Skip to content

24 Weeks-6 Months Along!

June 17, 2010

Well, it’s Thursday.  Mama J is taking off to head back to NJ tomorrow.  Did I tell you guys she was here?  Since I stayed an extra week in NJ, because I had nothing to do here, she drove me back to Meadville and has been here all week.  We did A LOT of things, but it’s a secret for now what was keeping us so busy…I’ll tell you all soon enough!

This is going to be a pregnancy post.  Not a long post, but all pregnancy.  Sorry if you’re not interested, I’ll have some other exciting things to share next week, promise!

After seeing the little boy the other day, it’s just becoming so much  more real.  He looks like a little person in there, it’s just incredible.  I feel him moving around a whole lot, and I love every little kick, thud and roll.  It’s just unreal to me that there’s a teeny, tiny little boy in there.

As far as me, I finally FEEL pregnant.  I have a big belly, and people are starting to very obviously notice!  My hair feels so thick, and I think it’s growing like a weed.  For the first time in my life, my nails aren’t thin and peeling constantly.  They aren’t gorgeous, long and strong, but it’s the nicest they have ever looked!  Unfortunately I’m breaking out a lot, which isn’t so much fun, but nothing a little tinted moisturizer and concealer can’t help!  My eyes are itchy a lot, which is kind of annoying, but I just wear my glasses more often.  I’m still sticking with walking rather than running, and doing some light weights and yoga.  I also do a lot of planks for ab work, since I’m not allowed to do exercises laying on my back.  My eating is pretty much the same as before, I have a bit more of a sweet tooth than normal, but nothing to worry about!  Jelly Belly jelly beans are really one of my only vices (besides cupcakes of course), as is grapefruit juice!  Hey, it could be a lot worse!  I haven’t gained a ton of weight, I feel really good about my progress so far.  Right now, I’m concerned with maintaining muscles in my arms and legs as best as I can, and of course staying as healthy as possible!

So that’s that.  I didn’t do a pic from last week, and we took one earlier in the week, so here’s that:

Week 23

Little man is still a papaya.  Boy now has a sense of movement and can feel me doing things like working out, dancing and going about my days.  Blood vessels in his lungs have developed to prepare for breathing on his own,  and he can hear a lot going on out here in the outside world.  At this point, some noises have probably become familiar to him (like Rufio barking his head off).  He’s a feisty little one, and I feel him moving about and kicking a lot!

Week 24

Boychik is about 1.5 lbs. and about as long as an ear of corn (didn’t the papaya seem bigger).  He is gaining weight at about 6 oz. a week now!  A lot of this weight is fat, and from his organs, bones and muscles growing.  His little face is almost fully formed including eyelashes and eyebrows.  There is also hair on his little head, but right now it’s snowy white, as there is no pigment yet.  He also hears everything going on, so we’ve stopped cursing (good thing).  It’s possibly he understands directions (right side up or upside down) inside the womb!  Now his movements are important for stimulating muscle growth, keeping joints flexible, and strengthening bones.


Pretty unreal if you ask me!!!

We are heading to Boston tomorrow (I know, we’re basically NEVER, EVER in M’Ville).  We have an honorary dinner to attend on Sunday, so why not make a weekend of it?  The weather is going to be gorgeous, I can’t wait!

What are you up to this weekend and how do you plan to enjoy the gorgeous weather?  What was your favorite part of the week?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 10:02 pm

    OH my! This makes me so happy for yoU!! What an amazing miracle that life is!

  2. June 17, 2010 11:08 pm

    yay i love the belly pics 🙂

  3. June 18, 2010 1:13 am

    I love baby updates. Glad things are going well.

  4. June 18, 2010 7:26 am

    I like the pregnancy posts the best 🙂 I’ve noticed the same thing with my hair. I like this! But I’ve also noticed I’ve been breaking out more. I was completely broken out through the first trimester, then it got better, and now its acting up again.

    Its going to be a steamy weekend here in Boston…pack some light clothes 🙂

  5. June 18, 2010 8:15 am

    I’ve LOVED my hair during pregnancy. My skin has actually been it’s best that it’s ever been, but i’m worried about after birth if the hormones will make it go all crazy like! We’ll see!

    Bump pics are adorable as always 🙂

  6. Madeline - Greens and Jeans permalink
    June 18, 2010 10:49 am

    I looove the baby updates! I’m so excited for you guys! I have to work this weekend (boo), but I have today off (yay) so I plan on running a couple of errands and maybe getting in some pool and reading time!

  7. June 19, 2010 6:20 pm

    Keep the pregancy posts coming! I love reading about your progress and your belly is so cute! I can’t believe you’re six months along already!

  8. June 20, 2010 2:06 pm

    That is awesome that you are finally starting to feel pregnant. I love seeing the pics of you as your progress through the weeks.

    This weekend has been awesome for me because I am in Lisbon. We are heading to Spain in the morning.

Leave a Reply

