Skip to content

Sweet and Sour PRESSED Tofu

July 15, 2010

Y’all know that I like my kitchen gadgets.  I like all sorts of fun things that I don’t really NEED, just to make cooking a little more fun.

Obviously I love my new tofu press from Tofu XPress.  At first I wasn’t so sure about this, I mean putting my tofu on a plate between some paper towels, and pressing it down with something heavy isn’t so difficult really.  I never really knew how much water was left in my tofu after I pressed it, until I tried my tofu press.

DSC05626

It’s a really simple contraption.  Just put your tofu in, put the spring loaded lid on and wait. 

DSC05627
The tofu came out much thinner than when I have ever pressed it myself.  The less water in the tofu, the much better it cooks (in my opinion).  Plus, you can use the press for cheese and frozen spinach (which I go through a TON of). 

OK, seriously, look at all the water that was in there.  EW.

DSC05629
So what were my big plans for my tofu?  I whipped up my own easy, sweet and sour tofu recipe!

First, I diced up the tofu.  The whole texture of it seemed quite different because of the press!

DSC05630
I pan fried the tofu in some vegetable oil.  I’ve learned that it’s best to just leave tofu alone, and turn it just every few minutes.  It came out with a nice little brown on each side, and reminded more of tofu that I would have in a Thai restaurant, than any other way I’ve made it.

Once the tofu was nice and brown, I added in some diced peppers (a red and a green), and a diced onion.  I was going to cut up about 1/3 of a fresh pineapple, but decided it might be better to just used the canned stuff, since I had it.  This turned out to be great, since I was able to pour some of the pineapple juice from the can into the pan, to help get some of the bits that started sticking to the pan up and into the stir fry.  I threw the whole can of pineapples in next, followed by a few handfuls of chopped cashews. 

While this was all cooking away, I made up a quick batch of my super speedy sweet and sour sauce.  I poured the whole thing into my pan, and let it come to a bubble before setting the pan to simmer for a few more minutes.

DSC05635 DSC05639 DSC05643 
Easy, yummy, filling and pretty authentic!

I love how much easier the tofu press made this for me!  A lot less to clean up (cleaning up the tofu press is a breeze!), and better tofu.  Thank you so much Tofu XPress!  I love this, and can’t wait to use it even more!

What’s your favorite kitchen gadget?  What’s your favorite way to eat tofu?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 15, 2010 10:20 am

    Ok, I don’t even eat that much tofu and I want that thing!

    I’m not a vegetarian, but I have noticed that I’ve been eating a lot less meat (maybe the little girl will be a vegetarian, who knows?!). After reading your post on the buffalo wings, do you have thoughts on using tofu instead of chicken for wings? I could really go for some wing sauce and might want to try this.

  2. July 15, 2010 12:14 pm

    i use a colander, marble mortar & pestle, a big stock pot and some weights to squeeze the water out of my tofu…its quite the comical sight. every five minutes or so my contraption falls over and makes the loudest sound..totally normal in my house 🙂 i could so use one of these suckers…

    i like my tofu thinly sliced and then pan fried with any sauce on top. i love crunchy tofu. best kind ever. my uncle introduced me to tofu by deep frying it and then soaking it in a soy sauce/vinegar/garlice mix….uh so good.

  3. July 15, 2010 12:36 pm

    This dinner looks great! I have seen those tofu presses before. I wonder if you can get them in the store. I have been making tofu so much more recently so I definitely think it would be worth it to pick one up.

  4. July 15, 2010 1:30 pm

    Okay I think you just gave me my idea for what to get from CSN stores. I need to see if they have a tofu press. I want one so badly!

  5. July 15, 2010 2:16 pm

    I LOVE sweet and sour sauce but I don’t like tofu!! I don’t know where I stand with this…hmmmm….

  6. July 15, 2010 6:12 pm

    I am jealous of your tofu press!

    I like mine pan fried in either stir fry’s or tacos. I tried it baked once and couldn’t even finish half a plate-blech. I really want to make tofu salad that I keep hearing of.

  7. greensandjeans permalink
    July 15, 2010 10:34 pm

    I want this so badly! My tofu never looks this good!

Leave a Reply

