Skip to content

As American As…

July 5, 2010

APPLE PIE!

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July, full of friends and family!  Us?  Not really, it was just the two of us here, and that’s fine, we just didn’t have anywhere to go!  Since we are going away part of next weekend, we thought it would be smart to get some packing done.  It’s amazing how much progress we made!  We decided to just buy some cheese and crackers, cut up a ton of fruit and kind of graze all day!

I also decided to do some baking, just to get into the American spirit…apple pie!  Apple pie, apple cobbler and anything apple is just about Solomon’s favorite dessert.  Since I had a leftover pie crust from the other night, I thought I would make him a special treat!

I only have 2 cookbooks that are unpacked, so I turned to Better Homes and Gardens for help with my very first apple pie.  I love this cookbook, it is one of my great go to cookbooks full of basics, and lots of variations!

We bought a ton of apples, ready for peeling!

DSC05610
I peeled and sliced about 2 1/4 lbs. (8 apples) and weighed them on my kitchen scale, to make sure I had the right amount.

DSC05611

I threw some lemon juice into the apple slices to keep them from browning too much.

DSC05612
I mixed 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tbsp. flour, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg in with the apples, and poured them all into my waiting pie shell.

DSC05615
Because we only had one pie shell, I thought it would be yummy to make this with more of a crumble topping.  1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and about 3 tbsp. unsalted butter.

DSC05613
Instead of cutting the butter in, I just used my hands to make the mixture into the consistency of coarse crumbs.

DSC05614
Then I sprinkled it all on top of the apples.

DSC05617
Into a 375* oven for about 50 minutes, rotating halfway.  The problem is, I can’t say exactly how long it should cook, since my garbage oven likes to change temperatures in the middle of cooking, and is totally inconsistent.  BOOOO!

DSC05619 
Yum!  Look at all of that pretty carmelization of the sugars on top.  Crispy, sugary toppings are one of my biggest downfalls in life!

No apple pie would be complete without the most perfect dessert on the planet…vanilla bean ice cream!  Normally I would have made my own, but the ice cream machine is packed away.  Solomon and I absolutely love the Haagen Dazs Five ice creams since they are just so simple.

DSC05621 DSC05623 
As far as I’m concerned, it’s one of the best bets for store bought ice cream, since you can pronounce all of the ingredients and know what they all are!!!

Yum…All American!

DSC05625
Even though the pie fell apart a bit, the taste was fantastic!  It ended up resembling more of a cobbler or something once it was on the plate, but whatever.  Also, can you see all of those amazing vanilla bean flecks?  That is why I deem vanilla ice cream to be the most perfect treat!

What is your idea of the most perfect dessert?  What’s your favorite go to cookbook?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 8:55 am

    My perfect dessert:vegan vanilla gluten free cake(bob’s red mill’s because I’m lazy and it’s good) made with coconut oil, along with vanilla bean coconut milk ice cream. Yuuum

  2. July 5, 2010 10:40 am

    That looks delicious! My favorite cookbook is from Williams Sonoma, I just love everything in it!

  3. greensandjeans permalink
    July 5, 2010 1:05 pm

    Pie and ice cream are pretty amazing in my book! I’m such an ice cream girl when it comes to desert. I probably use the Joy of Cooking more than anything else!

  4. July 5, 2010 4:19 pm

    Apple crumble is a favorite of mine. I haven’t had it in a really long time though. It’s amazing how much the apples shrink! At first, I was thinking they would all come falling off the pie in the oven. Haha.

  5. July 6, 2010 10:07 am

    Sounds like you had a nice july fourth : ) My favorite desert is cake for sure!

Leave a Reply

