgan and I'm a Cupcake Addict

June 12, 2010

Just when I think I’m done.  Just when I keep saying that I’m eating so well and healthy during this pregnancy that getting rid of the occasional cupcake won’t kill me, I get sucked back in.

Truthfully, cupcakes have been my one vice during this pregnancy.  Well, the bottom line is, short of making them myself from scratch, once I head back to PA, I won’t be having cupcakes for quite some time.  So I guess it’s OK to enjoy them every now and then, right?  Besides, if I’m on the quest to find the world’s best cupcake, it’s only fair that I give each and every cupcake a fair shot, true?

So the other day, my mom and I decided to head down to Princeton for the day, just to walk around, and maybe do a little shopping.  Plus, they have a Paper Source, which is only the most fun store ever.  My mom had mentioned there was a cupcake shop in town, so of course I was pumped for that as well.  Enter…

House of Cupcakes.  My new favorite house of anything.  Including pancakes.  I wish I knew a little bit more about this shop, like whether they were started by an alum or anything, but I didn’t think to ask, and there’s not a whole lot of information on their website.  I couldn’t believe the variety of cupcakes they had, and we decided to take half a dozen home, and a special pupcake for the little boys to enjoy.

Once I got home with the cupcakes, I decided it would be fun to put them in my pretty new cupcake wrappers from Bella Cupcake Couture.  Bella was created as a way to make cupcakes even more fun-“why should the frosting have all of the limelight?”  They have sweet little cupcake wrappers for every occasion, and I definitely plan to use these in the future for some fun parties I plan to host (1st birthday party, what!).

Vanilla Cake with Vanilla Frosting and Filling and Rainbow Sprinkles.

Dulce De Leche


Kahlua and Coffee: Chocolate Cake with Kahlua  and Coffee Frosting


Oreo: Chocolate Cake with Oreo Frosting. 

Oh, did you know IT’S A BOY!!!

Anyway, we also tried the red velvet and peanut butter cup (chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and peanut butter cup).

Overall, we were all quite impressed with these!  The cakes were yummy, but maybe a little dense.  But the frosting, oh the frosting…so good!  The top of all of the frostings crystallized, and were creamy on the inside.  Plus, the flavors were so good!  I think that their red velvet frosting was the best cream cheese frosting I’ve ever had…and we all know I’ve tried a lot of frosting in my time!  I’ll DEFINITELY be heading back there.  Anyone in the Jersey area should check out House of Cupcakes.  Their cupcakes are pretty, tasty and there is a ton of variety!

Also, if you are wondering about the cupcake wrappers, you can get some here!  Aren’t they so cute?!?!

In addition to our yummy cupcakes, we gave Rufio and So-Crates a few bites of a pupcake to share.



 None of my pictures of the dogs going to town on the pupcake came out well, but let me just say they made really quick work of the quarter they were given to share.  Doggy heaven!

How are you enjoying this weekend?  Has a store pleasantly surprised you lately?

  

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 12:34 pm

    I love cupcakes more than regular cake. Yum

  2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    June 12, 2010 11:36 pm

    Cutest wrappers EVER!

  3. Tori permalink
    June 13, 2010 12:31 am

    Been there, i think they’re pretty good – still prefer Crumbs 🙂 I live only like 15 mins from there- wish i knew you were in the area!

  4. June 13, 2010 7:05 am

    Those look wonderful! I wouldn’t be able to resist either 🙂 For me its ice cream….usually I some degree of willpower, but the pregnant me has no control if ice cream is in the house!

  5. June 13, 2010 10:08 am

    OMG House of Cupcakes? That’s the most fabulous house ever. And I absolutely love the “pupcake”, too cute.

    It is so frickin hot and humid here, I am trying stay inside today. I did pool time yesterday but don’t think I can do it again.

  6. June 14, 2010 6:03 am

    That place looks awesome. Now I want to go there and my husband grew up around princeton, so this is a good thing, cause I wanna try these.

  7. June 15, 2010 11:45 am

    i’ve never had gourmet cupcakes from a bakery, only home made ones or store bought at a party or something. these “fancy” ones always look soooo good!!

Leave a Reply

