Skip to content

The Easiest At Home Sugar Scrub

June 28, 2010

As we are getting ready for our big move, we are doing our best to get rid of things we don’t really need.  Even though we aren’t moving ourselves (because I am basically useless to lift things, and for a 600 mile move, it seemed best to get help), we do want to minimize the amount of boxes we need.  Mostly for selfish reasons so there is that much less to unpack once we hit Boston.

So far we have donated several bags of clothing, and there will be more to come.  We have thrown out a lot of junk, and also have a huge box of random this and that to go to Goodwill. 

DSC05581 
In addition to all of our STUFF, we also have a lot of food.  Maybe one of the perils of being a blogger?

I’ve developed a little habit of going through my fridge, freezer and pantry on a daily basis and trying to figure out what I can use up to get rid of.  While there are some open things I won’t throw out that will come with us, there are a ton of things that just don’t seem worth it to bring, either because they are inexpensive or there just isn’t enough left.

When I found what was left of a big jar of coconut oil, my first thought was that I probably wasn’t going to be doing a whole lot baking between now and July 21st. 

DSC05577 
I decided that instead of eating it, I should put it to another use.  I have this little thing where I like to experiment with some at home beauty treatments, like masks, so I thought it might be fun to create my own at home body scrub. 

As someone with perpetually dry skin, a scrub comes in really helpful to get rid of dry skin, and help reveal new, healthy skin.  In addition to trying to finish up things in the kitchen, I’m also trying to finish up some beauty products, so I don’t have to bring half empty bottles with me.  The only scrub I have left is an AMAZING one my mom and I found at Whole Foods, and I just don’t want to use it up yet.  So it made perfect sense to me to use the coconut oil to make a scrub!

First I melted what was left of the coconut oil, then poured it out into a tupperware.  There was about 1/4 of a cup.  I had no idea how much scrub this would make, so I just went to town pouring raw sugar in.

DSC05582 
The oil just sucked up the sugar, it felt like I could keep pouring it forever!  I think I poured in more than a whole cup!  Once the oil and sugar combination was a little more “solid" I decided to try it out for myself in the shower!

DSC05578 
I can’t believe how nice and soft my skin felt after this!  It is soft and smooth, and the smell is subtle and yummy!  You could probably add some essential oils to the oil and sugar mixture, but I didn’t think it was necessary.  I may just start doing this at home more often, rather than buying scrubs.  It’s definitely more cost efficient, plus I know what’s in there!  Once I was done, I ended up putting even more sugar in.  I like how soft the oil leaves my skin, but once it separated, it just made sense to make some more!

DSC05579 
Now let’s see what else I can experiment with?  I’ll have some weird meals coming up, but I am curious to see what else I can come up with!

Do you ever make beauty treatments at home?  What is one of your favorite?  Are you a beauty product junkie?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 10:06 pm

    how awesome! I’ve never thought to make my own beauty products. I bought some expensive Ahava stuff when I was in Israel, but this looks exactly the same!! You could make big bucks off of this invention:)

    • June 28, 2010 10:07 pm

      I LOVE Ahava products. I spent a fortune on them in Israel too!

  2. June 29, 2010 10:39 am

    I should totally try this. I have some oil at home that I could use!

    I was thinking about doing this for Christmas gifts for all the girls in my family, too.

  3. June 29, 2010 11:23 am

    nice! htats a CREATIVE way to use food and products you dont wanna move with.

  4. June 29, 2010 11:44 am

    Cool! I’ve never made any beauty poducts at home, you’re so creative! One thing I do love about moving in and out of college is it forces me to constantly be cleaning, organizing and reevaluating what I really need. It’s nice to start fresh with a move!

Leave a Reply

