Skip to content

These are My Confessions…

July 20, 2010

I’m so glad you all liked my pictures of Rufio getting his teeth did.  He’s such a good little man!

Cleaning out our pantry and fridge have made me take a look at what I’m eating and got me thinking.  I’m a healthy eater.  I love fruits and veggies, prefer whole grains, don’t eat tooooo much dairy, and am generally balanced.  I like a treat from time to time (more so now that little boy is growing), but don’t go overboard.  I get it, balance that is.

So here are some of my foodie confessions that I have no shame sharing:

1) J’Adore Ketchup: Not nearly as much as Lindsay, but I love the stuff.  LOVE IT.  I’m snobby about it too.  It’s Heinz or not worth it.  Honestly, it is the ONLY, ONLY thing I eat that has high fructose corn syrup in it.  I keep thinking about changing to use the organic or another ketchup without HFCS, but I figure any restaurant I go to will have Heinz anyway, and I just don’t see myself refraining from the ketchup.  Heinz for life.  Fo realz.

2) I will always have minced garlic in my fridge. I love garlic, maybe even more than ketchup, but sometimes, I would just rather be lazy.  I mean, the work is all done for me, my hands won’t smell and I don’t have to worry about it growing anything (like heads of garlic do sometimes).  I go through the stuff like it’s going out of style.  Call me lazy, I don’t care!

3) I eat hummus like it’s my last meal. Another food I just can’t get enough of.  On crackers, veggies, pretzels, anything I can possibly put it on.

4) I never say no to a glass of wine. Well, not now!  Before I got pregnant, I couldn’t turn down a good glass.  Life is short, enjoy it!

5) Cold cuts gross me out. Even before I was vegetarian.  Always have, always will.

6) I honestly believe there is no better dessert than good vanilla ice cream and rainbow sprinkles. It can’t be beat.

7) I would take 150 year old Grand Marnier over ANYTHING. Including vanilla ice cream.  It’s heaven in a glass.  It’s warm, orangey, earthy, delicious and generally amazing!

8 ) I love cupcakes. Oh wait, that’s not exactly a secret!

9) I think iceberg lettuce is a waste of a salad, and a waste of chewing. It useless and worthless, and bland.  Over it.

10) I could eat breakfast for any meal. I know I’m not alone on this one!

Not too embarrassing, but hey, it’s the truth!

So what are your foodie confessions?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 10:41 am

    I agree about breakfast for every meal! Totally wish I could do that.

    I also love the NSA Nesquik. I know, I know – almost a frankenfood, but I love it! I’ve always liked nesquik powder more than hershey’s syrup for chocolate milk, so I will not give it up.

  2. July 20, 2010 10:48 am

    I used to HATE ketchup, but ever since I got pregnant with M I love it. I don’t use it on things that often (not even fries), but if I have a burger there has to be lots of ketchup.

    I guess my foodie confession would be that I love Special K cereal. I know it’s got tons of extra lame ingredients and isn’t as good for me as things like Kashi or other natural cereals, but it’s cheaper and I love the flavors.

  3. July 20, 2010 11:31 am

    i have whole cloves already peeled in the fridge. i always tell myself why not just get the minced…it makes life easier, but i never do. theres something about smashing the garlic that i find therapeutic. i know i have issues.

    my confession…um i like iceberg lettuce 🙂 lol.

  4. July 20, 2010 2:09 pm

    Haha, I am obsessed with ketchup! I could eat it on almost anything!! I think I probably eat like 10 more servings than I should at the time. It’s one of the few things I pretend has 0 calories in it. The way I figure it is it can’t be that bad b/c I was able to lose lots of weight without counting those calories and eating it almost everyday quite liberally. I did try to switch to the reduced sugar kind while doing body for life, but since being pregnant, it grosses me out!!!!! Oh, and nothing but Heinz will do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  5. abbynormally permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:52 pm

    Soooo with you on Heinz! I couldn’t call myself a Yinzer if I ate any other. And also my only HFCS, too. But I do eat it A LOT. But I won’t change it.

  6. July 20, 2010 3:56 pm

    I love chocolate and peanut butter. I love fake crab as much as I like the real stuff. Oh, and I love sprinkles and I am so glad you call them sprinkles and not jimmies.

  7. July 20, 2010 8:02 pm

    I looooooove ketchup. I feel bad hen I order take out and ask for ketchup b/c they give me three or four packets and I ask them for more and pretty much tell them to keep coming!

  8. July 22, 2010 5:11 pm

    I am so with you on cold cuts! bleh!

Leave a Reply

